· Archives of Sexuality & Gender – added Part III: “Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century,” which contains over 5000 rare and unique books from the British Library, Kinsey Institute, and New York Academy of Medicine.
· Communication Source – Index of over 1000 periodicals (600 full-text) covering communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies, and related fields.
· Encyclopedia of Jewish History and Culture Online – Covers the recent history (1750-1950) of the Jews from Europe to America to the Middle East, North Africa and other non-European Jewish settlement areas. Contains about 800 keywords, 40 key articles, and many maps and images.
· JSTOR, additional modules – Access to additional resources during the COVID crisis is now permanent due to a new subscription model. Additional modules include: Business IV Collection, Lives of Literature, Public Health Collection, Security Studies Collection, Sustainability Collection, Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets, and World Heritage Sites: Africa
· Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals (1900-2010) – A collection of English-language publications that cover Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought, theory and practice. Issues covered include workers’ rights, organized labor, labor strikes, Nazi atrocities, McCarthyism’s rise after WWII, Civil Rights, and modern-day class struggles which give rise to renewed interest in alternative social organizations.
· Making of the Modern World – added Part IV (1800-1890), which is especially strong in "grey literature" and non-mainstream materials rarely preserved by libraries—including pamphlets, plans, ephemera, and private collections. (Full description: Books from 1450-1945, and pre-1906 serials. It focuses on economics interpreted in the widest sense, including political science, history, sociology, and special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing.)
· NAACP Papers – Contains internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country, charting the work of the NAACP from 1909 to 1972 and documenting the realities of segregation in the early 20th century to the triumphs of the passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the Voting Rights Act of 1965 and beyond.
· Oxford Bibliographies: Communication – Provides faculty and students alike with a seamless pathway to the most accurate and reliable resources for a variety of academic topics. Written and reviewed by academic experts, every article in our database is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, containing original commentary and annotations.
· Oxford Research Encyclopedias: Communication – Comprehensive collections of in-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on an ever-growing range of topics. Nw approved articles and new summaries are added to the encyclopedia on an ongoing basis.
· Rotunda American History Collection: A suite of primary sources, divided into three parts: the "Founding Era;" “ Antebellum, Civil War, and Reconstruction;” and the “American Century.” The Libraries have already purchased Founding Era collections, this purchase will complete the full suite of materials that make up the “Rotunda” collection.
· Southern Life and African American History, Plantation Records (1775-1915) – Documents the the far-reaching economic impact of plantations on both the American South and the nation, as well as the personal lives of plantation owners and their families.
· U.S. Declassified Documents Online – added Supplements 6 and 7. Selected previously classified government documents ranging from the years immediately following World War II, when declassified documents were first made widely available, through the 1970s. Search by name, date, word, or phrase, or focus on document type, issue date, source institution, classification level, date declassified, sanitization, completeness, number of pages, and document number. Nearly every major foreign and domestic event of these years is covered: the Cold War, Vietnam, foreign policy shifts, the civil rights movement, and others.
· World's Fairs: A Global History of Expositions – Provides official records, monographs, publicity, artwork and artifacts from world’s fairs dating from the Crystal Palace in 1851 to fairs around the world and twenty-first century expos.
· African and Black Diaspora: An International Journal
· Cultural Studies ↔ Critical Methodologies
· Culture, Theory and Critique
· Food and Foodways
· History and Technology
· Journal of Borderlands Studies
· New Media and Society (and Mobile Media and Communication)
· Politics, Groups and Identities
· Women: A Cultural Review
· WPA: Journal of the Council of Writing Program Administrators
· Financial Times (Global News - London) – added 2017-2021
· Kansas City Call (1919-2010)
· National Geographic Magazine Archive – added 2016-2020
· Nature – added 1950-1986
· Times (London) – added 2015-2019
· Washington Post – added 1941-1983
· De Gruyter – Frontfile titles from California, Chicago, Columbia, Duke, Harvard, and Princeton university presses (about 1020 titles in all).
· MIT Direct to Open – Pledged support for MIT’s D2O program which will open MIT’s complete list of scholarly books published in 2022, or about 90 books. Supporting libraries will also receive access to MIT’s backfile of about 2300 titles, if D2O support goals are reached.
