Encyclopedias
Britannica Online
Full-text, general-purpose encyclopedia.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online
"Welcome to the Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online, or REP Online - your dynamic online resource for researching, teaching and studying philosophy and related disciplines."
Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics (2007)
'Covers every major facet of these two different, but highly integrated disciplines—from mean, mode, and median to reliability, validity, significance, correlation, and much more... Offers cross-disciplinary coverage, with contributions from and applications to the fields of Psychology, Education, Sociology, Human Development, Political Science, Business and Management, Public Health, and others.'
Encyclopedia of Political Communication (2008)
'...considers political communication from a broad interdisciplinary perspective, encompassing the many different roles that communication plays in political processes in the United States and around the world... Encompasses several channels of political communication including interpersonal and public communication, radio, television, newspapers, and the World Wide Web.'
Dictionaries
Oxford English Dictionary
Full-text. Second edition, updated quarterly. Click on 'Sign In' to access the dictionary.
Oxford Reference Online (1 concurrent user allowed)
Full-text. Contains about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
U.S. Census Glossary
Maintained by the U.S. Census Bureau. Definition and explanation of terms used in the American Community Survey, the Current Population Survey, and the Decennial Census. Explanation of selected abbreviations and acronyms.
Statistics Glossary
'Entries in the Statistical Glossary are taken from the Electronic Manual of STATISTICA and may contain elements that refer to specific features of the STATISTICA system.'
Almanacs
Almanac of American Politics
Provided by the National Journal.
Information Please Almanac
A print copy is also available in the library's reference collection.
World Almanacs
Includes the contents of: the World Almanac and Book of Facts, the World Almanac of the U.S.A., the World Almanac of U.S. Politics, and the World Almanac for Kids.
Almanac of Policy Issues
A free resource that provides basic background information on various policy issues.
