Islamic and Near Eastern Reference Sources at WUSTL
The Olin Library has two distinct reference collections for Islamic and Near Eastern Studies. Reference sources in English can be found on the first floor of the Olin Library. Reference sources in Arabic, Persian, and Turkish can be found in the Olin Library Level B in the first row of the Islamic and Near Eastern Collection.
The Olin Library also carries several reference works in e-book format.
Please contact AJ Robinson if you have questions or comments about the reference collection.
Reference Materials
An illuminated Qu'ran from the Jameel Gallery in the Victoria and Albert Museaum. From mcost's Creative Commons Flickr account. CC BY 2.0
- Brockelmann Online This link opens in a new windowConsists of both original volumes Geschichte der arabischen Litteratur (GAL) by Carl Brockelmann (1868-1956), as well as the three supplement volumes, including the indexes.
- Database of Arabic Literature This link opens in a new windowThe Database of Arabic Literature in Western Research (DAL) is an easy-to-use, searchable, internet-based bibliographic database of Arabic literature in western research. It provides easy access to detailed, annotated and content-enriched bibliographic records of books, articles, chapters of books and reviews written in English since the movement of translation and commentary of Arabic literary texts first began in the West.
- Encyclopaedia Islamica This link opens in a new window'This volume of Encyclopaedia Islamica is the first of a projected 16-volume publication, consisting of an abridged and edited translation of the Persian Da’irat al-Ma’arif-i Buzurg-i Islami, one of the most comprehensive sources on Islam and the Muslim world. One unique feature of this work of reference lies in the attention it gives to Shi’i Islam and its rich and diverse heritage, which makes it complementary to other encyclopaedias.
- Encyclopaedia of Islam Second Edition This link opens in a new windowContains volumes I-XII of the New Edition of the Encyclopedia of Islam, containing articles concerning Middle Eastern and Islamic studies.
- Encyclopaedia of Islam, THREE This link opens in a new windowThird Edition of Brill’s Encyclopaedia of Islam is a new work, reflecting great diversity of current scholarship. The new scope includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world.
- Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures crosses history, geographic borders and disciplines to create a ground-breaking reference work reflecting the very latest research on gender studies and the Islamic world.
- Historical Dictionary of Afghanistan This link opens in a new windowIncludes entries on major historical events, important places, leading personalities, and significant aspects of Afghanistan history from the earliest times to the present.
- Historical Dictionary of Iraq This link opens in a new windowBegins with the earliest civilizations and covers the many periods that followed, ranging from the history of ancient Mesopotamia to the Abbasid Empire to present-day Iraq. (From publisher's website)
- Qur'ānic Studies Online This link opens in a new windowThe Encyclopaedia of the Qur’ān Online is an encyclopaedic dictionary of qur’ānic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur’ānic studies. The Encyclopaedia of the Qur’ān Online is the first comprehensive, multivolume reference work on the Qur’ān to appear in a Western language.
Encyclopaedia of the Qur’ān Online includes direct access to 62 Early Printed Western Qur’āns Online and the Electronic Qurʾān Concordance, a unique online finding aid for textual research.
Oxford encyclopedia of the modern Islamic worldCall Number: DS35.53 O95 1995
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim worldCall Number: BP40 .E525 2004
- al-Qur'an - Shakir TranslationThe translation of M. H. Shakir published by Tahrike Tarsile Qur'an.
- USC Compendium of Muslim TextsThe MSA-USC Qur’an Database is a useful resource for Islamic studies. It features multiple English translations of the Qur’an and the Hadith collections of Bukhari and Muslim. This database is sponsored by the Muslim Student Association of USC.
- al-TafsirAl-Tafsir is a useful resource for Qur’anic studies. It features a collection of Qur’anic commentaries (tafsir), and searchable translations (English and Arabic). It is sponsored by the Jordanian government.