Research Guides: GIS Data and Resources: Online Public Datasets by Location

The amount of geospatial datasets available for use is truly staggering. The below list is by no means definitive. It is curated to ensure trustworthiness and the links are checked periodically. Please let us know if something is broken and we will address it.

Online Public Datasets

Online Public Datasets by Location

Missouri Spatial Data Information Service (MSDIS)
The Missouri Spatial Data Information Service curates and collects statewide GIS and census data.
City of St. Louis Open Data
Downloadable datasets provided by the City of St. Louis (community, education & training, employment/jobs/careers, government, health, housing, law/safety/justice, transportation/infrastructure/utilities, urban development).
St. Louis County GIS Open Government
St. Louis County's Open Government Site is intended to easily provide public data available for download.
Geo St. Louis
A guide to geospatial data about the City of St. Louis. This website combines data from 11 City departments and Federal agencies and seamlessly integrates them into a single location.
City of St. Louis Crime Statistics
EastWest Gateway - Maps
Regional Planning Agency that has numerous maps of St. Louis and surrounding counties. These maps are in pdf format and not able to be easily imported into a GIS.
EastWest Gateway - Ecological Data Inventory
'The Ecological Data Inventory is a catalog of existing geospatial datasets that are available to the public at no cost. This report seeks to highlight a variety of ecological data developments undertaken by EWG and its local, regional, state, and federal partners.'
Great River Greenway
GRG's mission is to make the St. Louis region a more vibrant place to live, work and play by developing a regional network of greenways. Access GIS datasets of current and future trail plans on the Resources - GIS & Design page.
IL Natural Resources Geospatial Data Clearinghouse
Access Illinois GIS data sets and documentation (metadata) for ArcIMS Interactive Map Services, USGS digital topographic maps, aerial photography, orthoimagery, orthophotography, geology, land use, natural resources, and infrastructure. Illinois data sets and map data layers are available for download free of charge.

Some data providers make their spatial data available as services that can be added to your maps. The functionality of these services varies and can range from simple mapping to analysis or even exporting. The service provider determines what functions are available and how users may interact with their datasets. To add these services to ArcGIS Pro, see Esri's instructions for adding data from a path.

Some examples of these types of services are:

St. Louis City
The view-only services in the Public collection include building footprints and parcel boundaries.
MSDIS Web Services
This Missouri clearinghouse for geospatial data has an extensive collection of services including aerial imagery and vector features.

ALABAMA

Alabama Geographic Information Data Portal
Provides a collection of geospatial data gathered from local, state, and federal agencies that is relevant to the area.
Alabama Maps
Maintained by the University of Alabama's Department of Geography, this website provides users with a collection of both historical and contemporary maps relevant to both Alabama and other areas of research interest. Maps are available for download in JPEG format or plugin.
City of Birmingham Online Mapping
GIS data portal for Birmingham, the largest metropolitan area in the state of Alabama. A Map Viewer allows users to toggle data layers off and on in order to isolate information relevant to their needs before downloading.

ALASKA

Alaska Department of Natural Resources Open Data Portal
Provides users with a number of state-specific data layers for download, from cultural and historical data to environmental data on restoration areas, natural resources, monuments, and parks. See the bottom of the home page to find even more state-specific resources (i.e. Department of Fish and Wildlife GIS page, Labor and Workforce Data, Wildfire Activity, interactive maps portal, and more).
Municipality of Anchorage Legacy GIS Data
Provides GIS Data for Alaska's most populous city, Anchorage. Data is available for download in both shapefile and database format.
State of Alaska Open Data Geoportal
The Alaska Open Data Geoportal is a cooperative project coordinated by the Alaska Geospatial Office. The data and services available are hosted by public agencies.

ARIZONA

AZGEO Clearinghouse
An initiative of the Arizona Geographic Information Council, the clearinghouse allows users to access, download and contribute geospatial data after they have registered and logged in with a free account.
Maricopa County GIS Mapping
GIS data portal for Maricopa County, of which Arizona's most populous city and capital, Phoenix, is the seat. Data available for download is diverse, from stray animal counts and historical aerials to election districts, parcel data, and park shapefiles.
City of Tempe GIS Open Data Portal
Portal providing open access data for Tempe, Arizona. Data is divided into topic categories for download and users have the option of downloading in shapefile or database format, as well as access to raw spreadsheet data.
City of Phoenix GIS Open Data Portal
Portal providing access to data specific to Phoenix, Arizona. Most data, covering a wide range of subjects, can be downloaded in CSV format for modification and eventual ingestion into ArcMap.

ARKANSAS

Arkansas GIS Office
A statewide data portal providing access to a number of subject based datasets for the state of Arkansas, including data on climate, geology, farming, utilities, and more.
PAgis (Pulaski Area GIS)
Data portal providing access to geospatial data collected, maintained and distributed by PAgis, an independent government agency. Data covers a wide range of subject matter and focuses on Arkansas' largest metropolitan area, Little Rock-North Little Rock-Conway, AR, which encompasses the state's capital of Little Rock.
City of Fayetteville GIS
Site provides access to a number of downloadable datasets specific to Fayetteville, AR.

CALIFORNIA

The California Geoportal
A convenient and easy to use geospatial portal for the entire state of California.
California Department of Forestry and Fire Protection
Site providing both maps and data for download. Focus is mostly on fire and forestry data, but other topics can be found in the data catalog.
SCAG Data & GIS Services
A data portal providing access to relevant geospatial data for the counties of Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino and Ventura.
SACOG Open Data Portal
A data portal providing access to relevant geospatial data for the Sacramento metropolitan area. Maintained by the Sacramento Area Council of Governments (SACOG).
DataSF
Open data portal for geospatial data pertaining to the city and county of San Francisco.
City of Sacramento GIS
Provides users with downloadable data relevant to Sacramento in shapefile format.

