Research Guides: A Guide to Biological Anthropology Resources: Find Articles

Databases

Anthropology
Multidisciplinary

Anthropology Plus
Contains both Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute, UK. Citations to articles and essays in anthropology and archaeology, from works published in En glish and other European languages, 19th century to present.
AnthroSource
Full text. Brings 100 years of anthropological material online, including current issues for 15 of the American Anthropological Association's most critical peer-reviewed publications; an electronic archive of all AAA journals; holdings information; seamless access to archival content housed at JSTOR for key AAA publications. Searchable.
PrimateLit (online - 1997 - present)
The PrimateLit database provides bibliographic access to the scientific literature on nonhuman primates for the research and educational communities.
more...less...
Coverage of the database spans 1940 to present and includes all publication categories (articles, books, abstracts, technical reports, dissertations, book chapters, etc.) and many subject areas (behavior, colony management, ecology, reproduction, field studies, disease models, veterinary science, psychology, physiology, pharmacology, evolution, taxonomy, developmental and molecular biology, genetics and zoogeography).
Open Access Anthropology Journals
Here is a selection of Open Access journals in anthropology and related fields. Journals with restricted access will not be listed

Web of Science
Journal index. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Updated weekly.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Scopus
'SciVerse Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature.'
Google Scholar
Useful for looking for related articles and articles that have cited the found article.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Searches free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Currently covers over 3500 journals, with over 1200 searchable at the article level. All subjects.

Selected Journals

Below are some journals relevant to Physical Anthropology; we have online access to more recent issues, and in most cases, older issues in print. To find out if WashU Libraries hold a journal you're interested in, please go to the library homepage and search by Journal Title.

Never, ever, ever, pay for an article. Even if we don't hold a journal locally, you can request articles via ILL! And fast!!!