Skip to Main Content
Header and Footer Templates
Libraries
back to library.wustl.edu
WashU Libraries
Research Guides
John M. Olin Library
Engr 5505: Engineering Publication Writing
Home
Search this Guide
Search
Engr 5505: Engineering Publication Writing
Course Guide for Engineering 4505, 5506, 5507
Home
Zotero
Subject Librarian
Lauren Todd
she/her
Email Me
Schedule Appointment
Contact:
Olin Library Rm 317
Social:
LinkedIn Page
Subjects:
Engineering
Best Bets
How to use library resources for publication writing
Selecting a journal for publication
Create a digital journal bookshelf and keep up to date with new issues in Browzine
Evaluate the publication's author rights
Review journal information in Scopus
Search WUSTL Journals via the Library Website
Journal Citation Reports (JCRweb) (1997 - )
Review journals by citation information
Finding and using library resources
QuickSearch
⭐Single combined search of the Classic Catalog catalog and the full-text articles of most library databases.
Library Catalog
Search books, journal titles, names of databases, encyclopedias, and more.
ILLIAD (Interlibrary Loan)
Use ILLIAD to request physical books from other libraries that you can't find in MOBIUS, or electronic scans of articles and book chapters that you can't access in our databases.
Database Finder
All current database subscriptions. Sortable by Subject.
How to find full-text articles from citations
Hyperlink via the references listed in the database article record.
Use Google Scholar
Copy/paste or request the article via Interlibrary Loan
Request document delivery for articles both within and outside library collections
Install the LibKey Nomad Browser Extension
Install this browser extension to automatically connect with all library full-text holdings
Search WUSTL Journals via the Library Website
Look up the journal title, publication date, and articles
AI Chatbots and Library Research: Augmentative Technologies
Considerations when using AI as a research or writing tool:
Overcome writer's block and start creative juices.
Generate topics, keywords, and ideas.
Help outline papers.
Compare and contrast
Refine research questions and thesis.
Note effective prompts and strategies.
Be very specific with your language inputs.
Consider the target audience and task.
Refine your questions and responses.
Verify everything.
Use for simple facts that you can fact-check via another source. Then cite that other source.
Beware of misinformation.
ChatGPT is notoriously bad at sources and often includes fake articles and citations.
ChatGPT has limited knowledge of the world or events after 2021.
If you copy/paste AI-generated text, you could be plagiarizing without even knowing it.
Citations
Hargadon, Steve. "Library 2.0's ChatGPT Bootcamp for Libraries and Librarians." Library 2.0, 3/25/2023, https://www.library20.com/bootcamps/chatgpt.
Next:
Zotero >>