· ProQuest – A curated collection of 407 DRM-free ebooks selected to meet the collection goals outlined in our IDEA (Inclusion, Diversity, Equity, and Access) statement.
New Databases:
· Archives of Sexuality & Gender – added Part III: “Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century,” which contains over 5000 rare and unique books from the British Library, Kinsey Institute, and New York Academy of Medicine.
· Business Journals – expanded access from the St. Louis Business Journal to include all 45 business journals across the American City Business Journals network.
· China and the Modern World: Imperial China and the West (1815-1905) – Digitized collection of general correspondence in the British Foreign Office Files held at the UK National Archives. Provides insight into the internal politics of China and Britain, their relationship, and the relationships between other Western powers keen to benefit from the growing trading ports of the Far East.
· Classic Brazilian Cinema Online (1913 – 1974) – Over sixty Brazilian movie magazines, from the earliest ones published in the 1910s to later magazines covering the 1960s and early ‘70s. Includes fan magazines, trade magazines, and Cinema Novo magazines.
· Communication Source – Index of over 1000 periodicals (600 full-text) covering communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies, and related fields.
· Cuban Pre-Revolutionary Cinema – Unpublished photographs, newspaper clippings, lobby cards, yearbooks, etc. digitized from the collection at the Cinemateca de Cuba in Havana, Cuba which document the history and development of Cuban cinema from the Silent Era to the Revolution. Also includes the weekly magazine Cinema (1935-1965).
· DataAxle (formerly called ReferenceUSA) – A new subscription which is replacing A-Zdatabases. Over 60 million business listings that include details such as contact information, SIC Codes, employee size, sales volume, geo-codes for mapping, franchise and brand information, news, liens, judgments and bankruptcies, and credit rating scores. Over 302 million consumer listings, compiles from White Page telephone directories and census data.
· Encyclopedia of Jewish History and Culture Online – Covers the recent history (1750-1950) of the Jews from Europe to America to the Middle East, North Africa and other non-European Jewish settlement areas. Contains about 800 keywords, 40 key articles, and many maps and images.
· JoVE Unlimited – Over 16,000 videos illustrating key concepts, research techniques and experiments across multiple science disciplines. Also includes an Encyclopedia of Experiments, Lab Manual, and video textbooks
· JSTOR – Access to additional resources during the COVID crisis is now permanent due to a new subscription model. Additional modules include: Business IV Collection, Lives of Literature, Public Health Collection, Security Studies Collection, Sustainability Collection, Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets, and World Heritage Sites: Africa
· Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals (1900-2010) – A collection of English-language publications that cover Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought, theory and practice. Issues covered include workers’ rights, organized labor, labor strikes, Nazi atrocities, McCarthyism’s rise after WWII, Civil Rights, and modern-day class struggles which give rise to renewed interest in alternative social organizations.
· Lexikon der christlichen Ikonographie Online – An eight-volume iconographical reference work on motifs of Christian tradition covering general iconographic terms, giving the context of individual subjects and themes, as well as the iconography of saints.
· Making of the Modern World – added Part IV (1800-1890), which is especially strong in "grey literature" and non-mainstream materials rarely preserved by libraries—including pamphlets, plans, ephemera, and private collections.
· NAACP Papers – Contains internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country, charting the work of the NAACP from 1909 to 1972 and documenting the realities of segregation in the early 20th century to the triumphs of the passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the Voting Rights Act of 1965 and beyond.
· National Index of Periodicals (Shanghai Library) – The platform contains two full-text periodical databases: “The Late Qing Dynasty Periodicals (1833-1911)” and “Chinese Periodicals (1911-1949),” and an ebook collection “Books of Modern China (1840-1949)” (see “Ebooks” below for description).
· Oxford Bibliographies: Latino Studies, Ecology, Public Health, Urban Studies, Communication – Provides faculty and students alike with a seamless pathway to the most accurate and reliable resources for a variety of academic topics. Written and reviewed by academic experts, every article in our database is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, containing original commentary and annotations.
· Oxford Research Encyclopedias: Psychology, Education, Communication – Comprehensive collections of in-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on an ever-growing range of topics. Nw approved articles and new summaries are added to the encyclopedia on an ongoing basis.
