Prof. Haklin
Curator of Rare Books
Quick Links
Anonymous (French), French.. L'Heureux commis marchand. 1700-1899.. Artstor, library.artstor.org/asset/AMICO_CLARK_103902849
- Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFrom the Modern Language Association (MLA), this resource combines an extensive collection of full-text journals with the definitive index for the study and teaching of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric, writing studies, folklore, film, theater, and other dramatic arts. Includes the MLA Thesaurus and the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
- Project MUSE Premium collection This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive collection of peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journals from leading university presses, not-for-profit publishers and prestigious scholarly societies.
Journals can be searched individually, in groups, or all together. - ARTstor This link opens in a new window
New interface available at JSTOR Artstor
Collection of nearly 2 million images, documenting artistic traditions across many times and cultures. Embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture.
- Gallica - The BnF Digital LibraryThe digital collections of the Bibliothèque nationale de France. Useful for literature, print culture, old editions, some images.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowA multi-year global digitization and publishing program focused on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. Collections for this program are sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, and content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Includes 9,500 English, French and German literature titles of the Romantic era.
- Making of the Modern World: The Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature (1450 - 1945) This link opens in a new windowFull-text and full-page-image access to books from 1450-1945, and pre-1906 serials. It focuses on economics interpreted in the widest sense, including political science, history, sociology, and special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing.
- Actes Royaux Francais, 1256 - 1794 (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new windowApproximately 16,000 pamphlets covering the financial, political, and social history of France from the late 13th century to the end of the monarchy are available in this collection.
- Critique Littéraire This link opens in a new windowA corpus of French literary criticism of the nineteenth century. Includes over 150 books, 34 authors and more than 100,000 pages of analysis. In addition to the great critics, academic and journalistic criticism is represented. Selection begins with La Harpe and crosses the entire nineteenth century through Apollinaire and Proust. The volume of these texts varies from a few pages to the twenty-eight volumes of Lamartine literature courses.
- Ecrits sur l'Art This link opens in a new windowCentered on art criticism, i.e. on the salons and on literary monographs devoted to painters by important writers and critics from 1741 to 1927. The corpus ends with the last volume of Proust’s Recherche du temps perdu in 1927.
- ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language) This link opens in a new windowAmerican and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language contains over 2000 texts from the 12th through the 19th centuries.
- Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new windowFully cross-searchable access to Berg content collections – including Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and much more. Of interest to scholars in anthropology, art history, history, sociology, geography, folklore, museum studies, theatre, and cultural studies, fashion and textiles.
Fashion Press
Le Cabinet des modes est le premier titre de presse, au XVIIIe siècle, consacré à la mode. Au XIXe siècle, les titres se multiplient. Le Journal des dames et des modes est le premier magazine à fort tirage proposant des gravures de mode. Au siècle suivant, la Gazette du bon ton ou Vogue apparaissent dans les kiosques. S’appuyant le plus souvent sur l’illustration puis la photographie, les journaux de mode diffusent le goût parisien en Europe et en Amérique. Ils s’adressent principalement mais pas exclusivement aux femmes. Ainsi, à des époques différentes, des titres comme le Magasin des modes nouvelles, françaises et anglaises, L’Homme du monde et Monsieur font la part belle au vêtement masculin.