All Special Collections materials must be used on-site.*
HOURS: Monday - Friday 9:00-5:00 by appointment*
REQUESTS / APPOINTMENTS:
314-935-5495 spec@wumail.wustl.edu
*collections require advance notice for retrieval and use
This guide provides an overview of collections, files, and books related to student activism at Washington University in St. Louis available to researchers at the Department of Special Collections, Olin Library. Topics include Civil Rights, Black Power, Feminism, Environmentalism, Communism, Socialism, Academic Activism. Also included are general resources about other college campuses from the early 1960s to present day.
A selection of these images are shown below. Most images are not online, but are available at University Archives.
You can view some additional images here: (Note the year is the first 2 numbers of the number string in the filename.):
on campus 1970
on campus 1949
1968
1968
1968
The full collection description is available by clicking each link below. View these collections by visiting or contacting Special Collections:
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThe full collection description is available by clicking each link below. View these collections by visiting or contacting Special Collections:
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThe full collection description is available by clicking each link below. View these collections by visiting or contacting Special Collections:
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThe following oral histories are part of the American Cultures Studies American Lives project at Washington University in St. Louis. To read a short description of each interviewee, hover over their name. To access typed transcripts for these oral histories, click the name of the interviewee then click the "transcript" link right above the "Table of Contents" heading. To access audio files for these oral histories, click each heading section under the "Table of Contents" heading and to the right of the timed length of the file.
For stories about student activists, see especially recordings by:
For stories from the perspective of university faculty, staff, administrators and others, consult recordings by:
Push comes to shove; the escalation of student protest by Student protest and the technocratic society: the case of ROTC by 
New voices : student activism in the '80s and '90s by 
The Black student protest movement at Rutgers by 
Prairie power : voices of 1960s Midwestern student protest by 
Underground : my life with SDS and the Weatherman by 
Selma to Saigon : the civil rights movement and the Vietnam War by 
Renewing dialogues in Marxism and education : openings by 
Higher education and the civil rights movement by 
This link opens in a new window
"Radical academia"? : understanding the climates for campus activists by 