· Rotunda American History Collection: A suite of primary sources, divided into three parts: the "Founding Era;" “ Antebellum, Civil War, and Reconstruction;” and the “American Century.” The Libraries have already purchased Founding Era collections, this purchase will complete the full suite of materials that make up the “Rotunda” collection.
· Southern Life and African American History, Plantation Records (1775-1915) – Documents the the far-reaching economic impact of plantations on both the American South and the nation, as well as the personal lives of plantation owners and their families.
· U.S. Declassified Documents Online – added Supplements 6 and 7. Selected previously classified government documents ranging from the years immediately following World War II, when declassified documents were first made widely available, through the 1970s. Search by name, date, word, or phrase, or focus on document type, issue date, source institution, classification level, date declassified, sanitization, completeness, number of pages, and document number. Nearly every major foreign and domestic event of these years is covered: the Cold War, Vietnam, foreign policy shifts, the civil rights movement, and others.
· World's Fairs: A Global History of Expositions – Provides official records, monographs, publicity, artwork and artifacts from world’s fairs dating from the Crystal Palace in 1851 to fairs around the world and twenty-first century expos.
Ejournal backfiles:
· Financial Times (Global News - London) – added 2017-2021
· Kansas City Call (1919-2010) – New! Coming in June 2023.
· National Geographic Magazine Archive – added 2016-2020
· Nature – added 1950-1986
· Optica Centennial Archive – Perpetual access from 1917 – 2015 for 10 titles published by Optica (formerly the Optical Society of America)
· Revolución y Cultura (1967-2009) – Online version of a Cuban magazine
· Taylor and Francis – Perpetual access from volume 1 through 2011 for 26 journals from 7 collections, including “Anthropology, Archaeology and Heritage”; “ Biological, Earth & Environmental Food Science”; “Chemistry”; “Engineering Computing & Technology”; “Mathematics & Statistics”; “Psychology”; and “Sociology & Related Disciplines.”
· Times (London) – added 2015-2019
· Washington Post – added 1941-1983
· Wiley – Perpetual access to 24 journals with high turnaway counts. Coverage varies but extends from volume 1 through 1995-1998.
New eBook Collections:
· Books of Modern China 1840-1949 – Over 120,000 books digitized by Shanghai Library to support the teaching and research in early modern and modern Chinese history and literature.
· De Gruyter – Frontfile titles from California, Chicago, Columbia, Duke, Harvard, and Princeton university presses (about 1020 titles in all). If we purchase 2024 and 2025 frontfile titles (three-year commitment), we will receive gratis access to “Backfile” and “Archive” titles from these presses as well.
· Elsevier – Environmental Science and Earth and Planetary Sciences ebook collections and nine new and/or updated reference encyclopedias.
· Gunsho Ruiju [Classified Documents of Early Japan], Series 1-3 – Collections of rare and unpublished books produced up to the 19th century, compiled by Hokiichi Hanawa from all through Japan.
· MIT Direct to Open – Pledged support for MIT’s D2O program which will open MIT’s complete list of scholarly books published in 2022, or about 90 books. Supporting libraries will also receive access to MIT’s backfile of about 2300 titles, if D2O support goals are reached.
· ProQuest – A curated collection of 407 DRM-free ebooks selected to meet the collection goals outlined in our IDEA statement.
New Subscriptions:
· African and Black Diaspora: An International Journal
· Behaviour
· Cultural Studies ↔ Critical Methodologies
· Culture, Theory and Critique
· Dix-Neuf
· East Asian Science, Technology and Society: An International Journal
· Energy Today
· Food and Foodways
· Games and Culture
· Hau: The Journal of Ethnographic Theory
· History and Technology
· Journal für die reine und angewandte Mathematik
· Journal of Borderlands Studies
· Journal of Ethology
· Journal of Nonparametric Statistics
· Journal of the Institute of Mathematics of Jussieu
· Journal of Women and Minorities in Science and Engineering
· Les Cahiers de la Bande Dessinée
· Mindfulness
· Nature Reviews Physics
· Nature Reviews Psychology
· New Media and Society (and Mobile Media and Communication)
· Permafrost and Periglacial Processes
· Politics, Groups and Identities
· Radio Science
· Scientific Studies of Reading
· Women: A Cultural Review
· WPA: Journal of the Council of Writing Program Administrators
· Zoo Biology