-- This guide includes sources and other information useful for your Global Poetics wiki assignment. --
Contact me if you need assistance with searching or getting material. My contact information in left-hand column.
Context - Biography and More
Most of these sources provide more than just biographical info--they are "gateway sources," including contextual info on literary periods and schools of thought, and citations for key critical works. (Links to sources beneath screenshot.)
See example from database Literature Online (LION):
Relevant Databases
- Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new windowA fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies and key criticism and reference resources. Covers the 8th century to the present. Learn more about this database
- Contemporary Authors This link opens in a new windowA biographical and bibliographical guide to current writers in all fields including poetry, fiction and nonfiction, journalism, drama, television and movies. Includes all volumes from Contemporary Authors and Contemporary Authors - New Revision Series purchased by the Libraries through 2010.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new windowMore than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series. Learn more about this database
- Literary Encyclopedia This link opens in a new windowOver 5100 authoritative profiles of authors, works and literary and historical topics, written by over 2000 specialists from universities around the world. Also lists over 22,000 works by date, country and genre. Covers canonical literature originally written in English, French, German and Russian, and is extending its coverage of Italian, Spanish, Latin and Greek. Data can be arrayed by date, country and genre.