COLORADO

ColoradoView
GIS data portal for the state of Colorado. ColoradoView is part of the AmericaView nationwide GIS partnership of geospatial applications and remote sensing scientists and provides state specific data on a variety of subjects for download.
Colorado State Demography Office GIS
Demographic geospatial data pertaining to Colorado. Data covers a wide array of people and place based topics and is free for download.
Colorado Division of Water Resources GIS
Hydrological GIS data available for download from state government site. Data is in shapefile format.
Colorado Department of Public Health & Environment GIS
Provides environmental-health and public-health based datasets for Colorado. Data is available for free download.
City of Boulder Open Data Catalog
Maps and geospatial data catalog for Boulder, CO available for free download.
Denver Open Data Catalog
Maps and geospatial data catalog for Denver, the capital of Colorado.
City of Fort Collins GIS
Maps and geospatial data portal for the City of Fort Collins, CO. Data is open access and free to download.
Boulder County GIS
Maps and geospatial data for Boulder County, CO covering a wide array of data themes, from public worksand safety to environmental conditions. GIS data available for free download.
Mesa County GIS Department
Maps and geospatial data pertaining to Mesa County, CO available for download. Area encompasses Grand Junction.

CONNECTICUT

CT Geodata Portal
Administered by the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Office within the Connecticut Office of Policy and Management (OPM). Offers geospatial data and web applications developed by the GIS Office, Connecticut state agencies, and partner organizations.
DEEP GIS Data
Maps and geospatial data available for download from Connecticut's Department of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP). Data cover a wide array of subject matters, and are available in both shapefile and geodatabase format.
UCONN GIS Data
Maps and geospatial data available for download from the University of Connecticut. Data has been compiled from a variety of sources and covers an array of subject matters, including census, election, hydrography data and individual county datasets.

DELAWARE

Delaware Open Data Portal
A statewide open data portal. Data covers a range of topics such as transportation, society, and environmental and is free for download.
Delaware FirstMap
ArcGIS Online page providing a collection of maps and web mapping applications specific to the functions of Delaware State Government.
City of Dover GIS
Geospatial data source for Dover, the capital of Delaware. Data can be accessed via the city's Informational Map Portal, produced using ArcGIS Online.

FLORIDA

FGDL Data Portal
Geospatial data available for free download from Florida's Geographic Data Library (FGDL). Data is focused at both the statewide and county levels and covers a broad range of subject matters.
FDOT GIS Data
Geospatial data and maps available for free download from FDOT (Florida Department of Transportation).
Florida DEP GIS Open Data
Geospatial data available for free download from Florida's Department of Environmental Protection. Data covers a variety of environmental themes, from land cover and tourism to environmental monitoring, geology, and more.
Tallahassee Open Data
Geospatial data portal for Tallahassee, the capital of Florida. Data is available for free download in several file formats, including shapefile and spreadsheet.
Miami-Dade County GIS Maps & Apps
Maps and geospatial applications available for viewing and free download. Data is specific to Miami and Dade counties in Florida, home to the state's largest and most populous city: Miami.
City of Tampa GeoHub
Geospatial data available for free download from the City of Tampa's open data portal.

GEORGIA

Georgia GIS Data Clearinghouse
Maps and geospatial data available for download. Requires free registration and logon in order to access data.
Fulton County Data Portal
Geospatial data portal pertaining to Fulton County, GA, home to the Atlanta metropolitan area. Data covers an array of themes and is free for download.
City of Atlanta DPCD Open Data
Geospatial data, maps, and web mapping applications available for viewing and free download. Data pertains to Atlanta, the capital of Georgia, and is maintained by the state's Department of Planning and Community Development (DPCD).

HAWAII

Hawaii Statewide GIS Program
Geospatial data and web mapping applications available for free download and viewing. Data covers an array of environmental and urban themes.
Honolulu Open Geospatial Data Portal
Geospatial data pertaining to both the city and county of Honolulu, the capital of Hawaii. Data covers a variety of subjects and is free to download.
University of Hawaii, Manoa, GIS Data
Geospatial data sources managed by the University of Hawaii at Manoa. Data sources include historical maps of the island, planning and permitting data, water resources data, and more.
Rainfall Atlas of Hawaii
Geospatial data, maps, images, and graphs documenting past and present precipitation levels across the state. Provided for free download by the University of Hawaii at Manoa's Geography Department.

IDAHO

INSIDE Idaho
Geospatial data available for download from the Idaho Geospatial Office's INSIDE (Interactive Numeric & Spatial Information Data Engine).
Idaho State University Spatial Library
A wealth of geospatial data and maps are available for download from Idaho State's Spatial Library, a service provided by the GIS Teaching and Research Center (TReC). Data covers a wide array of subjects, including data from research projects within the GIS TReC program.
Boise City GIS & Mapping
Geospatial data and maps are available upon request from the City ofBoise, capital of Idaho.
City of Coeur D'Alene GIS Mapping
Geospatial data and maps available for free download from the City of Coeur d'Alene.

ILLINOIS

Illinois Geospatial Data Clearinghouse
A variety of geospatial data, maps, and imagery available for free download from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
State of Illinois Open Data Portal
A collection of geospatial datasets from multiple sources across the state of Illinois. Data is available for free download in a variety of file formats.
City of Chicago Geographic Information Systems
Geographic Information Systems website for the City of Chicago, the largest city in Illinois. Site includes access to interactive and downloadable maps of the area, as well as the link to the city's geospatial data portal (see below)
Chicago Data Portal
Geospatial data portal for the city of Chicago. Data covers a wide array of subjects and is available for free download in a variety of file formats Types of formats and data can be filtered by tags (shapefiles, gis, maps, etc)
Cook County Open Data
Geospatial data portal for Cook County, IL. Chicago is the seat of this county, which encompasses the third largest metropolitan area in the United States. Data covers a variety of topics and is free for download.

