Research Guides: Company Research: Financial Statements, Ratios, Regulatory Reports

Financial Statements, Ratios, Regulatory Reports

Current Olin students, faculty and staff have access to restricted library internet resources. View Remote Access for more information.

Bloomberg
The library has access to Bloomberg, a premier service sold primarily to institutional investors. This service provides real-time quote and graphical information for stocks, bonds, options, etc. It also has extensive news services. This service has tick information (i.e. intra-day individual trades) and historical price information. Note: Bloomberg is available on site at the Kopolow Business Library and Bauer Hall (graduate lounge) through the Bloomberg Terminals. There is no remote access for this service.

Access: Kopolow Business Library and Bauer Hall
EDGAR (U.S.SEC.gov) (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval System)
Edgar provides the required regulatory filings of U.S. domestic public company and foreign private issuers offering securities on U.S. exchanges from 1996 to the present. Review company filed registration statements, prospectuses, proxy statements and other periodic reports such as the annual 10-K, the quarterly 10-Q and the 20-F for foreign issuers. Find out about a company’s strategic goals, expansion plans, financial performance, significant litigation and other major developments. Using EDGAR to Research Investments: you can also research information provided by mutual funds (including money market funds), exchange-traded funds (ETFs), and variable annuities.

Access: Available to everyone

Refinitiv Workspace / LSEG (formerly ThomsonOne) (Remote access restricted to Kopolow Business Library & Business School)
Note: To access Refinitiv Workspace go to the following link to register for an account:
https://my.refinitiv.com/productregistration.html You will have to be approved before you can use it. Access is also available to Business and non-Business School students/faculty/staff on site at the Kopolow Business Library PCs; a member of the staff will log you in.
Our subscription includes some, but not all of the features from the previous ThomsonOne database. Key portions we receive include broker/analyst reports, deals (public companies), corporate governance information, fundamental comparables and a few others. Limited to Business School students/faculty/staff on proxy.
For historical price information, you can also use Datastream that can be accessed through Refinitiv Workspace/LSEG-Datastream This service has the longest time series and covers companies traded on foreign exchanges.

Access: Business School only
Factiva (6 users)
Combines more than 35,000 sources for access to premium content from 200 countries in 26 languages. Worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, web and social media, tweets, digital video and audio clips, analyst reports, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data. A great source for retrieving comprehensive financial information, news stories, articles, a list of key competitors and other useful information on public companies. Begin by clicking on “Companies/Markets” at the top of the home page and then entering the ticker symbol or company name. Limited to 6 concurrent users; logoff when done

Access: Danforth Campus
Hoover’s Online Business Network (Access restricted to Kopolow Business Library & Business School)
(Click on Company Profiles and Financial) This site contains in-depth company information including profiles, financials, officers, products, competitors and more.

Access: Business School only
Morningstar Investing Center (3 users)
Investment research, including research and independent opinions on thousands of mutual funds, stocks, and exchange-traded funds.

Access: Danforth Campus
S&P Capital IQ (Access restricted to Kopolow Business Library & Business School)
An intuitive and comprehensive resource for those interested in financial analysis of publicly traded firms. International in scope. Fixed income, industry coverage, news, peer analysis, earnings forecasts, people and private company information is also available. To request an account or if you have questions, contact Madjid Zeggane; 314-935-6963. Please provide your status (e.g. 2nd year BSBA, MBA class of 2020, faculty, etc). You must be a currently enrolled Business School student or a Business School faculty/staff member at the university to maintain your Capital IQ account.

Access: Business School only
Value Line
This includes on-line access to Value Line’s leading publications covering stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks.

Access: Business School only