Advanced Engineering Design by Efrén M. BenavidesThis book provides engineers and students with a general framework focusing on the processes of designing new engineering products. The procedures covered by the framework lead the reader to the best trade-offs to ensure maximum satisfaction of the customer's needs, meeting the lowest cost expectations, ensuring the lowest environmental impact and maximising profits and best positioning in the marketplace. Chapters discuss the engineering tools that are compatible with these goals and sustainable activity. The design process is defined in terms of operators acting over the information space The information content is defined as a difference of entropies Creation and destruction of entropy are defined as procedures of the design process
Publication Date: 2011-11-24
Case Studies in Engineering Design by Cliff MatthewsA multidisciplinary introduction to engineering design using real-life case studies. Case Studies in Engineering Design provides students and practising engineers with many practical and accessible case studies which are representative of situations engineers face in professional life, and which incorporate a range of engineering disciplines. Different methodologies of approaching engineering design are identified and explained prior to their application in the case studies. The case studies have been chosen from real-life engineering design projects and aim to expose students to a wide variety of design activities and situations, including those that have incomplete, or imperfect, information. This book encourages the student to be innovative, to try new ideas, whilst not losing sight of sound and well-proven engineering practice.
Publication Date: 1998-06-26
Creating Innovative Products Using Total Design by Stuart Pugh"The pioneer of the Total Design movement, Stuart Pugh, created the framework for a structured and methodical design process that is being adopted by an ever-increasing number of companies today." "Pugh's seminal book, Total Design, provides ground-breaking insights from a great visionary. This new work, Creating Innovative Products Using Total Design: The Living Legacy of Stuart Pugh, now allows the reader to benefit from Pugh's practical experiences that made him a legacy in product design and development. Chapter summaries by the eminent Dr. Don Clausing and Dr. Ron Andrade position the importance of Pugh's work in today's engineering design world." "Every product development professional should have a copy of this book because it covers the entire spectrum of the product design process. In particular, it emphasizes that a total design approach - in all its complexity - is absolutely essential for consistent success in product development. In this book, you will find Pugh's most famous work, "Concept Selection - A Method that Works," describing innovative techniques that were put to the test so successfully for General Motors's Saturn project. You will also learn about the 34 elements of Pugh's Product Design Specification, the core of his design methodology." "In addition, Pugh takes a close look at Computer-Aided Design (CAD) and knowledge-based engineering, relating them to the concepts of static and dynamic design. The book also offers a careful analysis of the human side of product design, addressing team dynamics, management techniques, and the processes that foster creativity and steady progress."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Publication Date: 1996-04-24
Decision Based Design by Vijitashwa PandeyIn a presentation that formalizes what makes up decision based design, Decision Based Design defines the major concepts that go into product realization. It presents all major concepts in design decision making in an integrated way and covers the fundamentals of decision analysis in engineering design. It also trains engineers to understand the impacts of design decision. The author teaches concepts in demand modeling and customer preference modeling and provides examples. This book teaches most fundamental concepts encountered in engineering design like: concept generation, multiattribute decision analysis, reliability engineering, design optimization, simulation, and demand modeling. The book provides the tools engineering practitioners and researchers need to first understand that engineering design is best viewed as a sequence of decisions made by the stakeholders involved and then apply the decision based design concepts in practice. It teaches fundamental concepts encountered in engineering design, such as concept generation, multiattribute decision analysis, reliability engineering, design optimization, simulation, and demand modeling. This book helps students and practitioners understand that there is a rigorous way to analyze engineering decisions taking into consideration all the potential technical and business impacts of their decisions. It can be used in its entirety to teach a course in decision based design, while selected chapters can also be used to cover courses in subdisciplines that make up decision based design.
Publication Date: 2013-08-20
Design Engineering Manual by Mike Tooley (Editor)Design Engineering Manual offers a practical guide to the key principles of design engineering. It features a compilation of extracts from several books within the range of Design Engineering books in the Elsevier collection. The book is organized into 11 sections. Beginning with a review of the processes of product development and design, the book goes on to describe systematic ways of choosing materials and processes. It details the properties of modern metallic alloys including commercial steels, cast irons, superalloys, titanium alloys, structural intermetallic compounds, and aluminum alloys. The book explains the human/system interface; procedures to assess the risks associated with job and task characteristics; and environmental factors that may be encountered at work and affect behavior. Product liability and safety rules are discussed. The final section on design techniques introduces the design process from an inventors perspective to a more formal model called total design. It also deals with the behavior of plastics that influence the application of practical and complex engineering equations and analysis in the design of products.