Bibliothèque Nationale, France. An experimental web site created to give scholars access to digitized holdings of the French National Library. Access to over 100,000 fully digitized volumes (full text) and 300,000 digitized images. Concentration on the 19th century. Includes full text of various 19th cent. French periodicals.
Provides access to the back files of French journals in the social and human sciences, including history, literature, linguistics, anthropology, etc. (under the heading of Scientific Journals). The interface is available in both French and English.
Full-text access to French journals in the social and human sciences. It is possible to search all journals or a specific title. The entry for each journal title includes a timeline of dates for which only abstracts are available and dates for which full text is available.
Essentially centred on art criticism, i.e. on the salons and on literary monographs devoted to painters by important writers and critics from 1741 to 1927 : the first date corresponds to Father André’s Essay on the beautiful, an essential work for classical esthetics, followed a few years later, in 1747, by the first real salon (containing judgement on the paintings exhibited and not just description), composed by La Font de Saint Yenne ; the corpus ends with the last volume of Proust’s Recherche du temps perdu in 1927.
An electronic version of the printed collection “Bibliographie des Écrivains Français,” an indispensable bibliographic tool for the study of the French literature from the Middle Ages up to the 20th century.
A corpus of French literary criticism of the nineteenth century. Includes over 150 books, 34 authors and more than 100,000 pages of analysis. In addition to the great critics, academic and journalistic criticism is represented. Selection begins with La Harpe and crosses the entire nineteenth century through Apollinaire and Proust. The volume of these texts varies from a few pages to the twenty-eight volumes of Lamartine literature courses.
Indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others.
Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Citations to essays and articles contained in collections of essays and other works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada. Focuses on the humanities and the social sciences. Updated annually. Backfiles avail. in print: 1900-2000
Coverage, 1983-present. Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur or International Bibliography of Periodical Literature. An interdisciplinary index of periodical literature for the Humanities, Social Sciences and Arts.
Interdisciplinary bibliography of the Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa from the period 400-1500. The database comprises over 300,000 articles from over 4500 periodicals and 5000 miscellany.
Expert recommendations on the best works available in each discipline; from a chapter, a book, a journal article, a website, an archive, or data set. Each article includes an introduction written by a top scholar in the field. Covers the period of the Renaissance and Reformation, which spans roughly from the 14th through 17th centuries.
A comprehensive collection of peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journals from leading university presses, not-for-profit publishers and prestigious scholarly societies.
Journals can be searched individually, in groups, or all together.