Instructor Contact Information
Head of STEM Subject Librarians; Engineering Subject Librarian
Quick Library Links
Required Texts
Analysis, Synthesis and Design of Chemical Processes by
Process design is the focal point of chemical engineering practice: the creative activity through which engineers continuously improve facility operations to create products that enhance life. Effective chemical engineering design requires students to integrate a broad spectrum of knowledge and intellectual skills, so they can analyze both the big picture and minute details - and know when to focus on each. Through three previous editions, this book has established itself as the leading resource for students seeking to apply what they've learned in real-world, open-ended process problems. The authors help students hone and synthesize their design skills through expert coverage of preliminary equipment sizing, flowsheet optimization, economic evaluation, operation and control, simulation, and other key topics. This new Fourth Edition is extensively updated to reflect new technologies, simulation techniques, and process control strategies, and to include new pedagogical features including concise summaries and end-of-chapter lists of skills and knowledge.
ISBN: 9780132618120Publication Date: 2018
Chemical Engineering Design by
Chemical Engineering Design: Principles, Practice and Economics of Plant and Process Design is one of the best-known and most widely adopted texts available for students of chemical engineering. The text deals with the application of chemical engineering principles to the design of chemical processes and equipment. The third edition retains its hallmark features of scope, clarity and practical emphasis, while providing the latest US codes and standards, including API, ASME and ISA design codes and ANSI standards, as well as coverage of the latest aspects of process design, operations, safety, loss prevention, equipment selection, and more. The text is designed for chemical and biochemical engineering students (senior undergraduate year, plus appropriate for capstone design courses where taken), and professionals in industry (chemical process, biochemical, pharmaceutical, petrochemical sectors). Provides students with a text of unmatched relevance for chemical process and plant design courses and for the final year capstone design course Written by practicing design engineers with extensive undergraduate teaching experience Contains more than 100 typical industrial design projects drawn from a diverse range of process industries NEW TO THIS EDITION Includes new content covering food, pharmaceutical and biological processes and commonly used unit operations Provides updates on plant and equipment costs, regulations and technical standards Includes limited online access for students to Cost Engineering's Cleopatra Enterprise cost estimating software
ISBN: 9780323850483Publication Date: 2021-07-14
Product and Process Design Principles by ISBN: 9781119282631Publication Date: 2016-04-01On Course Reserve at Olin Library
Supplementary Resources
Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards by
Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards, Eighth Edition presents the latest updates on the unexpected, but predictable, loss of containment and explosion hazards from chemicals and their admixtures and actual accidents. The extensively cross-referenced book enables readers to avoid explosion and loss of containment of chemicals. Primary and more specialized sources are easily traced, and this new edition includes available record updates, also adding a number of new records. In this newly updated and expanded edition, the content is presented in a clear and user-friendly format.
ISBN: 9780081009710Publication Date: 2017-03-24
Chemical Process Safety by ISBN: 0131382268Publication Date: 2019-05-20Washington University Patrons can log in by clicking "Not listed? Click here." On the next login page, enter your WUSTL email.
If it doesn't work, you can search book in O'Reilly: https://www.safaribooksonline.com/library/view/temporary-access/
Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials by
Since its publication in the 1950s, this important resource is considered the bible by those who need to evaluate the potential hazard of substances used in commerce. Now in its twelfth edition, Sax's Dangerous Properties provides extensive data on approximately 28,000 substances, with the addition of nearly 2,400 new substances. Each entry includes a DPIM code, hazard rating, entry name, CAS number, DOT number, molecular formula, molecular weight, line structural formula, description of material and physical properties, and synonyms. The book also contains Immediately Dangerous to Life or Health (IDLH) levels for approximately 1,000 chemicals.
ISBN: 9780470623251Publication Date: 2012-08-27
Unit Operations of Chemical Engineering by ISBN: 9780072848236Publication Date: 2004-10-27Course Reserve at Olin Library
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, 9th Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Up-to-Date Coverage of All Chemical Engineering Topics―from the Fundamentals to the State of the Art Now in its 85th Anniversary Edition, this industry-standard resource has equipped generations of engineers and chemists with vital information, data, and insights. Thoroughly revised to reflect the latest technological advances and processes, Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, Ninth Edition, provides unsurpassed coverage of every aspect of chemical engineering. You will get comprehensive details on chemical processes, reactor modeling, biological processes, biochemical and membrane separation, process and chemical plant safety, and much more. This fully updated edition covers: Unit Conversion Factors and Symbols * Physical and Chemical Data including Prediction and Correlation of Physical Properties * Mathematics including Differential and Integral Calculus, Statistics , Optimization * Thermodynamics * Heat and Mass Transfer * Fluid and Particle Dynamics *Reaction Kinetics * Process Control and Instrumentation* Process Economics * Transport and Storage of Fluids * Heat Transfer Operations and Equipment * Psychrometry, Evaporative Cooling, and Solids Drying * Distillation * Gas Absorption and Gas-Liquid System Design * Liquid-Liquid Extraction Operations and Equipment * Adsorption and Ion Exchange * Gas-Solid Operations and Equipment * Liquid-Solid Operations and Equipment * Solid-Solid Operations and Equipment *Chemical Reactors * Bio-based Reactions and Processing * Waste Management including Air ,Wastewater and Solid Waste Management* Process Safety including Inherently Safer Design * Energy Resources, Conversion and Utilization* Materials of Construction
ISBN: 9780071834087Publication Date: 2018-08-29
Rules of Thumb for Chemical Engineers by
Rules of Thumb for Chemical Engineers, Sixth Edition, is the most complete guide for chemical and process engineers who need reliable and authoritative solutions to on-the-job problems. The text is comprehensively revised and updated with new data and formulas. The book helps solve process design problems quickly, accurately and safely, with hundreds of common sense techniques, shortcuts and calculations. Its concise sections detail the steps needed to answer critical design questions and challenges. The book discusses physical properties for proprietary materials, pharmaceutical and biopharmaceutical sector heuristics, process design, closed-loop heat transfer systems, heat exchangers, packed columns and structured packings. This book will help you: save time you no longer have to spend on theory or derivations; improve accuracy by exploiting well tested and accepted methods culled from industry experts; and save money by reducing reliance on consultants. The book brings together solutions, information and work-arounds from engineers in the process industry.
ISBN: 9780128110379Publication Date: 2017-11-22
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 98th Edition by ISBN: 9781498784542Publication Date: 2017-06-13PRINT UNAVAILABLE DURING COVID-19
Azeotropic Data by ISBN: 3527286713Publication Date: 1994-07-13West Campus Storage. Contact the Librarian for access options.
- Knovel Library This link opens in a new windowOver 2,800 major science and technical reference books and databases from major sci-tech publishers including John Wiley & Sons and Elsevier.