WGSS Librarian
Primary Sources
A primary source is an immediate account or object resulting from the topic being studied. Traditionally, primary sources are found public records, archival collections, historic publications, and source books. Specific examples include speeches, diaries, letters, interviews, photographs, original literature, autobiographies. When researching contemporary topics, first hand accounts may also be found on blogs and social media, as well as contemporary literature. Contact a librarian for help identifying primary sources.
Selected archival databases include:
- Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new windowPresents important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of 20th century and beyond from more than 35 countries. Features historical records of political and social organizations, publications by and for lesbians and gays, extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis, personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals.
- Independent Voices This link opens in a new windowA digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
- LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new windowContains books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. Includes selections from The National Archives in Kew, activist and publisher Tracy Baim, the Magnus Hirschfeld and Harry Benjamin collections from the Kinsey Institute, among others.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window79 document projects with more than 2,400 documents, 32,000 pages of additional full-text documents, and 1,700 primary authors. It includes as well book, film and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools. Learn more about this database
Additional guides
Tools & Tips for Finding Archives, Rare Books, Special Collections
World Guide to LibrariesCall Number: Z721 .I63 4o (Olin Level 1 Reference)ISBN: 9783110277968Publication Date: Latest ed.: 2014
Articles Describing Archives and Manuscript Collections in the United States by Call Number: CD3022 A2 D478 1997 (Olin level 1 Reference)Publication Date: 1997
British Archives: A guide to archive resources in the United Kingdom by Call Number: CD1040 .F67 2002 (Olin Level 1 Reference)Publication Date: 2002
Archives in Germany : an introductory guide to institutions and sources by Call Number: CD1220 .A78 2001Publication Date: 2001Also available online
American Author Houses, Museums, Memorials and Libraries by Call Number: PS141 .B54 2000ISBN: 0786407778Publication Date: 2000
Literary Research Guide: An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies by Call Number: Z2011 .H34 2008 (Olin level 1 reference; West Campus)ISBN: 9780873528085Publication Date: 2008-01-01Not just about English--Includes foreign language literatures. Also includes sources for rare books, special collections, and archives
A Guide to the OCLC Database and the Special Collections Therein by Call Number: Z688 A2 G95 1984Publication Date: 1984- Guide to Hebrew Manuscript Collections / by Benjamin Richler.Call Number: Z6605.H4 R473 2014ISBN: 965208185XPublication Date: 2014
Subject Collections: A Guide to Special Book Collections and Subject Emphases As Reported by University, College, Public, and Special Libraries and Museums in the United by Call Number: Z731 A78 1961ISBN: 9780835231411Publication Date: 1993-01-01
Additional directories and sources in WU Catalog
Browse by [term] -- [country] -- Directories
Search topic as a subject with keywords: archives, catalogs, sources, or manuscripts.
- Consult with faculty advisors, subject librarians, and curators/archivists who often will have personal contacts or sources
- Look at bibliography/references in monographs on your subject.Often archival sources will be listed separately.
- Look at scholarly organizations (e.g. American Historical Association) or literary socieities (e.g. Int'l Brecht Society)
- Search in subject databases (e.g. MLA Int'l Bibliography)
- Archives and Special Collections are often indexed in Google.
- May need to search using foreign terms (e.g. Nachlass [German equivalent "unpublished papers"], archivo [Spanish term for "archives"])
- Dictionary of archival terminology (terms in Dutch, French, German, Italian, Russian, & Spanish). Call number: CD945 D53 1988 (Olin level 3)
- Multilingual Archival Terminology (online)