Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Accounting, Audit and Tax Resources

A guide featuring Accounting, Audit and Tax resources.

Accounting, Audit and Tax Resources

This guide will provide a list of relevant databases and other resources for researching Accounting, Audit and Tax topics. Current Olin students, faculty and staff have access to restricted library internet resources. View Remote Access for more information.

AccountingCoach.com

Learn accounting for free. This site includes accounting search terms, financial and managerial topics including ratio explanations.

Access: Available to everyone

Accounting Terminology

Accounting Terminology Guide – over 1,000 Accounting and Finance terms from the New York State Society of CPAs.

Access: Available to everyone

Accounting and Tax
Comprehensive coverage of accounting and tax topics appearing in key industry publications and newspapers. The quintessential accountant’s database. Coverage: varies

Access: Danforth Campus

Accounting Research Network

From the Social Sciences Research Network. Contains white papers and journal articles in accounting, auditing and taxation.

Access: Danforth Campus

AICPA and PCAOB Standards Database

PCAOB Standards and Related Rules — supplies auditors of public companies with a current and comprehensive source of PCAOB standards for engagements.AICPA Professional Standards — provides a comprehensive source of AICPA standards applicable to non-public entities.Access: Please contact your instructor for access details.

Bloomberg

The library has access to Bloomberg, a premier service sold primarily to institutional investors. This service provides real-time quote and graphical information for stocks, bonds, options, etc. It also has extensive news services. This service has tick information (i.e. intra-day individual trades) and historical price information. Note: Bloomberg is available on site at the Kopolow Library through the Bloomberg Terminals. There is no remote access for this service.

Business Source Complete
A scholarly business database providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals. Contains detailed author profiles for the 25,000 most-cited authors in the database.                              

Access: Danforth Campus

The CPA Journal

Visit the CPA Journal for news, analysis and insights of the CPA profession.

Access: Available to everyone

Compliance Week

Founded in 2002, Compliance Week, published by Wilmington plc, is an information service on corporate governance, risk, and compliance that features weekly electronic newsletters, a bi-monthly print magazine, proprietary databases, industry-leading events, and a variety of interactive features and forums. Requires member access. The following historical issues are available through the library: 04/01/2009 to 06/02/2014 in  Business Source Complete and 12/01/2009 to 07/31/2014 in Nexis Uni.

Access: Danforth Campus

EconLit with Full Text (1969 -)

Indexing & abstracts and some full text for 400+ journals and 500+ collected works per year, including books, dissertations, and working papers. Topics include economic theory and history, monetary theory and financial institutions, labor economics, international, regional and urban economics. Updated monthly.

Access:  Danforth Campus

EDGAR (U.S.SEC.gov) (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval System) 

Edgar provides the required regulatory filings of U.S. domestic public company and foreign private issuers offering securities on U.S. exchanges from 1996 to the present. Review company filed registration statements, prospectuses, proxy statements and other periodic reports such as the annual 10-K, the quarterly 10-Q and the 20-F for foreign issuers. Find out about a company’s strategic goals, expansion plans, financial performance, significant litigation and other major developments.

Access: Available to everyone

Factiva
This database combines more than 35,000 sources for access to premium content from 200 countries in 26 languages. Worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, web and social media, tweets, digital video and audio clips, analyst reports, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data. A great source for retrieving comprehensive financial information, news stories, articles, a list of key competitors and other useful information on public companies. Begin by clicking on “Companies/Markets” at the top of the home page and then entering the ticker symbol or company name. Limited to 6 concurrent users; logoff when done.                                                                 

Access: Danforth Campus

FASB Accounting Standards Codification Professional View and Governmental Accounting Research System

The American Accounting Association (AAA) provides access to the Professional View of the FASB Codification and GARS Online to accounting faculty and students at colleges and universities worldwide through its Academic Accounting Access program.  This program is offered exclusively to accounting programs on an annual basis.

Access: Please contact your instructor for access details.  

Hoover’s Online Business Network
(Click on Company Profiles and Financial) This site contains in-depth company information including profiles, financials, officers, products, competitors and more.

Access: Business School only

JSTOR

Full-run, full-text archive of core scholarly journals from a variety of academic disciplines, mainly in the Humanities and Social Sciences. All JSTOR content is completely searchable, and articles may be downloaded or printed in their entirety.

Access:  Danforth Campus

Nexis Uni (LexisNexis Academic)

A full text resource to hundreds of business and general interest magazines and newspapers. Excellent source for company, industry and product information. Also good for general and political news. Legal and medical information can also be obtained. Updated daily. Click on Subjects-->Accounting to search across accounting-specific resources including the Journal of Accountancy, Accounting Today, Wiley GAAP Guide, and more. Click on US Legal-->Tax Law to search across resources related to tax law such as AICPA Tax Advisor, IRS Actions and Memoranda, Combined State Attorney Tax Opinions, and more.

Access:  Danforth Campus

S & P Capital IQ
An intuitive and comprehensive resource for those interested in financial analysis of publicly traded firms. International in scope. Fixed income, industry coverage, news, peer analysis, earnings forecasts, people and private company information is also available. This resource is widely used in the business community.

To request an account or if you have questions, contact Madjid Zeggane ,zeggane@wustl.edu, 314-935-6963. Please provide your status (e.g. 2nd year BSBA, MBA class of 2023, faculty, etc). You must be a currently enrolled Business School student or a Business School faculty/staff member at the university to maintain your Cap IQ account.

Access: Business School only

Science Direct

Electronic journals and books. Some are subscribed by WU Libraries (available full-text); some are not. Click on Search to search all titles. Includes full-text access to Business, Management & Accounting ebooks and journals.

Access:  Danforth Campus

Statista
Provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information. Integrates data on over 80.000 topics from over 18.000 sources onto a single professional platform. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.

Access: Danforth Campus

Thomson One
Our subscription includes some, but not all of the features available from the ThomsonOne database. Key portions that we receive are: broker/analyst reports; deals made by individual public companies; corporate governance information, including takeover defenses; fundamental comparables (compare your company to industry averages); consensus earnings estimates along with buy/hold/ sell recommendations of brokerage firms; corporate fillings (also available from the SEC Edgar).  Note: Please use Internet Explorer with this database).

Access:  Danforth Campus

Wiley Online Library

Electronic journals and books. Some are subscribed by WU Libraries (available full-text); some are not. Select Business, Economics, Finance & Accounting subject to begin your search.

Access:  Danforth Campus