Contact Info
Archive, Manuscript & Rare Book collections are accessed in Olin Library at the Special Collections reading room.
HOURS: Monday - Friday 9:00-5:00 by appointment
LOCATION: Olin Library, 1st floor, Danforth Campus
REQUESTS / APPOINTMENTS: 314-935-5495 spec@wumail.wustl.edu
*collections stored offsite require advance notice for retrieval and use
Questions about a specific topic? Contact:
University Archives: Sonya Rooney
Rare Books: Cassie Brand
Manuscript: Joel Minor
Local History: Miranda Rectenwald
Dowd Illustration Research Archive: interim curator
Film & Media Archive: Andy Uhrich
150+ years...Where to start?
With more than 150 years of history, Wash. U. has a lot of stories.
This Research Guide offers some suggestions and tips for locating information for reunions, alumni events, compiling histories of a department or group, or other historical projects. University Archives staff are happy to help answer questions, just ask!
A quick review of campus history might give you some ideas of how to start your research. Below are books to consider reviewing.
Books about WashU History
all available through the WUSTL Library system:
Beginning a great work : Washington University in St. Louis, 1853-2003 by Call Number: LD5793 .O26 2003
Names that live : an account of the people for whom the buildings at Washington University are named and of the benefactors who gave themCall Number: LD5794.6 B68Publication Date: 1967 & and 1990 editions
Washington University in St. Louis : its design and architecture by Call Number: LD5793 .P43- History of Washington University, 1853-1953 by Call Number: LD5793 .L36 1954 (vol 1 & 2)2-volume typed book; located at University Archives
Lion of the valley : St. Louis, Missouri, 1764-1980 by Call Number: F474.S257 P75 1998ISBN: 1883982251The go-to book for St. Louis history -- if you have trouble getting a library copy check GoogleBooks
http://books.google.com/books
- 125th Anniversary Issue 1853-1978, Washington University Magazine
Call Number: Full Text Online
Publication Date: Fall 1978
Books about WashU Colleges, School & Departments
In addition to the published sources listed below, brief information files on other departments and schools are available at University Archives in the Washington University School and Department History Files (WUA00031) (Listed in alphabetical order by school, department, or college)
[School of Architecture] Givens Hall, 1960-1993 : a personal journey by
Call Number: LD5795.G5 M52 2012 (Archive Ref)ISBN: 0972972315- Astronomy at Washington University through the years, 1857-1954 byCall Number: QB82 .W36 S8 1954 (Archive Ref)
- History of the St. Louis School of Fine Arts, 1879-1909: the Art Department of Washington University byCall Number: LD5791.8 AM44 M8992 (Archive Ref)Thesis (A.M.)--Washington Univ., 1944. Dept. of History / Digital copy available at University Archives
- The first hundred years, 1879-1979 : Washington University School of Fine Arts byCall Number: LD5807 D44
- From P.E. to P.A. -- Dance at Washington University, Washington University MagazineCall Number: Full Text OnlinePublication Date: Winter 1978Article page 2 - 9
- School of Engineering and Applied Science, Washington University : 125th anniversary.Call Number: T75.S2 S36 1996 (Archive Ref)
150 Years of Mathematics at Washington University in St. Louis by Call Number: QA13.5.M48 W37 2006 (Olin B)ISBN: 082183603X- A History of Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology byCall Number: available at University Archives (new books)ISBN: 9780988524415Publication Date: 2013-04-30
Neurosurgery at Washington University : a century of excellence by Call Number: R747.W38 G78 2011ISBN: 0615480314- The history of the Department of Philosophy, Washington University, Saint Louis, Missouri, 1853-1996 byCall Number: B52.65.W37 W37 1997 (Archive Ref)
- A history of the Department of Psychology, 1924-2006 byCall Number: BF80.7.U62 S2 2007 (Archive Ref)
What we believe : a history of the George Warren Brown school of social work, 1909-2007 by Call Number: HV11.7 .O27 2009ISBN: 0981541518- A history of Student Union & the Office of Student Affairs byCall Number: LD5796.2 .H39 1979 (Archive Ref)
- Educating adults: a history of University College at Washington University, Saint Louis, its purposes and implications for the future, 1908-1970 byCall Number: LD5793 .F68 1974 (Archive Ref)
