EconLit
- EconLit Link
Full text. Indexing & abstracts and some full text for 400+ journals and 500+ collected works per year, including books, dissertations, and working papers. Updated monthly.
Hint: Look under the Find Articles tab at the top of the page to get to the Multisearch category for Economics, as well as other useful Multisearch categories. More databases are searchable there!
Library News for Economics

Loading RSS Feed...
Interactive Map: Food Stamp Usage, U.S.
- Food Stamp Usage Across the Country
Interactive map from New York Times, Published: November 28, 2009,
Shadow Government Statistics
- Shadow Government Statistics
"[A]n electronic newsletter service that exposes and analyzes flaws in current U.S. government economic data and reporting, as well as in certain private-sector numbers, and provides an assessment of underlying economic and financial conditions, net of financial-market and political hype."
History of the Federal Reserve
- Visual History of the Federal Reserve System, 1914-2009
"FOR BETTER OR FOR WORSE, the Federal Reserve has
been governing the monetary system of the United States
since 1914. This chart maps the rise of the Fed from its
origins as a relatively minor institution, often controlled by Presidents and the United States Department of the
Treasury, into an independent and powerful body that rivals the Presidency in terms of prominence."
Accessing NBER Research
There are several ways to access NBER research and publications through the Library. Here are the direct links:
(They SHOULD work for proxy server access. Let us know if they don't!)
Economic Stimulus & Recovery
- President's Economic Recovery Advisory Board (PERAB)
"The President’s Economic Recovery Advisory Board (PERAB) was established by President Obama to ensure the availability of independent, nonpartisan information, analysis, and advice as he formulates and implements his plans for economic recovery and enhancing the strength and competitiveness of the Nation’s economy. The members of the PERAB were appointed by the President from among distinguished citizens outside the Government who are qualified ..." - Estimated Impact of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act on Employment and Economic Output as of September 2009
Produced by the Congressional Budget Office, November 2009. - When Did Your County's Jobs Disappear?
Scroll down to see an interactive map, based on Bureau of Labor Statistics data. - Conference Report, 111-16
The Legislative Source Book of the Law Librarians' Society of Washington, DC (LLSDC) now has a 1.5 MB file, in PDF, of the complete Conference Report, H. Rep. 111-16, to H.R. 1, the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act. - Economic Recovery Website
- Information about the Economic Recovery Bill 111th Congress H.R. 1
Tom Lindsey of University of Texas at Arlington created a guide to the Stimulus Act on his blog, here.The law is 407 pages long in a .pdf display. He created a table of contents listing showing where all titles within the law begin. - A New Era of Responsibility: Renewing America's Promise
provides a description of the Obama Administration's fiscal policies and major budgetary initiatives. This document is an overview of the full FY2010 Budget expected to be released this spring. - The Financial Crisis
Website created by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, with a timeline, news, a glossary, and much more. - Guide of the Week: Federal Budget Process
Can help you untangle the fiscal knots that is the United States Budget. This selective guide points to information about the current budget, including state by state budget impacts as well as historical data and background materials. - Federal Reserve Board: The Beige Book
Reports from the twelve Federal Reserve Districts suggest that national economic conditions deteriorated further during the reporting period of January through late February. - FinacialStability.gov
- Google Maps -FinancialStability.gov - Transaction Data
- 2009 Industry Outlook (Deloitte Development LLC)
Explore the industry links for sector-specific insights on issues facing companies in the coming year, as well as guidance to help executives weather the current downturn and position their organizations for future growth - Implications of the Bank Stress Tests (Brookings Institution)
"May 11, 2009 —
The results of the “stress tests” on the 19 largest banking groups were released at the end of last week. They were good news and were generally received as such, although it is important not to take excessive comfort ..." - ESTIMATES OF JOB CREATION FROM THE AMERICAN RECOVERY AND REINVESTMENT ACT OF 2009 (Council of Economic Advisors)
"...a report detailing how the Administration will measure progress creating and saving jobs under the Recovery Act." - Mapping Geographic Impact of the Troubled Asset Relief Program (TARP)
Subsidyscope aims to raise public awareness about the role of federal subsidies in the economy. This new project, launched by The Pew Charitable Trusts, plans to create a searchable database of federal subsidies and publish the data online. - MetroMonitor: Tracking Economic Recession and Recovery in America’s 100 Largest Metropolitan Areas
From Brookings Institution - Tracking Unemployment Statistics
A short video on how the government tracks unemployment data (from BLS). - Authoritative Resources on the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009
Provided by the Congressional Research Service. - BAILOUT! STIMULUS!—YOUR ESSENTIAL GUIDE
From Columbia Journalism Review, Nov. 24, 2009 - Beyond California: States in Fiscal Peril Referencing a Pew report (11/30/09).
- FedSpending.org
Provided by OMB Watch. "The FedSpending.org database now contains over $21 trillion in federal spending dating back to FY 2000."
Subject Librarian |
Online Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Olin Library
Room 128
314/935-7465
Send Email
Subjects:
Government Information, Economics, Political Science, Applied Statistics, Legal Studies
![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Olin Library
Room 128
314/935-7465
Send Email
Subjects:
Government Information, Economics, Political Science, Applied Statistics, Legal Studies
Chat with a Librarian
Suggest a link
Know a site or book that you'd like to share? Add your suggestion below and help improve this Subject Guide.
- Economy of Romania - Example of a Recovering Economy by AnonymousThe economy of Romania from 1989 to 2008, updates for the following time and comments on the impact of the financial crisis on the website.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Submit a Link
Loading content... please wait