INDIANA

IndianaMAP
A large collection of geospatial data and maps available for download from various partners of IndianaMAP, which is maintained by the Indiana Geographic Information Officer. Data covers a wide range of topics, including historical maps, aerial photography, links to specific county datasets, and much more.
Indiana Spatial Data Portal
Produced by Indiana University, this geospatial data portal requires users to register for free and logon before accessing data. Once connected, the site provides access to a wealth of Indiana specific data, most of it available for public download.
OpenIndy Data Portal
Geospatial data and maps for the city of Indianapolis, capital of Indiana. Data is free to download and covers a range of themes pertaining to the city and surrounding Marion County.

IOWA

Iowa Geospatial Data Portal
Geospatial data and maps available for free download at the state-wide level.
Iowa DOT Open Data
Geospatial data pertaining specifically to the Iowa Department of Transportation. All data is available to download for free and covers a variety of transportation subjects, including aviation data and crash statistics.
Iowa Geographic Map Server
Provides free access to Iowa geographic maps via an online map viewer and web map service.
City of Des Moines Data Portal
Geospatial data for the city of Des Moines, the capital of Iowa. Data covers a variety of topics and is available for free download.

KANSAS

DASC Kansas Geoportal
The Kansas Data Access & Support Center provides access to state-wide geospatial data, maps and resources. Registration with the website is required, but free. Data covers a wide variety of subjects, including aerial imagery and county-level data for the state of Kansas.
Sedgwick County GIS
Geospatial data available for free download from Sedgwick County's GIS division. Data is limited to the scope of the county, which includes the state's most populous city: Wichita.
City of Topeka GIS Portal
Geospatial data portal for the City of Topeka, the capital of Kansas. Data covers subjects relevant to the planning and maintenance of city affairs.
MARC GIS Datasets
Geospatial data available for free download from the Mid-America Regional Council (MARC), which encompasses eight counties across the Kansas City metropolitan region.

KENTUCKY

KyGeoNet
The geospatial data clearinghouse for the state of Kentucky, KyGeoNet provides access to several geospatial services including the KyGeoportal (open data portal) and KyFromAbove (access to aerial data), as well as links to Kentucky web maps and applications produced by the state government.
KGS GIS Data Library
Geospatial data and maps available for download courtesy of the Kentucky Geological Survey and the University of Kentucky. Data covers both state and county level data and may be accessed for free.
Lexington Open Data Portal
Geospatial data portal for the city of Lexington, the largest city in Kentucky. Data is free to download and covers a variety of topics.
LOJIC Open Data Portal
Geospatial data portal for Louisville and Jefferson counties in Kentucky. Data is made possible by the Louisville and Jefferson County, Kentucky Information Consortium (LOJIC) and is free to download.

LOUISIANA

Atlas Louisiana GIS
Geospatial datasets managed by Louisiana State University's Department of Geography & Anthropology. Data is primarily aerial imagery and topographic maps and is free for download.
EBRGIS Open Data
East Baton Rouge Geographic Information System open data portal for Baton Rouge, the capital of Louisiana. Data covers a range of urban and environmental subject matter and is free for public download.
NOLA GIS Open Data
Open data portal for the City of New Orleans, the largest metropolitan area in the state of Louisiana. Data covers a range of urban and environmental subject matter, including web mapping applications, and is free for public download.

MAINE

Maine Office of GIS Data Catalog
Geospatial data and maps managed by the Maine Office of GIS. Data covers a wide array of urban and environmental themes, including infrastructure, government boundaries, land use, conservation and much more. Data is free to download.
Maine GeoLibrary
Open data portal for state-wide geospatial information, including maps and web mapping applications. Data covers a wide array of subject matter and is free to download.
Maine DEP GIS Data
Maps and geospatial data managed by Maine's Department of Environmental Protection. Data covers a range of topics focusing on environmental quality, management, and protection strategies and is free to download.

MARYLAND

MD iMap
Maryland's Mapping & GIS Data Portal. This site connects a user to a variety of helpful resources, including an interactive map gallery and links to specific types of geospatial data, such as LiDAR. The site includes a link to Maryland's GIS Data Catalog, a repository for state-wide data (see below).
Maryland GIS Data Catalog
Open data portal for both state-wide and area specific geospatial data pertaining to Maryland. Data covers a wide array of subjects and is free to download.
Annapolis GIS Data
Geospatial data pertaining to the City of Annapolis, capital of Maryland. All data is in shapefile format and free to download.
Baltimore City Open GIS Data
Open data portal for the City of Baltimore, center of the largest metropolitan area in Maryland.

MASSACHUSETTS

MassGIS Data
Geospatial data at the state-wide level from MassGIS, the official GIS database of the state of Massachusetts. Data cover a range of topics and are organized into two main classes: raster and vector type data. All data is available for free download.
MassMapper Online Viewer
The online data viewer of MassGIS allows users to pan and zoom on the map in order to isolate specific areas of interests. Users can then select layers associated with an area or project theme and download the data freely.
MassDOT Open Data Portal
Geospatial datasets pertaining to transportation. Data is managed by the Massachusetts Department of Transportation and is free to download in shapefile, XML, or CSV formats.
BostonMaps Open Data Portal
Open portal for geospatial data pertaining to the City of Boston, capital of Massachusetts and seat of the largest metropolitan area in the state. Data covers a wide array of topics and is free for download.
BPDA Maps & GIS
Boston Planning & Development Agency's site for maps and GIS resources. Of particular interest is the "More Resources" section of the site, which is helpful for identifying additional GIS sources in the Boston area.

MICHIGAN

Michigan GIS Open Data
Geospatial datasets for the state of Michigan. Data covers a variety of topics and is available for free download.
EGLE Maps & Data
Geospatial data from the Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy (EGLE). Provides links to interactive maps, printable maps, and downloadable data.
SEMCOG Open Data Portal
Open data portal for the Southeast Michigan Council of Governments (SEMCOG). Data covers a variety of topics and is open for free download.
Detroit Open Data
Geospatial data for Detroit, the largest city in Michigan. Data is available for free download and covers a variety of topics.
Ann Arbor Data Catalog
Open data portal for the City of Ann Arbor, Michigan. Data is open to public download and covers various topics.

MINNESOTA

Minnesota Geospatial Commons
Geospatial data from the state of Minnesota available for free download. Data covers a variety of topics.
MnGeo
Geospatial data from the state of Minnesota. Data covers a variety of topics.
Saint Paul Open Data Portal
Open information portal from Saint Paul, the capital of Minnesota. Data covers a variety of topics.
Open Minneapolis
Open data portal of the City of Minneapolis, the largest city in Minnesota. Provides free public access to spatial GIS and non-spatial data.
MapIT Minneapolis
Geospatial data from the City of Minneapolis, Minnesota's largest city. Users can access maps, information, and analytical tools, as well as create their own maps. MapIT Minneapolis includes city maps and data along with map data from other sources.
Open Twin Cities
Geospatial data from the Twin Cities of Minnesota, Saint Paul and Minneapolis. Data is free to download and covers topics including health, inequality, environment, and transportation.

MISSISSIPPI

Mississippi Geospatial Clearinghouse
Provides access to a spatial information warehouse of Geographic Information Systems (GIS) resources of Mississippi for use by government, academia, and the private sector. The goal of the MGC is to make the application of spatial information technologies within the State of Mississippi more efficient by reducing the duplication of spatial data production and enhancing distribution through effective cooperation, standardization, communication, and coordination.
MARIS
The Mississippi Automated Resource Information System (MARIS) provides geospatial data free for public use. Data is available for download in ARC and AV formats.

MONTANA

Montana Geographic Information Clearinghouse
Geospatial data maintained by the Montana State Library. Data covers an array of topics and is available for public use.
Flathead County Geographic Information Systems
Data for GIS applications from Flathead County, Montana, the fourth most populated county in the state. Data covers several topics and is available for download is multiple forms.
Lewis & Clark County / City of Helena - Open GIS Data
Geospatial data from Lewis and Clark County, the seat of which is Helena, the capital of Montana. Data is available for free download.
City of Bozeman GIS & Mapping
Geospatial data from Bozeman, Montana, the county seat of Gallatin County. Provides interactive maps and downloadable raw data on a variety of topics.
Ravalli County GIS
Geospatial data from Ravalli County, Indiana. Data is available for free download and covers a variety of topics.

NEBRASKA

NebraskaMAP
Geospatial data for the state of Nebraska. Data is available for free download in a variety of formats and covers many topics.
Nebraska Department of Natural Resources
Geospatial data from the Nebraska Department of Natural Resources. Topics include elevation, groundwater, transportation, and more.
Nebraska GIS Data
GIS resources from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln School of Natural Resources. Download files available as zipped shapefiles. Topics include geology, land use/cover, soils, water, and topography.
Lincoln Open Data and Performance Management
Open data portal for the City of Lincoln, the capital of Nebraska. Data covers topics such as environment, health, economy, public safety, and more.
Sarpy County Open Data Bank
Geospatial data from Sarpy County, Nebraska, the third most populous county in the state. Data is available for free download in several formats, including shapefile, KML, and CSV. Topics covered include land records, planning, public works, transportation, and elections.

NEVADA

City of Las Vegas GeoCommons
Geospatial data from Las Vegas, the largest city in Nevada. Data is available for download and covers topics such as education, public safety, transportation, and community services.
NDEP GIS Map Resources
Spatial data from the Nevada Department of Environmental Protection. Data is free for public access.
Nevada Division of Minerals Open Data Site
Geospatial data from the Nevada Division of Minerals. Mission is to encourage and assist in the responsible exploration for, and the production of, minerals, oil, gas, and geothermal energy which are economically beneficial to the state. Data is available for public download.
Nevada Bureau of Mines and Geology
Open data on the geology of Nevada from the University of Nevada, Reno, the flagship institution of Nevada.

NEW HAMPSHIRE

NH GRANIT
GIS clearinghouse for the state of New Hampshire. Managed by the Earth and Systems Research Center at the Institute of the Study of Earth, Oceans, and Space at the University of New Hampshire.

NEW JERSEY

NJDEP Bureau of GIS
GIS data from the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection. Data available for free download.
NJGIN
Geospatial data from the New Jersey Geographic Information Network. Maintained by the New Jersey Office of Information Technology, Office of GIS. Data is available for download in shapefile format and covers a variety of topics.
New Jersey Office of GIS Open Data
Geospatial data from the New Jersey Office of GIS. Data is available for free download in several formats and covers topics including transportation, utilities, government boundaries, and more.

NEW MEXICO

New Mexico RGIS
The New Mexico Resource Geographic Information System (RGIS) Program, run by the University of New Mexico's Earth Data Analysis Center, provides geospatial data covering many topics. Data is available for free download in multiple formats.
New Mexico OSE Open Data Site
The New Mexico Office of the State Engineer (OSE) Open Data Site provides maps and geospatial data for public access.
New Mexico OCD
The State of New Mexico Oil Conservation Division (OCD) provides geospatial data on oil and gas in New Mexico. Managed by the Energy, Minerals and Natural Resources Department. Data is open to public use.
New Mexico LOGIC
Geospatial data managed by the New Mexico Land Office Geographic Information Center (LOGIC). Data is available for free download in shapefile format. Topics covered include general land status, hunting information, and oil, gas and minerals.

NEW YORK

New York State GIS Clearinghouse
Geospatial data for the state of New York. Data is sorted by county and covers a variety of topics.
New York OPD Geographic Information Gateway
Geospatial data from the New York State Office of Planning & Development (OPD). Data covers a multitude of topics and is available for free download in multiple formats.

NORTH CAROLINA

North Carolina County GIS Data
Geospatial data on the state of North Carolina. Data is compiled by the North Carolina State WashU Libraries and is separated by county. Data covers several topics and is available for free download.
NC OneMap GeoPortal
Downloadable geospatial data from the North Carolina Center for Geographic Information & Analysis. Data covers a variety of topics.
Wake County Open Data Portal
Geospatial data from Wake County, the county seat of which is Raleigh, the state capital of North Carolina. Available formats include spreadsheet, KML, and shapefile. Topics covered include demographics, education, environmental, parks, public libraries, public safety, restaurants, transportation, zoning, and more.
Charlotte/Mecklenburg Quality of Life Explorer
The QoLE explores North Carolina's second most populous county through highly local and granular Neighborhood Profile Areas. The site itself is open-source, and the data is downloaded in the open-source GeoJSON format, which can be converted to shapefiles.

NORTH DAKOTA

North Dakota Hub GIS Data Portal
Geospatial data from the North Dakota GIS Technical Committee. Data is available for free download and covers topics such as biota, communication, environment, health, transportation, and more.

OHIO

OGRIP
Geospatial datasets from the Ohio Geographically Referenced Information Program (OGRIP). Data covers a variety of topics and is available for download in Excel, shapefile, KML/KMZ, and geodatabase formats.
Columbus GIS Open Data Portal
Open geospatial data from the City of Columbus, the capital of Ohio. Data is available in KML, spreadsheet, and shapefile formats. Topics include business, health, recreation & parks, safety, schools, and transportation.

OKLAHOMA

Oklahoma Data Warehouse
Geospatial data managed by the Center for Spatial Analysis at the University of Oklahoma. Data covers a variety of topics and is available for download in multiple formats. Most datasets are downloadable in shapefile format.
OWRB Data & Maps
Geospatial data on Oklahoma's water resources compiled by the Oklahoma Water Resources Board (OWRB). Data is available for free download in multiple formats.
ACOGMaps
Geospatial data from the Association of Central Oklahoma Governments (ACOG). Data covers a variety of topics and is available for download in multiple formats.
OKC Open Data Portal
Geospatial datasets from Oklahoma City, the state capital and largest city of Oklahoma. Data covers many topics and is available for download in several formats.

OREGON

Oregon Spatial Data Library
Geospatial data provided by the State of Oregon and Oregon State University. Data covers a variety of topics and is downloadable in multiple formats.

PENNSYLVANIA

Pennsylvania Spatial Data Access
Official public access geospatial information clearinghouse for the state of Pennsylvania. Topics covered include hydrology, transportation, recreation, energy, local governments, and more. Data is available for free download.
PA DEP Open Data
Open data portal of the Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection (DEP). Data downloadable in spreadsheet, KML, and shapefile formats. Topics covered include air quality, hazardous waste, oil & gas, public water supply, waste management, water resources, and more.
PennDOT Open Data
GIS open data portal of the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation. Datasets can be downloaded in spreadsheet, KML, or shapefile format. Topics covered include aviation, bridges, railways, safety, and more.
Centre County Open Data
Geospatial data on Centre County, Pennsylvania. Data available on boundaries, environment, infrastructure, and locations. Datasets can be downloaded as spreadsheets, KMLs, or shapefiles.

RHODE ISLAND

RIGIS
The Rhode Island Geographic Information System (RIGIS) distributes open geographically-referenced datasets that represent a wide range of topics, including transportation, infrastructure, and the environment. Available download formats include spreadsheet, KML, and shapefile.

SOUTH CAROLINA

SCDOT GIS/Mapping
Geospatial data from the South Carolina Department of Transportation (SCDOT). Datasets are downloadable in shapefile format and cover topics such as state highways, railroads, traffic points, and more.
SCDHEC GIS Data Clearinghouse
Geospatial data compiled by the South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control (SCDHEC).
South Carolina Department of Natural Resources
Contains a wealth of environmental data, imagery, and basemaps.

SOUTH DAKOTA

GIS South Dakota Open Data
Open geospatial data on the state of South Dakota. Data covers a variety of topics and is available for download in spreadsheet, KML, or shapefile format.

TENNESSEE

Tennessee STS GIS Downloadable Data
Official open data portal of the state of Tennessee. Data covers several topics and is available for download in spreadsheet, KML, or shapefile format.
TNGIS
Data clearinghouse for the state of Tennessee. Server developed by the Tennessee State & Federal GIS Users Group and supported by the Tennessee Geographic Information Council. Data is available for free download and covers a variety of topics.
Nashville Open Data Portal
Geospatial data from the City of Nashville, the capital and largest city of the state of Tennessee. Data is available for download in numerous formats and covers topics including culture, education, environment, health, public safety, transportation, and more.

TEXAS

Texas GIS Maps & Data
Geospatial data from the Texas General Land Office. Datasets are downloadable in geodatabase and shapefile formats. Data covers a variety of topics.
TxGIO DataHub
Geospatial data catalog from the Texas Geographic Information Office (TxGIO). Data is available for free download in shapefile format and covers topics including demographics, environment, transportation, weather, and more.
TxDOT GIS
Open geospatial data from the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT). Data can be downloaded in spreadsheet, KML, or shapefile format. Topics covered include environment, safety, society, transportation, and more.
Texas Water Development Board
TWDB datasets include aquifers, river basins, precipitation and reservoirs, as well as DEMs and hillshade raster files of Texas terrains.
COHGIS Open Data Portal
Geospatial data on the largest city in Texas from City of Houston Geographic Information System. Data on boundaries, community safety, business, and transportation available for free download in spreadsheet, KML, and shapefile formats.

UTAH

Utah Mapping Portal
Utah's State Geographic Information Database from the Utah Automated Geographic Reference Center. Data covers topics including bioscience, climate, demographics, economy, environment, health, politics, recreation, water, and more. Datasets are downloadable in geodatabase and shapefile formats.
State of Utah Open Data Catalog
Geospatial data on the state of Utah. Datasets are downloadable in numerous formats and cover a variety of topics, including public safety, jobs, recreation, economy, heritage, transportation, health, education, and more.

VERMONT

Vermont Open Geodata Portal
Official geospatial data from the Vermont Center for Geographic Information, which operates under the Agency of Commerce and Community Development. Data is available for download in spreadsheet, KML, and shapefile format. Topics covered include agriculture, demographics, economy, environment, health and public safety, recreation, transportation, water, and more.

VIRGINIA

DataVA
Open data portal for the state of Virginia. Topics covered include agriculture, education, public safety, transportation, and more.
VEDP GIS Open Data
GIS resources for public use compiled by the Virginia Economic Development Partnership (VEDP). Datasets are available for free download in spreadsheet, KML, and shapefile formats.
City of Alexandria GIS Open Data
Open data portal for the City of Alexandria, VA. Topics covered include business, education, environment, public safety, recreation, transportation, and more. Datasets are available for free download in spreadsheet, KML, and shapefile formats.
Arlington County GIS Open Data
Official open geospatial data portal for Arlington County, the highest-income county in the U.S. by median family income. Datasets can be downloaded in spreadsheet, KML, or shapefile format.
Loudoun County GIS Open Data
Open geospatial data compiled by the Loudoun County Office of Mapping and Geographic Information on Loudoun County, the third-most populous county in Virginia and the highest-income county in the U.S. by median household income. Data pertains to environment, land records, utilities, base layers, and planning. Datasets are available for free download in spreadsheet, KML, or shapefile format.
Fairfax County Geospatial Data
Open data portal for Fairfax County, Virginia, the most populous jurisdiction in the Washington metropolitan area. Data categories include demography, environment, public safety, recreation, transportation, and more. Datasets are available for free download in spreadsheet, KML, and shapefile formats.
City of Virginia Beach Open GIS Data
Geospatial data on the City of Virginia Beach, the largest city in Virginia. Data covers many topics and can be downloaded in spreadsheet, KML, and shapefile formats.

WASHINGTON

Data.WA
Open data portal for the State of Washington. Data covers many topics and is available for free download in numerous formats.
WSDOT GIS Data Download
Geospatial data provided by the Washington State Department of Transportation (WSDOT). Data is available for download as a compressed folder containing a shapefile and other formats.
WADNR Open Data
Open geospatial data from the Washington Department of Natural Resource (WADNR). Data categories include climatology, geology, natural heritage, transportation, and more. Datasets are available for free download in spreadsheet, KML, and shapefile formats.
Washington State Data
List of GIS data sources from the University of Washington Libraries. Data covers many topics.

WEST VIRGINIA

WV State GIS Data Clearinghouse
Geospatial data sources compiled by the West Virginia GIS Technical Center.

WISCONSIN

UW-Madison GIS Data
Geospatial data from the State Cartographer's Office and the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Provides sources for GIS data sorted by category.
WiDNR Open Data
GIS open data portal of the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources (WiDNR). Data categories include water, fish & wildlife, environmental protection, transportation, and more. Datasets are available for free download in spreadsheet, KML, and shapefile formats.
Wisconsin State Legislature Open GIS Data
Geospatial data managed by the Wisconsin Legislative Technology Services Bureau. Datasets can be downloaded in spreadsheet, KML, and shapefile formats.
Milwaukee County GIS
Open data portal of Milwaukee County, the county seat of which is Milwaukee, the most populous city in Wisconsin. Data is provided by the Milkwaukee County Land Information Office. Datasets can be downloaded in spreadsheet, KML, and shapefile formats. Topics covered include environmental, transportation, and more.

WYOMING

WGFD Open Data
Geospatial data from the Wyoming Game and Fish Department (WGFD). Available download formats are spreadsheet, KML, and shapefile.
Wyoming Geospatial Hub
Maintained by the University of Wyoming Geographic Information Science Center (WyGISC), the Wyoming Geospatial Hub aims to serve as the premier web portal to publicly accessible, reliable geospatial and non-geospatial data for the State of Wyoming.

