Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finance Research

This guide provides databases and resources for finance and finance related topics.

Market Data, Stocks, Bond, IPOs

Current Olin students, faculty and staff have access to restricted library internet resources. View Remote Access for more information.


Bloomberg

The library has access to Bloomberg, a premier service sold primarily to institutional investors. This service provides real-time quote and graphical information for stocks, bonds, options, etc. It also has extensive news services. This service has tick information (i.e. intra-day individual trades) and historical price information. Note: Bloomberg is available on site at the Kopolow Library through the Bloomberg Terminals. There is no remote access for this service.

Eikon

Eikon provides access to real time market data, news, fundamental data, analytics, trading and messaging tools. For historical price information, you can also use Datastream.  Datastream can be accessed through Eikon. This service has the longest time series and covers companies traded on foreign exchanges.  Note: Eikon is available on site at the Kopolow Library for students. Faculty can have access to a separate account through their Business School computers. Accounts limited to one concurrent user at a time.

Eurekahedge
Eurekahedge is a major resource for data on thousands of hedge funds. It includes funds across all strategies and asset classes. Eurekahedge is worldwide in scope, BUT our subscription is limited to funds in North America. This resource delivers hedge fund analysis along with accurate hedge fund information on the market, tailored to investors’ needs.

FII ONLINE (Directory of Obsolete Securities)
Click Auto sign in and agree to terms.
FII On-Line allows you to point your browser to FII’s database and inquire by CUSIP, Issuer / Issue Description, Tickler Date (date of action – e.g. expiration date), Service Type (Called Bonds, Reorganization, Put Options, Warrants, Stock Guide or Bond Guide) Record Type (e.g. Corporate Redemption’s, Mergers, etc.) and more.

Morningstar Direct  

Morningstar is known primarily for its coverage of mutual funds but Morningstar Direct provides comprehensive coverage of equities in addition to mutual funds. A username and password is required to access this database and only members of the Washington University community are provided that information. Morningstar Direct Quick Start Guide can be found here: Contact Madjid Zeggane to receive the necessary login information. Morningstar Direct is available on site at the Kopolow Library. There is no remote access for this service.

Morningstar Investment Research Center
Investment research, including research and independent opinions on thousands of mutual funds, stocks, and exchange-traded funds.                                                                                                                            

Access: Danforth Campus

S & P Capital IQ
An intuitive and comprehensive resource for those interested in financial analysis of publicly traded firms. International in scope. Fixed income, industry coverage, news, peer analysis, earnings forecasts, people and private company information is also available. This resource is widely used in the business community.

To request an account or if you have questions, contact Madjid Zeggane, zeggane@wustl.edu, 314-935-6963. Please provide your status (e.g. 2nd year BSBA, MBA class of 2023, faculty, etc). You must be a currently enrolled Business School student or a Business School faculty/staff member at the university to maintain your Cap IQ account.

Access: Business School only

Thomson One
Our subscription includes some, but not all of the features available from the ThomsonOne database. Key portions that we receive are: broker/analyst reports; deals made by individual public companies; corporate governance information, including takeover defenses; fundamental comparables (compare your company to industry averages); consensus earnings estimates along with buy/hold/ sell recommendations of brokerage firms; corporate fillings(also available from the SEC Edgar).  Note: Please use Internet Explorer with this database).‚Äč

Access:  Danforth Campus

Value Line
This includes on-line access to Value Line’s leading publications covering stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks.

Access: Business School only

Wharton Research Data Services
WRDS provides the user with one location to access over 200 terabytes of data across multiple disciplines including Accounting, Banking, Economics, Finance, ESG, and Statistics. Access limited to graduate level and above. Undergraduates requesting access need to contact Madjid Zeggane.