ReunionsWUSTL News
1904 World's Fair and OlympicsAfrican American HistoryArchitectureChinese-American History in St. LouisCivil Rights in St. LouisDecolonization & Transregional HistoryT.S. EliotWilliam G. Eliot PapersFine Arts EducationGenealogyJapanese-American History in St. LouisLGBT History - Archive SourcesPerforming ArtsProgressive Era & the Gilded AgePruitt-IgoeReligion & Social Justice in AmericaSt. Louis HistorySt. Louis MapsSt. Louis MayorsTobacco (History & Culture)Women and Gender StudiesWU Campus History
The Process
Historical Newspapers
AMCS 375 Mississippi River ValleyAMCS 475 American Culture: Capstone ProjectAmerican Holidays (AMCS3105)Performing Arts (DRAMA 5101)Transregional History (HIST301)
This is the "Home" page of the "University Archives" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Washington University Libraries
Ask Us

email  chat  phone  text

This guide will help you navigate University Archives' more than 300 unique collections, most of which document the history of Washington University from 1853 to today. Other collections are related to 20th century St. Louis history.
Last Updated: May 21, 2013 URL: http://libguides.wustl.edu/universityarchives Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Information about University Archives ...

The Washington University Archives is comprised of more than 300 unique collections. 

Univeristy Archives is open to all members of the University community: undergraduate and graduate students, faculty, and staff; as well as to outside researchers.

Most collections chronicle the history of Washington University from 1853 to the present day.  These collections include papers and artifacts relating to student, faculty, and administrative life. 

Examples include:

  • student produced publications eg. student newspaper Student Life  (1878-present) and The Hatchet yearbook (1903-present)
  • professional & personal papers of faculty members such as Arthur Holly Compton
  • writings of University co-founder William Greenleaf Eliot    
Other collections relate to 20th century St. Louis history, with a focus on:
  • business
  • transportation
  • politics
  • social welfare
  • urban planning
  • architecture

 For more information about University Archives and our collections, please visit our homepage.

Location

We are located at the West Campus Library, 1/2 mile west of the Danforth Campus. Forsyth Metrolink stop is close to us. Get directions to University Archives.

Our street address:
Washington University Archives
West Campus Library
7425 Forsyth Blvd., Lower Level
St. Louis, MO 63105

Our mailing address:
Washington University Archives
Olin Library
One Brookings Drive, Campus Box 1061
St. Louis, MO 63130

      
     

    RSS Archive Hours

    Please call or e-mail before you visit to reserve your space in the research room.

    Loading Loading...
    blank padding

    University Archivist

    Profile Image
    Sonya Rooney
    Contact Info
    University Archives
    West Campus Library
    314-935-9730
    Send Email

    University Archives Assistant

    Profile Image
    Miranda Rectenwald
    Contact Info
    University Archives
    West Campus Library
    314-935-5444
    mrectenwald@wustl.edu
    Send Email

    Contact Archive Staff

    Owl

    Sonya Rooney: 
    314-935-9730 | e-mail  srooney@wustl.edu

    Miranda Rectenwald: 
    314-935-5444 | e-mail  mrectenwald@wustl.edu

    Located
    West Campus Library

    Map to Archives

    Hours M-F 8:30-5:00  *call or e-mail before you visit please!*

    gmailhotmail

    (opens e-mail in seperate window)

        
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip