Includes Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010), Chicago Defender (1909-2010), Cleveland Call & Post (1934-2010), Kansas City Call (1919-2010), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010), Louisville Defender (1951-2010), New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010), Norfolk Journal & Guide (1916-2010), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010).
The complete text of the major African-American newspapers published in the United States during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and early 1900s. First-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion. The collection also provides a great number of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience. Dates covered: 1827 - 1919.
Two local library systems (St. Louis Public Library and St. Louis County Library) have access to Newspapers.com. For either system, you can live anywhere in the St. Louis metro area in Missouri and get a library card for free.
The Newspapers.com database offers more than 10,000 digitized newspaper titles for large and small communities in the U.S. as well as newspapers in Canada, Australia, Ireland, the British Isles and Panama, from the early 1700s into the early 2000s. Includes the St. Louis Globe Democrat. Date ranges vary by publication.
The Vogue Archiveis a complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included.
Tip: Use Advanced Search to find images by garment type, designer or brand names and photographer or illustrator.
The Arts Premium Collection provides cross-searchable access to thousands of journal titles, ensuring deep searches of extensive international collections in specialist subject areas not covered in more general databases. Includes the Art, Design & Architecture Collection. This collection includes the specialist indexes ARTbibliographies Modern (covering modern and contemporary art), Design and Applied Arts Index (for all aspects of design and crafts) and the International Bibliography of Art (covering scholarship on Western art history), together with a complementary collection of current full-text journals, Arts and Humanities Full Text.
Organization dedicated to improving healthcare design. *WUSTL users can gain access to research literature by creating an account with your @wustl.edu email and indicating that you are affiliated with Washington University in St. Louis. The 'Insights & Solutions' includes research reports and issue briefs, interviews, case studies, design strategies, lessons learned, infographics, key point summaries, and webinars.
The leading fashion-industry trade paper since 1910. Covers the history and business of twentieth-century fashion.
Issues are scanned from cover to cover, encompassing each page, article, advertisement and cover, with searchable text and indexing. Learn more about this database
Fully cross-searchable access to Berg content collections – including Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and much more. Of interest to scholars in anthropology, art history, history, sociology, geography, folklore, museum studies, theatre, and cultural studies, fashion and textiles.
Includes a wide range of citations from among nearly 1.2 million journal articles, books, and exhibition and auction sales catalogues published between 1910 and 2007 on topics in the arts and archeology from late Antiquity to the mid-2000s. Cross-search information from four combined datasets: Répertoire d’Art et d’Archéologie (RAA), The National Institute for Art History (INHA), Répertoire International de la Littérature de l’Art/International Repertory of the Literature of Art (RILA), and the Bibliographie d’Histoire de l’Art/Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA).
IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and includes the most recent index records that were created by the Getty Research Institute as part of BHA. Covers the history of art, decorative arts, museum studies, and conservation. Learn more about this database
Citations to articles and essays in anthropology and archaeology, from works published in English and other European languages, 19th century to present. Contains both Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute, UK.
Covers topics in most areas of academic study. Full-text provided for over 10,000 publications, with over 7,850 peer-reviewed. Abstracts and indexing available for over 13,780 journals in the collection.
Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
A comprehensive collection of peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journals from leading university presses, not-for-profit publishers and prestigious scholarly societies.
Journals can be searched individually, in groups, or all together.