Archives: Homer G Phillips Hospital

Series 2
Box 10, Folder: Portraits – William Becker, Henry Kiel, Homer Philips,
Includes: addresses at dedication ceremonies, 1945 – 1947

Series 1
Box 26, Folder: Committee to Investigate Operations at City Hospital and Homer G. Phillips, Includes: Correspondence and press releases regarding the "Bradley Report", 1957;
rosters of the committee; comparative statistics of the city institutions "Report of Committee to Investigate Certain Areas of Operation of Homer G. Phillips Hospital", 11/10/53.

Box 26, Folder: Report of Committee on Analysis of City Hospital No. 1, Including Malcolm Bliss Hospital and Homer Phillips Hospital (City Hospital No. 2) December 26, 1956, Includes - Clipped report marked, "Pages Deleted by Substitutes", Frank R. Bradley, M.D., Committee Chairman (see "City Hospital and City Infirmary").

Box 26, Folder: City Hospital and City Infirmary, Includes:
Interim reports authorized by the Board of Alderman, 11/3/56 and 2/15/57
correspondence and reports re: maintenance, programs, problems of the hospitals and individual cases of patients
bound, "Report of Committee on Analysis of City Hospital, Malcolm Bliss Hospital, Homer G. Phillips Hospital", Frank R. Bradley, MD, Chairman, 12/26/56 (2 copies)
appropriations and other fiscal reports, inventories
bound report, "City of St. Louis: Comments on Accounting Systems", Fox and Placht, CPA's.

Box 28, Folder: Comments on "Report of Committee on Analysis of City Hospital #1..",
Includes:
Memorandum to Mayor Tucker on the "Bradley Report", from R. Elliott Scearce, Director of Personnel.

Box 28, Folder: Homer G. Phillips Hospital - City Hospital #2, Includes -
Correspondence concerning administrative aspects of the hospital, problems, and certain individual cases;
reports, including "Major Accomplishments at Homer G. Phillips Hospital", undated;
Report of Study of Obstetrical Division..."; Monthly Report, March 1953.
Committee to make survey and recommendations re: conditions existing at Homer G. Phillips Hospital 1953

Series 2
Box 14, Folder: Homer G. Phillips Hospital, Includes:
Correspondence and reports regarding administration
complaints and other miscellaneous matters concerning the hospital.

Box 15, Folder: "Report of Committee on Analysis of City Hospital, Malcolm Bliss Hospital, Homer Phillips Hospital", Includes:
Report of the Bradley Committee, December 26, 1956.

Series 3
Box 22, Folder: Homer G. Phillips Hospital - general correspondence, reports, etc.
Box 22, Folder: Homer G. Phillips Hospitals - letters of protest Re: Closing
Box 22, Folder: Homer G. Phillips - possible closing, 1964

Series 1
Box 27, Folder 3: Homer G. Phillips Hospital, [1965-1969]
Box 27, Folder 4: Guardian - Phillips School of Nursing Yearbook, Final Volume, [1968] Includes:
Historical review of 1919-1968 (forty-nine year history)
Names of graduates from all classes (1922 – 1968)
Class photographs on various pages for years: 1921, 1922, 1930, 1934, 1940 - 1948, 1950 -1957, and 1959 - 1967
Individual and group photos for class of 1968
Page 64: Photograph at announcement of city’s nursing schools integration (merger to become St. Louis Municipal School of Nursing)
Page 120: Advertisement for “Billy Burkes” restaurant on N. Pendleton Ave, owned by Mrs. Emma Johnson
Box 72, Folder 4: Health and Hospitals Division - Homer G. Phillips Hospital, Clippings, [1965-1969]

Series 2
Box 42, Folder: Homer G. Phillips Hospital, April 1, 1969.

Series 4 (newspaper clippings)
Box 04, Folder: Homer G. Phillips Hospital, January 1, 1969 - October 1, 1972

Box 26, Folder 14: Homer G. Phillips - Open (petitions from citizens), 1976
Box 72, Folder 11: Health Division - Homer G. Phillips Hospital, April 1973
Box 87, Folder 24: Homer G. Phillips Hospital - Clippings, April 1973

Series 2
Box 22, folder: Health and Hospitals - Homer G. Phillips, September 1979
Box 23, Folder: Health and Hospitals - Homer G. Phillips, April 1977
Box 23, Folder: Health and Hospitals - Homer G. Phillips

Series 1
Box 2, Folder: Standards of Social Work in Negro Hospitals, Committee on, 1936, 1938, 1941, 1942
Box 3, Folder: (Occasional Programs and Sponsored Events) Dinner for Mrs. Riddle, 1942, Includes:
Correspondence re. testimonial dinner for Mrs. Estelle M. Riddle, retiring Director of Nursing at Homer G. Phillips Hospital.