Data.gov
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data
Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
Digital Coast: NOAA Data Access Viewer
Many different partners and groups, and several Center-led data projects, have contributed to the lidar data collection housed and distributed by the NOAA Coastal Services Center. The data span more than a decade and were collected using several different sensors. The collection includes data from topographic and bathymetric lidar sensors
more...less...
Data are available for all of the coastal states and range from shoreline strips to full county coverage. The products have been delivered to the Center in various formats, projections, datums, and units. Once received, the data are reviewed, checked for errors, and standardized in a single format, projection, and datum.
Earthworks - Geospatial Data Repository from Stanford
Repository of geospatial data provided by Standford University.
FEMA Flood Data Viewers and Geospatial Data
View maps and download geospatial data on flooding hazards in the United States
GEO.ca
GEO.ca is the definitive source for Canada’s open geospatial information.
more...less...
GEO.ca is the result of collaborative effort between federal, provincial and territorial stakeholders, led by Natural Resources Canada, to bring together authoritative geospatial data, leading-edge technology and applications, and open-source software, for a whole-of-government solution to geospatial data discovery and sharing.
Geospatial Data Gateway (GDG) - USDA
The Geospatial Data Gateway (GDG) is the One Stop Source for environmental and natural resources data, at anytime, from anywhere, to anyone.
Libre Map
Free GIS data for all states in the US. The original project is now closed. This site is kept as an archive of the work.
National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)
The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2010.
National Map Small Scale Data Download
Large source of data for US government GIS layers.
Pacific Institute - California GIS Data
GIS data describing the impact of sea level change.
Purdue GIS Data Guide
List of sources for U.S. GIS data compiled by Purdue University. Sources are organized by state and by theme.
SEDAC
SEDAC, the Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center, is one of the Distributed Active Archive Centers (DAACs) in the Earth Observing System Data and Information System (EOSDIS) of the U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration. SEDAC focuses on human interactions in the environment. Its mission is to develop and operate applications that support the integration of socioeconomic and Earth science data and to serve as an "Information Gateway" between the Earth and social sciences.
US Census Tiger Line Files
The core TIGER/Line Files and Shapefiles do not include demographic data, but they do contain geographic entity codes (GEOIDs) that can be linked to the Census Bureau’s demographic data.
USDA Web Soil Survey (WSS)
Provides soil data and information produced by the National Cooperative Soil Survey. NRCS has soil maps and data available online for more than 95 percent of the nation’s counties and anticipates having 100 percent in the near future.
USGS - National Map Viewer and Download Platform
The National Map Viewer and Download Platform allows you to visualize, inspect, and download our most current topographic base map data and products for free.
USGS FEWS NET Data Portal
The USGS FEWS NET Data Portal provides access to geo-spatial data, satellite image products, and derived data products in support of FEWS NET monitoring needs throughout the world. This portal is provided by the USGS FEWS NET Project, part of the Early Warning and Environmental Monitoring Program at the USGS Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS) Center.

St. Louis County Aerial Images
MSDIS offers web map services for many Missouri GIS and imagery datasets of interest to WashU users. Their collection includes current (much of the state) and historical (St. Louis county) aerial images. These services can be added to ArcMap, ArcGIS Pro, and ArcGIS Online map projects.
USDA Aerial Photography Field Office
The National Agriculture Imagery Program (NAIP) acquires imagery during the agricultural growing seasons in the continental U.S. A primary goal of the NAIP program is to enable availability of digital orthophotography within a year of acquisition.
State Historical Society of MO - Aerial Photography
The Aerial Photograph Collection is a special collection of "maps" taken from the late 1930s to the 1960s. This collection contains a select number of counties. Additional counties and images are available through the Research Centers.
USGS EarthExplorer
Download satellite images, aerial photographs, and other cartographic products. Requires free registration and login in order to access data.

GeoFabrik
Data derived from Open Street Maps
Global Change Research Data Publishing & Repository
Sponsored by the Institute of Geographical Sciences and Natural Resources Research, Chinese Academy of Sciences (IGSNRR/CAS) and the Geographical Society of China (GSC).
Living Atlas of the World
Natural Earth
Natural Earth is a public domain map dataset available at 1:10m, 1:50m, and 1:110 million scales. Featuring tightly integrated vector and raster data, with Natural Earth you can make a variety of visually pleasing, well-crafted maps with cartography or GIS software. It was created and is maintained by the North American Cartographic Information Society (NACIS).
NOAA Data Catalog
OneStop, a NOAA data search platform, allows discovery of oceans, coastal, weather and climate data all in one place.
USGS EarthExplorer
Download satellite images, aerial photographs, and other cartographic products. Requires free registration and login in order to access data.
WorldPop
Open access spatial demographic datasets built using transparent approaches.

Africa

AfricaMap
Locations, boundaries, transportation networks, and historical information from across the continent. Hosted as feature layers within an AGOL project.
Digital Atlas of Namibia
Environmental, health, administrative, historical, and socioeconomic data available as shapefiles. This data has not been updated since the early 2000s.
Forest Atlases
Forestry and environmental data for Cameroon, Central African Republic, Republic of Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Liberia, and Madagascar

Americas

FBNMS GIS Data Archive (American Samoa)
GeoGratis (Canada)
Canadian equivalent to the American National Map Viewer and Download platform. Includes topography, hydrography, imagery, structures, and transportation.
Georeferenced Population Datasets of Mexico
Maintained by Columbia University, this is where you can find demographic data at different geographic levels as far back as 1921.
INEGI (Mexico)
Socioeconomic data administered and maintained by the Mexican National System of Statistical and Geographic Information.
Instituto Brasileiro de Geografia e Estatística (Brazil)
The National Map Viewer and Download Platform (US)
Zoom to area of interest and then select your data. Includes topographic maps, elevation maps (3DEP, Lidar), hydrography, imagery, structures, and transportation.

