Skip to Main Content Header and Footer Templates

A Guide to Jewish and Near Eastern Studies Resources

Best Bets

Ask Us through Chat, Email, or Text

Primary Sources

Ask Us through Chat, Email, or Text

A-Z Database List

Introduction

Here are most important Jewish Studies electronic resources of the WU libraries as well as freely available materials. Please let me know if I can help you with your research or with mastering any of the libraries' services or collections. AJ Robinson, interim Jewish Studies Librarian

Here is one great starting point Oxford Bibliographies: Jewish Studies

Research Highlights

Comprehensive Yiddish-English dictionary = ייִדיש װערטערבוך
This dictionary designed to translate from Yiddish to English or French. While the dictionary is not designed to translate from English/French to Yiddish, a facility for searching for words in the English or French definitions is available.
Ma'agarim: The Database of the Historical Dictionary Project
Modern Hebrew Literature: a Bio-Bibliographical Lexicon
The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish religion (2011)
The Cambridge Dictionary of Judaism and Jewish Culture (2011)
20th Century Jewish Religious Thought : Original Essays on Critical Concepts, Movements, and Beliefs (1987)

America: History & Life (1964-)

Historical Abstracts

American Theological Library Association Religion

Index to Hebrew Periodicals (1977 -)

Index to Jewish Periodicals (1988 - )

Project Muse
Full-text journal articles from over 200 scholarly journals. The database can be searched by individual journal titles, selected groupings of sources, or as a whole. Moving wall of 3-5 years for each journal.
JSTOR
Compact Memory/Retrospektive Digitalisierung Judischer Periodika
The Occident and the American Jewish Advocate (1843-1853)
Middle Eastern Languages & Literatures - ejournals and ebooks
Judaism - ejournals & ebooks
History & Archaeology
Historical Jewish Press
Hebrew Journal Collection
Union List of Digitized Jewish Historic Newspapers and Periodicals

The Works of Flavius Josephus, translatored by William Whiston
Hispania Judaica
The Jews in Western Europe 1400 -1600
- This link opens in a new window
Page of the Talmud w/descriptions of its parts
Ibn Ezra's Torah Commentary
more...less...
Ibn Ezra's commentary is part of a growing array of critical editions of medieval and modern commentaries. This edition includes hundreds of Ibn Ezra's own additions which have been painstakingly collected from numerous manuscripts. This newly discovered material is not found in any of the previously published editions of the commentary.
The Language and Culture Archive of Ashkenazic Jewry (LCAAJ