Research Guides: St. Louis History -- Archival Sources: St. Louis Area Archives and Special Collections

Archives beyond WUSTL's campus

Speaking with an archivist or librarian at the site is always the best way to start.
Not all archives have inventories of their collections listed online, and smaller archives may not even have a website.
Always contact the organization BEFORE visiting, as often appointments are required.

The Missouri Historical Society (MHS) and the State Historical Society of Missouri (SHSMO).

These are each separate organizations, in different locations and with different procedures for accessing their collections.
Both have extensive collections with excellent resources for St. Louis history.

These organizations are separate from the Missouri State Archives (MSA)

Missouri State Archives is part of the Secretary of State office and is headquartered in Jefferson City, Missouri,
a branch office of the archives is located in St. Louis (MSA-St. Louis).

Missouri Historical Society: Library & Research Center - archival collections
LOCATION: 225 South Skinker Blvd. (about 2 blocks from WU campus)
The Missouri Historical Society consists of the History Museum in Forest Park, the Soldiers Memorial Museum in downtown St. Louis, and the Library and Research Center.
Most of the collections may only be accessed in person, and cannot be checked out. The Library and Research Center is open Tuesday - Saturday (check online for exact hours).
No library card is required; fist time researchers should bring a photo ID.
State Historical Society of Missouri - St. Louis
LOCATION: campus of UMSL, Thomas Jefferson Library (on the MetroLink Red Line)
Collections focus on all aspects of Missouri history, with regional Research Centers in Cape Girardeau, Columbia, Kansas City, Rolla, St. Louis, and Springfield. (Organization was formerly known as WHMC)
Archive collections (either paper or on microfilm) from any center can be sent for your use at the St. Louis center location. (There is no fee, but it does require 2 weeks advance notice).
Most of the collections may only be accessed in person, and cannot be checked out. Many photographs are digitized and online. SHSMO-St. Louis is open Monday-Friday (check hours online).
No library card or ID is required. Discounted rates for copies for Missouri residents, and Society members.

Missouri State Archives - St. Louis
LOCATION: 1114 Market Street, Room 245
The primary collection held at MSA-St. Louis are the records of the St. Louis Circuit Court, 1804-1875, and its subsidiary courts. MSA-St. Louis also has records on microfilm for the St. Louis Recorder, Board of Aldermen, Coroner, County Court (pre- and post-1875 city/county split), and the St. Charles Circuit Court. A full listing of records held is online.
Open Monday-Friday (closed state and federal holidays). E-mail archrefstl@sos.mo.gov or call 314-588-1746 before visiting.

While located within larger libraries, hours for their specialty departments vary.

St. Louis Public Library Rare Books, Manuscripts, and Archives
LOCATION: 1301 Olive St (Central Library Building, downtown)
Rare book and Archive collections focus on the city of St. Louis, and St. Louis-area Media (newspaper and broadcast). Reference books and archive collections cannot be checked out.
No library card or ID is required, although visitors are asked to sign-in.
St. Louis County Library History and Genealogy Center
LOCATION: 1640 S. Lindbergh Blvd
Collections focus on researching family histories, or genealogy. Visitors can access some specialty online databases (including FirstSearch and American Ancestry) often not available at other libraries. Reference books and archive collections cannot be checked out.
Note: Either a St. Louis County Library card or a photo ID with your current address (such as a driver's license) is required for computer use.

University City Public Library
LOCATION: 6701 Delmar Blvd, University City, MO 63130
Contact: ruthie@ucitylibrary.org 314-727-3150
Local history and oral history collections.
Webster Groves Public Library
Digitized building permits, tax records, and city directories for Webster Groves municipality.
Contact library for additional sources not online.
Mapplewood Public Library
Digitized images of Maplewood, MO history.
Kirkwood Public Library
Digitized photographs, business records, Covid-19 archives and high school yearbooks for Kirkwood, MO in St. Louis County.
Contact library for additional sources not online.