Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

African Oral History

Sample Search

Locating articles utilizing journal databases. Listed below is a sample search in the Academic Search Complete and Historical Abstracts databases:

Results: 125

Four sample citations are listed below:

1) Title: Engaging Kenyan secondary students in an Oral History Project: Education as emancipation.

Authors: Lattimer, Heather and Kelly, Maria

Source: International Journal of Educational Development. Sep2013, Vol. 33 Issue 5, p476-486. 11p.

Abstract: This article uses a case study approach to explore the viability and impact of learner-centered, emancipatory pedagogies. The research focuses on the implementation of an Oral History Project with students at a Kenyan secondary school. Findings reveal that the project had a significant impact on participants’ beliefs about teaching and learning, strengthened students’ sense of self-efficacy, and enhanced participants’ perceptions of community knowledge. The study suggests that while learner-centered, emancipatory pedagogies are viable and can have a transformative impact on students and teachers, systematic and sustained instructional support and professional development are needed to ensure long-term success. [Copyright &y& Elsevier]

Database: Academic Search Complete

2) Title: Tackling environmental issues in the digital age through oral histories and oral traditions from the iSimangaliso Wetland.

Authors: Schellnack-Kelly, Isabel; Jiyane, Veli

Source: Historia. Nov2017, Vol. 62 Issue 2, p112-129. 18p.

Abstract: In the light of student protests in 2015 and 2016 relating to the #RhodesMustFall and #FeesMustFall movements, the significance of the historical discourse has been sidelined. This concept paper discusses the role of digital technologies as platforms to capture and disseminate oral histories, audio-visual sources, historical writings and indigenous knowledge in order to tackle environmental concerns. In South Africa, there is a moral responsibility to encourage previously ignored communities and individuals to collect and share their experiences and knowledge, particularly where this knowledge may be valuable in tackling contemporary challenges. Through better utilization of oral histories, oral traditions, audio-visual sources, historical writings and indigenous knowledge - as well as better access facilitated by means of digital technologies - the sustainability of historical discourse, the asset-worth of these sources and the viability of the archival institutions and the similar heritage entities housing these items, could be assured. Historians and archivists need to engage actively in highlighting collections, demonstrating their relevance to contemporary challenges and interacting with society at large to ensure that the histories recorded, captured and disseminated represent all communities. Better dissemination of these information sources could provide more effective solutions to deal with contemporary environmental concerns, such as climate change. [ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]

Database: Historical Abstracts

3) Title: Turning up the Volume: Dialogues about Memory Create Oral Histories.

Authors: Field, Sean

Source: South African Historical Journal. 2008, Vol. 60 Issue 2, p175-194. 20p.

Abstract: This article sketches an overview of South African oral history since the 1970s and argues that while oral history projects have grown rapidly since 2000, insufficient attention has been given to international debates about memory, myth and subjectivity. It then explores the conception of oral history being constructed by 'dialogues about memory', and how this furthers our understanding of narrative, agency and identity formation. This conception also compels us to reflect on the position of the oral historian. The article then argues that 'traces', especially the mental imagery evoked during acts of remembrance, have implications for conducting and interpreting oral history dialogues. This is in a context shaped by post-apartheid memory politics and our anxieties over the fragility of memory traces and the urgent desire to record and conserve before these traces are lost. But dialogues about memory continue to creatively produce oral histories in the present. [ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]

Database: Historical Abstracts

4) Title: Doing Oral History as an Outsider.

Authors: Strobel, Margaret

Source: Frontiers: A Journal of Women Studies. 1977, Vol. 2 Issue 2, p68-72. 5p.

Abstract: Recalls field interviews of Swahili women in Mombasa, Kenya, illustrating the linguistic and cultural barriers that oral historians must overcome; part of a special issue on women's oral history.

Database: Historical Abstracts