Skip to Main Content

American Culture During the Cold War

An overview of collections at University Archives and the WU Libraries that include primary sources of American popular culture during the Cold War period (1947 - 1991).

Contact Info

contact special collections

Archive, Manuscript & Rare Book collections are accessed in Olin Library at the Special Collections reading room.

HOURS:  Monday - Friday 9:00-5:00 by appointment

LOCATION:  Olin Library, 1st floor, Danforth Campus

REQUESTS / APPOINTMENTS:  314-935-5495  spec@wumail.wustl.edu

*collections stored offsite require advance notice for retrieval and use

Questions about a specific topic? Contact:

University Archives: Sonya Rooney

Rare Books: Cassie Brand

Manuscript: Joel Minor 

Local History: Miranda Rectenwald

Modern Graphic History Library: Skye Lacerte

Film & Media Archive: Andy Uhrich

Finding Aids by Subject: Cold War

This guide contains an overview of collections at Special Collections and the WU Libraries that include primary sources of American popular culture during the Cold War period (1947 - 1991). Topics include men's and women's magazines, comic books, movie advertisements, science fiction, and modern architecture.

Collections below are located at Special Collections in Olin Library.  Click each title for more information:
Collections below are located at Modern Graphic History Library. Click each title for more information:  Contact slacerte@WUSTL.EDU for more information.    

Online Primary Sources

Secondary Sources