Research Guides: GIS Data and Resources: Maps

Online Map Collections

Library of Congress Map Collection
American Geographical Society Digital Map Collection
Perry Castañeda Library Map Collection @ UT Austin
The National Atlas
Includes GIS map layers as well as printable maps
United States Digital Map Library
Mostly state and county level maps
USGS topoView
Current and historical topographic maps produced by the US Geological Survey (USGS)
National Geologic Map Database
Geologic maps of the United States
Canadiana Maps Collection
Nearly 22,000 Canadian maps digitized from the 1:50,000 scale National Topographic Series
David Rumsey Map Collection

Fire Insurance Maps online (FIMo)
A research portal to find and view high-definition, color Fire Insurance Maps, Real Estate Atlases, Plat Books, and other historical maps showing building structures, building construction details, property ownership, property uses, and other useful information. This subscription includes Illinois and Missouri. Learn more about this database
Barry Lawrence Ruderman Map Collection
The collection comes from Barry Lawrence Ruderman, a map and atlas dealer who is a longtime friend and supporter of Stanford Libraries. Since 2009, Barry Lawrence Ruderman Antique Maps Inc. has contributed over 50,000 digital map images to the Stanford Digital Repository.
Sanborn Maps of Missouri (1867 - 1970)
Sanborn fire insurance maps for cities and towns in Missouri, providing detailed property and land-use records.
Sanborn Maps of Louisiana (1867 - 1970)
Sanborn fire insurance maps for cities and towns in Louisiana, providing detailed property and land-use records. Learn more about this database.

Maps in the WashU Libraries

Olin Library and the West Campus Library house a large collection of paper maps formerly located in the Ronald Rettner Earth and Planetary Sciences Library. The collection consists primarily of topographic and geologic maps, though some maps on other subjects are available. Most maps published after 1976 are searchable in the Library catalog.

For more information on searching and retrieving paper maps from the WashU Libraries' collection, please contact Clara McLeod, the Earth & Planetary Sciences and Environmental Studies Subject Librarian.