Archives: Ferguson Protest Collections

about the night the grand jury announcement about Michael Brown's death was made - what it was like to be at the library, life at home, and the emotions that go with that time.

activists share how the protests have changed their lives and their commitment to the movement.

two activists talk about their leadership in recent protests and demonstrations in Ferguson, MO. Includes actions at St. Louis Symphony and Cardinals Baseball / Busch Stadium.

Documenting Ferguson is a freely available resource that seeks to preserve and make accessible the digital media captured and created by community members following the shooting death of Michael Brown in Ferguson, Missouri, on August 9, 2014. Many individuals contributed images, videos and personal stories to the collection.

323 photographs. The earliest photographs in the collection show protests held on August 13th and 14th, including marches through the streets of Ferguson and vigils held at the temporary memorial to Michael Brown set up at the site of his death on Canfield Drive.

nearly 50,000 photographs documenting a wide range of protests related to social justice, racial equality, LGBTQ rights, and improving conditions for the poor. The bulk of the collection deals with issues of racial justice and police violence, including sustained protests following the shooting death of Michael Brown; the acquittal of St. Louis Police Officer Jason Stockley in the shooting death of Anthony Lamar Smith; and the death of George Floyd.
Includes:
*photographs in downtown St. Louis, Ferguson, and South St. Louis from August through October 2014
*march and memorial event to mark the one-year anniversary of Michael Brown's death, 2015
*events commemorating the fourth anniversary of Michael Brown's death, 2018
*events commemorating the fifth anniversary of Michael Brown's death, 2019

Digital photographs in the collection of Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture

via Flickr

a poster that Toles created prior to the Ferguson unrest as a commentary on the city's troubled racial past and its current racial climate

hand-constructed, six-sided coffin is part artwork and part performance art piece, originally created to accompany civil rights protests, marches, and programs in the Saint Louis area.

Digital images of objects. Collection of the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture

collection of posters used in demonstrations for #HandsUpWalkOut and #FergusonOctober in 2014.
*not online - contact spec@wumail.wustl.edu for more info

Archive collection of paper items (flyers, posters, and newspapers) collected in parallel with online submissions to "Documenting Ferguson"
*not online - contact spec@wumail.wustl.edu for more info

Files and documents focused on activism and organizing in St. Louis. Topics include poverty, anti-racist political education, police brutality, the death penalty, and lesbian-feminist rights.
*not online - contact spec@wumail.wustl.edu for more info

In August of 2014, the Archive-It team put out a call for URLs related to the August 9th shooting of Michael Brown in Ferguson, MO. Archive-It partner Washington University in St. Louis contributed lists of public websites from communities in and around Ferguson.

Journalism Masters Thesis - This study sought to determine how three St. Louis news outlets framed the protests in Ferguson over the course of four weeks in August and November 2014.

Print newspaper collection created in August 2014; The purpose of the collection is to provide researchers with a comprehensive view of contemporary print newspaper accounts as they unfolded during the first two weeks of this event. While these news accounts are available from the publisher in digital format, the print format provides a certain amount of flexibility and maneuverability.
*not online - contact FVCC Library for more information: https://stlcc.edu/libraries/contact-us.aspx

Includes bibliographical references.

Collected by New York University, as published by CNN in 2014. Full-text online

Internet Archive captures of the commission website

Internet Archive captures of the Ferguson Commission Report 2017

Article - Rose Windmiller of Washington University in St. Louis talks about her service on the Ferguson Commission