Series 2
Box 11, Folder 35: Health- Homer G. Phillips Hospital, Citizens' Committee, 1952-1954
Box 11, Folder 36: Health- Homer G. Phillips Hospital, Citizens' Committee, 1955-1960
Box 11, Folder 37: Health- Homer G. Phillips Hospital, Infant Mortality Project, 1958-59
Box 24, Folder 33: Citizens' Committee, Homer Phillips Hospital, 1957, 1958

Series 3 Box 7, folder: Homer G. Philips, includes
1966 letter re: Citizen’s Committee
“School of Medical Record Library Science: Interesting Facts”
Digest of the Citizen’s Committee Minutes (1958-1960)
“Handbook on Medical Records” 1943, by Esther Mayo Hodges-Sherard, head of medical records at HGP
List of Foreign House Staff 1958-59 (including name, sex, nationality, specialty and any family living in town)
1957 Report draft with budget overview and review of past 20 years at HGP

April 3, 1979 page 8, col. 1, article: “Leaves Phillips Dispute to City”
Other issues may have useful information as well, but are currently not indexed.

The Frank O. Richards papers contains statistical and narrative pertaining primarily to Homer G. Phillips Hospital, the St. Louis municipal hospital founded and operated for African Americans in 1937, but also to two other institutions, City Hospital No. 2 and the Peoples’ Hospital, that treated black patients during decades of official racial segregation. Included are files on William H. Sinkler, medical director of Phillips Hospital from 1941 until 1960. The files in Box 1 in particular document the writing of his chapter, “The St. Louis Story,” in A Century of Black Surgeons. Box 2 contains later additions, notably an undergraduate thesis by Dean Lee Kolnick (2003) on Homer G. Phillips Hospital.

See Series 1: General Correspondence, Box 46, Folder 358: Homer G. Phillips Hospital.

See Series 1: Correspondence, 1966-1969. Box 2, Folder 7: Homer G. Phillips Hospital.

See entry for P (Phillips, Homer G. Hospital)

Series 9: Additional General Files, 1915-1960, Box 28,
Folder 12 & 13 : St. Louis City, Homer G. Phillips Hospital, 1954-1958.

Series 9: Additional General Files, 1915-1960, Box 29,
Folder 1: St. Louis City, Homer G. Phillips Hospital, Rules and Regulations governing activities of Visiting Staff, 1954.
Folder 2: St. Louis City, Homer G. Phillips Hospital, correspondence, 1935-1942.

Series 10: General Files, 1960-1982, Box 23,
Folder 4: Homer G. Phillips Hospital litigation, 1979.

Series 10: General Files, 1960-1982, Box 38,
Folder 7: St. Louis City Hospital #2 (Homer G. Phillips), history & development of ..., undated.
Folder 8: St. Louis City Hospital #2 (Homer G. Phillips), Executive Board, 1960.
Folder 9: St. Louis City Hospital #2 (Homer G. Phillips) correspondence, various papers, 1960-66.
Folder 10: Homer G. Phillips Hospital, pediatrics/medical records annual reports, 1959-63.
Folder 11: Homer G. Phillips Hospital, appointment to staff (Dr. Robert Dodd), 1962-63.

Nash, a native of Atlanta, received her medical degree from Meharry Medical College in 1945. She came to St. Louis for her internship and residency at Homer G. Phillips Hospital, and then opened a successful pediatric practice in St. Louis.

Digital copy and transcript of the last School of Nursing Yearbook, including many historic images and a list of all graduates.

Digitized photographs, documents, and objects about Homer G Phillips Hospital available online.

The Guardian (yearbook of Homer G. Phillips School of Nursing), 1956
The Homer G. Phillips Hospital School of Nursing was located in the city of St. Louis. The hospital was staffed by African Americans and served the African American community. The yearbook includes photographs of senior nurses including their home town and specialty (i.e., operating room nursing, obstetric nursing). Also includes photographs of the administration and faculty and group photographs of nursing students.

Contact the Museum at 314-749-6322. Historic artifacts of St. Louis African-American history displayed, including those related to nurses and doctors at Homer G. Phillips Hospital. No materials online

Website focused on history and architecture of HGP Hospital. Published circa 2016, access via Internet Archive.