Archive, Manuscript & Rare Book collections are accessed in Olin Library at the Special Collections reading room.
HOURS: Monday - Friday 9:00-5:00 by appointment
LOCATION: Olin Library, 1st floor, Danforth Campus
REQUESTS / APPOINTMENTS: 314-935-5495 firstname.lastname@example.org
*collections stored offsite require advance notice for retrieval and use
Questions about a specific topic? Contact:
University Archives: Sonya Rooney
Rare Books: Cassie Brand
Manuscript: Joel Minor
Local History: Miranda Rectenwald
Modern Graphic History Library: Skye Lacerte
Film & Media Archive: Andy Uhrich
If you have an approximate date, these sources can help you find when someone attended W.U.
Some of these resources are available in full text online, while others are available to researchers at University Archives.
For students in the 1850s - 1910s, check early alumni lists, Course Catalogs (Bulletins) for student directories, and commencement programs. Students began producing a yearbook in 1903.
For students 1920-present, check Campus Telephone books, alumni lists, and and commencement programs. Yearbooks were published regularly 1920 - 1968, and irregularly 1969-2011.
The Hatchet yearbook is often the best source of information:
WHY THE HATCHET? Because George Washington, namesake of the school, chopped down a cherry tree with a hatchet!
Catalogs ("WU Bulletin") are a great source for:
Please keep in mind it can often be difficult to locate information about a person you believe attended Washington University. Below are common reasons: