Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International Business Research

This guide lists database and internet resources for international business research.

Library Databases

Current Olin students, faculty and staff have access to restricted library internet resources. View Remote Access for more information.


Search Tip for Nexis Uni: On the main screen, use the Search in all News box to search by country name, then on the results screen use the Narrow By limiters to filter your search (Country & Country and Region Reports is available under Publication Type). Or select All Sources from the Menu drop-down at the top of the screen, then use the Search Within Sources box to search by country name or by source name such as BBC Monitoring, BMI Country Risk Report, Business Monitor International, and PRS Risk Guide & Service.

Don’t forget the following in your hunt for international business information:

  • Country Home pages and Tourism bureaus
  • The regional versions of various search engines (Google UK or Google Japan), and other international search engines such as www.searchenginecolossus.com.

Bloomberg

The library has access to Bloomberg, a premier service sold primarily to institutional investors. This service provides real-time quote and graphical information for stocks, bonds, options, etc. It also has extensive news services. This service has tick information (i.e. intra-day individual trades) and historical price information. Note: Bloomberg is available on site at the Kopolow Library through the Bloomberg Terminals. There is no remote access for this service.

Business Monitor International

Business Monitor International (BMI) is a leading, independent provider of proprietary data, analysis, ratings, rankings and forecasts covering 175 countries and 22 industry sectors. Our mission is to integrate Country Risk and Financial Markets analysis with Industry Research, to best inform decision-making at the highest level in multinational companies, financial institutions, multilaterals and government.

Access: Business School

Eikon

Eikon provides access to real time market data, news, fundamental data, analytics, trading and messaging tools. For historical price information, you can also use Datastream.  Datastream can be accessed through Eikon. This service has the longest time series and covers companies traded on foreign exchanges.  Note: Eikon is available on site at the Kopolow Library for students. Faculty can have access to a separate account through their Business School computers. Accounts limited to one concurrent user at a time.

EMIS (Emerging Markets Information System) (Access restricted to Kopolow Business Library & Business School) 

Country and company information on Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and the Middle East. Includes country profiles; macroeconomic statistics, forecasts, and analysis; reports on financial markets, companies, and industries; exchange rates; analyst reports; and business news.

Access: Business School

globalEDGE
A knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information on global business activities. Offers country insights, industry profiles, a blog, resources for teachers, diagnostic tools, and more.                                                                            

Access: Danforth Campus

IBIS World
Covers over 700 United States industries. A variety of reports including the new "Global" Industry Reports, Industry Report, U.S. Industry Risk
Rating Reports, Industry Profiles, and Economic & Demographic Profiles.  

Access: Danforth Campus

ISI Emerging Markets

Click country of interest then ‘Company’ tab at top of page.

Access: Business School only

Mintel Market Sizes

Mintel Market Sizes allows users to easily source market sizes, market shares, and forecasts for 34 of the world’s most dynamic markets.                                                                               

Access: Danforth Campus

Mintel Reports
Use this resource to find market research reports for a number of industries. The information in the reports is a mix of primary data collected by Mintel together with secondary source information.
Once connected, scroll down and click 'I agree' to enter the site. Free individual registration is required.

Here is a 15-minutes video to walk through how to apply Mintel Reports to branding/advertising projects according to Mintel’s experience working with marketing agencies, it includes:

· Mintel Navigation

· The newest "Digital Advertising" Report, with examples of how agencies use the data in the real-world scenarios.

· The Interactive Databooks to narrow down your target demographics                                                                                                                    

Access: Danforth Campus

Nexis Uni (LexisNexis Academic)
A full text resource to hundreds of business and general interest magazines and newspapers. Excellent source for company, industry and product information. Also good for general and political news, legal and medical information. Updated daily.

Access: Danforth Campus

Nikkei Asia

Nikkei Asia was created to change the way the Asia region is covered internationally and to enhance the world’s understanding of pan-Asian affairs. It delivers unique and exclusive coverage of Asia region economic, political, business and technology news in English as well as provides data on financial markets and top companies in Asia.

Access: Danforth Campus

Thomson One
The subscription includes some, but not all of the features from the Thomson One database. Key portions we receive include broker/analyst reports, Deals (public companies), corporate governance information, fundamental comparables and a few others. Please use Internet Explorer with this database.

Access: Danforth Campus

Uniworld Online
Uniworld Online is the most trusted source for contact information of multinational companies. In 2015 they merged their two directories: American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries and Foreign Firms Operating in the United States.

Access: Business Library