Research Guides: History 49BV: Advanced Seminar: Topics in Environmental History: Historical Newspapers

Full-Text Databases

African American Newspapers (ProQuest)
Includes Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010), Chicago Defender (1909-2010), Cleveland Call & Post (1934-2010), Kansas City Call (1919-2010), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010), Louisville Defender (1951-2010), New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010), Norfolk Journal & Guide (1916-2010), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010).

African American Newspapers: the 19th Century
Starting with the Freedom`s Journal in 1827 and continuing in chronological order... this database will ultimately contain the complete text of the major African-American newspapers published in the United States during the 19th Century

Al-Ahram (1875-2018)
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.

American Periodicals Series Online
Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.
Burney Collection Newspapers (17th & 18th Century)
'The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media."
Chicago Tribune, Historical (1849-1987)
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective
Full text of major articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865
Early American Newspapers
Beginning with Clarence Brigham's History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820, concentrating primarily on those papers that began publication before 1820.
Eighteenth Century Journals II, IV
Full-text. Newspapers and periodicals, primarily British, from 1699-1812.

Ethnic Newswatch
Newspapers, magazines, and journals published by ethnic and minority presses. Ethnic NewsWatch: A History provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.

The Guardian (1821-2003) and the Observer (1791-2003)
The Historical Guardian (1821-2003) and the Historical Observer (1791-2003) offer full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
HarpWeek
Contains the full text of Harper's Weekly from 1857-1912,
Historical American Newspapers (ProQuest)
Includes The Atlanta Constitution, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Hartford Courant, Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, San Francisco Chronicle, St. Louis Post-Dispatch, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.

Independent Voices
A digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries.

Latin American Newspapers
Provides more than 80 fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere. These two collections provide unparalleled coverage of events from Latin America, spanning 1822-1922. Full-text.
Los Angeles Times (1881-1986)
Database offers full-page images and article images from the Los Angeles daily times (1881-1886) and the Los Angeles times (1886-1989). The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format.
Historic Mexican & Mexican American Press
From the Digital Libraries of University of Arizona- The Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
New York Times, Historical (1851-2007)
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
St. Louis Post Dispatch (1874-2003)
Contains full text of the newspaper St. Louis post-dispatch from 1874-2003 including its title variants.
St Louis Post Dispatch (1923-2003)

South Asian Newspapers
A fully searchable collection of historical newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries, featuring titles from India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. This uniquely comprehensive online resource was created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries - one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories.

The Times Digital Archive
a full-image online archive of every page published by The Times [London] from 1785-1985. See also the Centenary Archive of the Times Literary Supplement
Wall Street Journal, Historical (1889-1993)
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
Washington Post (1877-1993)

Google Newspapers
Worldwide historical newspaper archives.
NewspaperCat: Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers
NewspaperCat currently links to over 1,500 full-text newspaper titles with a goal to include links to as many US and Caribbean newspapers with archival digital content as possible.