These profiles come from the Energy Information Administration (EIA), a division of the Department of Energy focused on gathering statistics. Information on oil, gas and other energy issues by country and by international region is highlighted.
From Export.gov, the United States government’s portal to exporting and trade services, this site provides Country Commercial Guides and other reports on a number of industries in various countries and includes information on exporting in general and other trade issues.
Produced by the Canadian government, issus covered for each country include communication styles, displays of emotion, dress, punctuality, formality, stereotypes, preferred managerial qualities, and conflict in the workplace.
The IMF is an organization of 189 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world. This resource reports on the IMF-member countries, focusing on economic issues and country risk.
NationMaster is a statistics database which offers a large directory of variables for comparison purposes. A wide range of economic and demographic indicators are available, across 300 industry verticals (agriculture, consumer goods, ICT, pharma…). The database is composed of data from trustworthy sources such as national statistic agencies, governments, international organizations (UNDP, UNESCO Institute for Statistics, UNCTAD, WTO, World Bank, World Health Organization, OECD and many others). This is a great tool to use for working backward to see who tracks the data you are looking for. (Note: A Statemaster.com counterpart is also available for U.S. states.)
Click on the Countries and Areas link for country profiles, travel information, embassy information, and more. Fact sheets provide a brief snapshot of a country’s people, history, government, economics, and politics, with additional information on military and foreign relations.
International Organizations and Research Institutions
The ITA, situated within the Department of Commerce, is charged with promoting access to foreign markets for U.S. exports. The ITA is a good source for national and state-level data on exports and imports of merchandise goods.
The ITC is a federal agency that conducts investigations into "unfair" trading practices (e.g. dumping) in conjunction with the International Trade Administration. The ITC's website includes resources such as Harmonized Tariff Information which provides access to the tariff schedules for the United States, and the Interactive Tariff and Trade Dataweb, which allows users to query ITC databases on tariffs and trade amounts for specific products.
The OECD iLibrary is an online interface that provides full-text access to OECD studies, periodicals, and the OECD.Stat collection of statistical databases. The topical range of the iLibrary is considerable and covers areas such as agricultural policies, environmental indicators, social expenditures, labor markets, national accounts, foreign trade and FDI, and various industry-level data. While its focus is on wealthier developed countries, the iLibrary also includes OECD reports and publications on selected non-member countries such as the BRIC countries of Brazil, Russia, India, and China.
QWIDS is a relatively accessible interface for very detailed data on foreign aid and development assistance that allows you to break down aid flows by combinations of recipient, donor, and purpose of aid.
For more recent decades, you can get both project-level microdata as well as data on aggregated flows of development assistance.
WITS is a joint undertaking of UNCTAD, the World Bank, and the World Trade Organization to integrate various databases on trade flows and trade restrictions. The WITS databases provide information on tariff schedules, non-tariff measures, and bilateral trade and tariff levels. Registration is required to use the WITS interface, but that registration is free of cost. WITS data are also accessible via the Bank's Data Catalog.
The World Bank's Trade and International Integration Group holds several databases on trade and production, trade and services, and tariffs that users can download. The Trade and Production Database may be of particular interest due to its detailed industry-level production, trade, and tariff data. Be warned that addresses of World Bank websites can change without warning; archived copies may be available via the Wayback Machine. Many of the Bank's trade-related data collections are also available via the Bank's Data Catalog and via the Bank's Microdata Library.
TRAINS is a bilateral trade database from United Nations Conference on Trade and Development Statistics that provides product-specific data on tariffs and non-tariff measures. TRAINS is also available via the World Bank's World DataBank and via the Global Database on Non-Tariff Measures.
UNCTAD maintains a database on FDI statistics, including flows, stocks, and participation in international investment-related agreements. It covers the years 1970 onward and allows users to download data into Microsoft Excel. UNCTAD's World Investment Reports are another useful source for FDI flows and stocks. UNCTAD's FDI data are part of a database on economic data more generally, including data on macroeconomic indicators, trade flows and trade restrictions, remittances, and commodity prices.
The UN's Comtrade database is a good source for commodity-specific bilateral trade data for the years 1962 onward. Users can create their own extracts of data for both value and quantity of trade using different industrial classification codes and download those extracts for later use. Comtrade now also includes data on trade in services.