Research Guides: General Science: Find Articles

Science & Engineering Databases

Once you find an article you want, click on .

Refer to specific subject guides or ask your subject librarian for additional suggestions. Also consider Patents and Becker Medical Library

Academic Search Complete
approx. 1975+ (varies by source) Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing full text for more than 4,650 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts
Applied Science & Technology Fulltext
Journal index of more than 485 core English-language scientific and technical publications. Topics include engineering, acoustics, chemistry, computers, metallurgy, physics, plastics, telecommunications, transportation, and waste management; includes full
Article First (OCLC)
1990+; indexes nearly 12,500 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture. Updated daily.
Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest)
(1861 - ) The complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations accepted at accredited institutions since 1861. Abstracts included from July 1980; abstracts for masters theses beginning Spring 1988. Updated monthly.
GPO Metalib
Web gateway to more than 50 government sites; subject groups, such as, Environment, Agriculture, Health + Safety, General, Science + Technology, are available under "Expert" tab.

Journal Citation Reports (JCRweb) (1997 - )
Information on journal rankings and impact factors in the sciences and social sciences, based on citation data drawn from over 8,400 scholarly and technical journals worldwide. Coverage is both multidisciplinary and international, and incorporates journals from over 3,000 publishers in 60 nations.

Quick Search
Catalog, Web of Science, Scopus and other sources searched together. More info
Web of Science
Includes Science Citation Index Plus, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index; source documents from 1980+; cited references can go back much farther.
Scopus
'SciVerse Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature.'