Research Guides: A Guide to Jewish and Near Eastern Studies Resources: eBook Collections

eBook Collections

Kotar Library
Off campus users connect to the VPN. The Kotar (Reference) Library is an innovative combination of an online library and a digital work environment, and is the result of cooperation with the leading publishers in Israel. The Kotar Library was developed by the Center for Educational Technology (CET). Its goal is to make the leading academic works (reference books, encyclopedias, journals, etc.) published over the past half century in Hebrew and English, available to school students, teachers, and researchers. Kotar will also serve as a unique portal for accurate, in-depth information on topics ranging from Israel studies to Judaics, Jewish history, humanities, social sciences and more, all within a cutting-edge digital work environment.
Responsa Project (10 users)
Large collection of Jewish texts in Hebrew. Includes: rabbinic case-law rulings; the Bible and the Talmud with their principal commentaries; the major codes of Jewish law, and the Talmudic Encyclopedia.

Digitized Book Repository, Jewish National and University Library
These works ranging from 15th century incunabula to 20th century books, are the first to be digitized as part of a larger project to make publically available many rare and out-of-print monographs from the JNUL collection. [Download a plug-in to use.]
Digitized Ladino Library, Stanford University
"The purpose of this Digitized Ladino Library is to place on the Internet a corpus of Ladino printed books, or even a few manuscripts, for easy access by scholars as well as students of Ladino throughout the world. I had already worked on a number of Ladino books in the past and I was delighted when Professor Rodrigue wished to include these books in this new series." Introduction to project - Isaac Jerusalmi, Professor of Bible and Semitic Languages, Hebrew Union College, Cincinnati, Ohio

Yiddish Prints/Juddische Drucke, Universitatsbiliothek, Frankfurt am Main
"The project "Digitization of Yiddish Books" covers the safety-filming of this very valuable and rare historic collection of about 800 Yiddish books and offers to the public access for scientific use via the Internet. The "Yiddish Prints" collection is remarkable for its completeness, the impressive number of extremely rare books and several unique editions. The texts were printed in Hebrew letters in West, Central and East Europe. The dates range from the middle of the 16th century to the beginning of the 20th century." --Project homepage
Legends of the Jews by Louis Ginzberg
Translated from the German manuscript by Henrietta Szolt. Legends of the Jews is an original synthesis of a vast amount of aggadah from all of classical rabbinic literature, as well as apocryphal, pseudopigraphical and even early Christian literature. Ginzberg had an encyclopedic knowledge of all rabbinic literature, and his masterwork included a massive array of aggadot. However he did not create an anthology which showed these aggadot distinctly. Rather, he paraphrased them and rewrote them into one continuous narrative that covered four volumes, followed by two volumes of footnotes that give specific sources. -- Wikipedia. Multiple print sets with Index and Notes volumes on Olin Library, Level B.
Flavius Josephus: Works - translation by William Whiston
Side by side, Greek with English translation by William Whiston. When available the Brill translation by Louis H. Feldman is also provided.
* The Judean War
* The Judean Antiquities
* Life of Josephus
* Against Apion
Brill Online: Context of Scripture: Canonical Compositions, Monumental Inscriptions and Archival Documents from the Biblical World