Includes access to the Middle English Dictionary (1100-1500), the HyperBibliography of Middle English, and the Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse.

A guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of many English words. Second edition, updated quarterly. Learn more about this resource.

Displays word definitions from multiple sources and word relationships including synonyms, hypernyms, hyponyms, words used in the same context, a reverse dictionary, and tags.

Contains two databases of English facsimile (non-OCR) images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials.

Full-text. 'The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection ...totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles

Contains over 2 million pages from manuscripts, books, broadsheets, and periodicals, reflecting the widespread impact of the changes in crime and its policing during the long nineteenth century. The archive unites a number of geographic areas and disciplines, from law, criminology, and history to studies of popular culture and fiction.

Over 120,000 pages of original documents relating to Gender Studies. Sourced from British and European libraries and archives.

The definitive resource for researching 17th- and 18th-century America. The digital collection contains virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America over a 160-year period. Includes Supplements from the Library Company of Philadelphia and the American Antiquarian Society.

Searchable American newspapers enable users to explore America's past. Over 1000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states, have been digitized. The Libraries have subscribed to Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876; and Series 3, 1829-1922, Series 10, 1730-1900, Series 12, 1821-1900, and Series 13, 1803-1916.

Use Eighteenth Century Collections Online to access the digital images of every page of books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of millions of pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more. Learn more about this database

Brings together rare journals printed between 1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. The Libraries have purchased Section I, Section II and Section IV.

Contains over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1470 - 1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661), and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Full digital facsimile from the Early English Books microfilm collection. Learn more about this database

Collection of edited correspondence of the early modern period, linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century — reconstructing one of the world's great historical "conversations".

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Over 10 million volumes have been added to the library; of which more than 3.3 million are available full text.
More info about HathiTrust

A widely scattered collection of original medieval manuscripts that describe travel - real and imaginary - in the Middle Ages. Also contains translations and supporting materials, maps showing the routes of the travellers, and introductory essays by leading scholars.

Historical women’s periodicals provide an important resource to scholars interested in the lives of women, the role of women in society and, in particular, the development of the public lives of women as the push for women’s rights—woman suffrage, fair pay, better working conditions, for example—grew in the United States and England. Some of the titles in this collection were conceived and published by men, for women; others, conceived and published by male editors with strong input from female assistant editors or managers; others were conceived and published by women, for women. The strongest suffrage and anti-suffrage writing was done by women for women’s periodicals. Thus a variety of viewpoints are here presented for study.

Includes a diverse range of material from the archive of the Stationers' Company archive including constitutional records, court records, membership records, financial records, trade records, general administrative records, and charities and property records. The Stationers' Company Archive is one of the most important resources for understanding the workings of the early book trade, the establishment of legal requirements for publishing, especially copyright provisions, the printing and publishing community and the history of bookbinding.

A widely scattered collection of original medieval manuscripts that describe travel - real and imaginary - in the Middle Ages. Also contains translations and supporting materials, maps showing the routes of the travellers, and introductory essays by leading scholars.

Full text of all of the books in the series for students, academics, colleges and universities.

A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focused on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. Collections for this program are sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, and content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Includes 9,500 English, French and German literature titles of the Romantic era.

Digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.

A major multi-part series which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the British Empire and the 19th century world. It is mainly based on the repositories of the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, the National Library of South Africa, the National Library of Australia, and many others. Series 1 covers New Readerships and Series 2 covers the British Empire. Learn more about this database

Published letters and diaries from women writing from Colonial times to 1950, plus 7,000 pages of previously unpublished materials.

The Papers of George Washington Digital Edition encompasses five separate series and the complete diaries. Offers the complete Papers released through 2009 in one online publication. Search on full text and by date, author, or recipient across all volumes and series. The exceptional indexing of the individual print volumes is combined here into a single master index, and all internal document cross-references are linked.

The Papers of James Madison documents the life and work of one of the most important political and constitutional thinkers in our nation’s history. As chief author of the Constitution and the Bill of Rights, secretary of state during the Louisiana Purchase, and the fourth president of the United States, Madison played a central role in the American founding and the growth of the early Republic.

Crucial to our nation’s history as author of the Declaration of Independence and third president, Thomas Jefferson was also a major figure in the Enlightenment, representing for Europeans the embodiment of the early nineteenth-century American mind. All thirty-seven print volumes published through 2010 are presented in one searchable online resource.

Works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. Over 6 million pages from 29,000 works. Learn more about this database

First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive Navigation Guide

Documents the founding and economic development of Virginia as seen through the papers of the Virginia Company of London, 1606-1624.

From 1789 until the Bureau of Indian Affairs was established in 1824, Indian affairs were under the direct control of the Secretary of War. This collection consists of the letters received by and letters sent to the War Department, including correspondence from Indian superintendents and agents, factors of trading posts, Territorial and State governors, military commanders, Indians, missionaries, treaty and other commissioners, Treasury Department officials, and persons having commercial dealings with the War Department, and other public and private individuals.

During the War of 1812 Congress authorized the Secretary of State to issue commissions of letters of marque and reprisal to private armed vessels permitting them to "cruise against the enemies of the United States." Collection contains over 5000 images up through 1814.

79 document projects with more than 2,400 documents, 32,000 pages of additional full-text documents, and 1,700 primary authors. It includes as well book, film and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools. Learn more about this database