Archive, Manuscript & Rare Book collections are accessed in Olin Library at the Special Collections reading room.
HOURS: Monday - Friday 9:00-5:00 by appointment
LOCATION: Olin Library, 1st floor, Danforth Campus
REQUESTS / APPOINTMENTS: 314-935-5495 email@example.com
*collections stored offsite require advance notice for retrieval and use
Questions about a specific topic? Contact:
University Archives: Sonya Rooney
Rare Books: Cassie Brand
Manuscript: Joel Minor
Local History: Miranda Rectenwald
Modern Graphic History Library: Skye Lacerte
Film & Media Archive: Andy Uhrich
The Department of Special Collections is open to all members of the University community: undergraduate and graduate students, faculty, and staff; as well as to outside researchers.
Washington University Archives supports scholarship in many academic fields by preserving and providing access to over 300 unique collections that chronicle the history of Washington University from 1853 to today.
The collections contain a wealth of primary sources and other historical materials that include manuscripts, photographic prints and negatives, books, film, sound recordings, microfilm, architectural plans, and artifacts.
Most collections chronicle the history of Washington University from 1853 to the present day. These collections include papers and artifacts relating to student, faculty, and administrative life, such as:
student produced publications such as the student newspaper Student Life (1878-present) and The Hatchet yearbook (1903-2011)
professional & personal papers of faculty members such as Arthur Holly Compton
early documents from the University's founding, including the papers of Rev. William Greenleaf Eliot
Also archived are Local History collections, which focus on late 19th and 20th century topics of St. Louis and the surrounding area (city, near-by counties, and metro-east Illinois)
Collections with the area of local history are mainly focused on themes of:
transportation & urban planning
social welfare & social justice
University Archives and Local History Archives are part of the Washington University Library System, Department of Special Collections.
Olin Library - 1st floor
Department of Special Collections
Our mailing address:
Washington University Archives
One Brookings Drive, Campus Box 1061
St. Louis, MO 63130