Asia

China Historical GIS
A free database of placenames and historical administrative units for the Chinese Dynasties. Helpful for viewing historical Chinese divisions as digital maps. Provides an API.
China Dimensions
Agricultural, land use, environmental, and socioeconomic geospatial datasets over time and varying geographic scales.
CITAS Data
1990s era vectorized base maps of China, georeferenced socioeconomic data, bibliographic resources and utilities for coding data of administrative units.
Diamond Bay Data (China, Tibet, Vietnam, Russia, Japan)
Assorted historical datasets for China, Tibet, Vietnam, Russia, and Japan.
India Assembly Constituency Maps (via Sandip Sukhtankar)
Properly geocoded Assembly Constituency maps provided by the Election Commission of India.
Israel CBS Social Survey Generator
Run by the Central Bureau of Statistics, this is Israel's version of Census Bureau with socioeconomic data arrayed arrayed by year and geographic area.
Japan Historical GIS
A free database of historical Japanese maps and links to further Japanese GIS resources.
Open Data Portal (Republic of Korea)
Open data portal for South Korea that includes geospatial data.
National Geoportal (Nepal)
Maps, datasets, and metadata for social and geographic data collected by the Survey Department of the Nepalese government. Free but requires creating a login.
Phillipine Geoportal

Australia / New Zealand

Government Data (Austrialia)
Austrialia National Map
Interactive map layers with data across Australia. Metadata and links to the web services for each layer are included
Government Data (New Zealand)
Open data clearinghouse
LINZ Data Service (New Zealand)
Interactive map of New Zealand with nationwide datasets of parcels, roads, hydrological data, and aerial imagery, among others. Each layer includes metadata and is downloadable.

Europe

INSPIRE (Europe)
EU-led geoportal with data from all member states.
Austrian Basemaps
A cartographic product based on the administrative data of the nine Austrian provinces and their partners. The map covers the entire Austrian territory. It is updated bimonthly according to the data updates from the partners.
National Geoportal (Belgium)
National Geoportal (Czech Republic)
National Geoportal (Denmark)
National Geoportal (Estonia)
Download geospatial data (Finland)
Download vector and raster data from the National Land Survey of Finland (NLS)
Paikkatietoikkuna (Finland)
GeoPortail (France)
Foldhivatal (Hungary)
Geohive (Ireland)
Geological Survey of Ireland GIS Data
Geological Survey Ireland produces a wide range of datasets from bedrock, quaternary, groundwater, marine, geological heritage, to geotechnical, minerals, geophysics, geochemistry and geohazards.
Irish EPA Geoportal
The EPA GeoPortal was developed by the Irish Environmental Protection Agency to improve access to geographic data relating to Ireland’s environment. You can use it to access our WebGIS data browsers, find and download EPA GIS data and connect to the Irish Spatial Data Exchange catalogue.
Geoportale Nazionale (Italy)
National GeoRegister (Netherlands)
GeoNorge (Norway)
Geoportal (Poland)
(SNIG) Sistema Nacional de Informação Geográfica (Portugal)
Centro de Descargas: centro nacional de información geographica (Spain)
The Federal Geoportal (Switzerland)
Open Geography Portal (United Kingdom)
OS OpenData (UK)
The UK Ordnance Survey provides this free service to download OpenData geospatial datasets from OS and other data providers.

Polar Regions

Antarctic Digital Database
View, query and download datasets such as the Antarctic coastline, contours and rock outcrop.
NGA Arctic Open Data Application
Publicly released datasets of the Arctic including aeronautical, boundaries, communications, elevation, hydrography, transportation, and natural resources.
GeoMAP
A collection of datasets comprising geological information for Antarctica, including both rock and surficial deposit information.
SCAR Maps and Geographic Information
Maps and data from the Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR)
Polar View
A resource for Arctic and Antarctic sea ice data.

Census Explorer
Tool to find US Census data. It will help you find popular facts (e.g., population, income, etc.) and frequently requested data about your community at different geographic levels (e.g., census tracts, etc.)
UN data catalog
The aim of this platform is to provide a comprehensive and representative overview of UN system open data assets. This initial release was launched on 31 March, 2016.
Humanitarian Data Exchange
Run by the Centre for Humanitarian Data, which is focused on increasing the use and impact of data in the humanitarian sector. It is managed by the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA). The Centre’s services are available to humanitarian partners and OCHA staff in the field and at Headquarters free of charge.
Google dataset search
This is an aggregator by Google to specifically find datasets provided in other repositories.
Demographic and Health Surveys
The DHS Program is authorized to distribute, at no cost, unrestricted survey data files for legitimate academic research. Registration is required for access to data.
Multiple Indicator Cluster Surveys (UNICEF)
Download reports of MICS surveys and request access to available datasets. Archives can be downloaded for select surveys. You must register to download.
Living Standards - World Bank Microdata Library
The Microdata Library facilitates access to data collected through sample surveys of households, business establishments or other facilities. These 'microdata' sets may also originate from population, housing or agricultural censuses or through an administrative data collection processes. The Library contains supporting documentation from censuses and surveys conducted or supported by the World Bank, as well as by other international organizations, statistical agencies and other agencies in low and middle-income countries. Learn More »

Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA)
A database of over 60 million businesses and more than 302 million consumers. Business listings include such data as company names, phone numbers, complete addresses, key executive names, SIC Codes, employee size, sales volume, geo-codes for mapping, contact details, franchise and brand information, news, liens, judgments and bankruptcies, and credit rating scores. Residential information is compiled from more than 5,200 White Page telephone directories and census data.
LandScan Global
LandScan, at approximately 1 km resolution, is the finest resolution global population distribution data available and represents an ambient population (average over 24 hours). The LandScan algorithm uses spatial data and imagery analysis technologies and a multi-variable dasymetric modeling approach to disaggregate census counts within an administrative boundary. Learn more about this database.
PolicyMap
A fully web-based online data and mapping application that provides over 15,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs and more. Data is available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries. Data comes from both public and proprietary sources.
Social Explorer
A detailed reference tool for current and historical Census data from 1790 to 2000. Explore Census data visually through the use of interactive data maps and also browse and download Census data in convenient formats for offline processing. Learn more about this database.