Welcome
This site is developed to help students who are creating research posters for presentation at the Undergraduate Research Symposium. At this site you will find information about:
- What to include in a research poster
- How to design and organize a research poster
- What software programs to use to create a research poster
Research poster sessions, historically have been widely used by the scientific community in presenting original research. However there has been an increase in the use of poster sessions for undergraduate research in the social sciences and humanities.
Good Luck!
View Sample Posters
Poster Sessions - flickr
A group on flickr for sharing posters and getting feedback
Poster Sessions - flickr
A group on flickr where people share photos of their posters
Online Design Resources
- Effective Poster Design "An effective poster is a visual communications tool"
- Design Effective Posters Contains examples of original and improved posters
- Creating Anthropology Conferences Posters: A Guide for Beginners
Considering Content
When developing an outline of a research poster, you want to consider including some of the following sections:
- Introduction or Background
- Literature Review
- Methods or Results
- Purpose or Objectives
- Discussion
- Conclusion
- Acknowledges
- Works Cited
Content should be:
- clear and concise
- relevant and significant
- organized
Considering Design, Organization & Layout
The "Rule of Thirds" is a design tool used by photographers and graphic artists. The rule states that visual images (the poster) can be divided into nine equal segments (three sections high and three sestions wide. The audience's eye should travel from the top to the bottom in a Z pattern. The most important parts of the poster should be located on this "Z" shape.
Layout and design should consider:
- alignment
- balance and spacing
- consistency
- color
- headings and fonts
Graphics should be:
- clearly relevant to project
- easily seen from a few feet away
- simply, easy to understand
- aesthetically pleasing, eye catching, but not garish
- clearly labeled
Sample layouts - at a glance
Finding Stock Images
Books from the Catalog
Academic and Scientific Poster Presentation by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9783319612782Publication Date: 2017-09-12This book offers the first comprehensive guide to poster presentation at academic, scientific and professional conferences. Each chapter explores different factors that impact upon how posters function, and how they fit within today's conference practices, as well as provides guidance on how to address compilation and presentation issues with the poster medium. Drawing from fields of education, psychology, advertising and other areas, the book offers examples of how theories may be applied to practice in terms of both traditional paper and electronic poster formats. Importantly, the book offers a critical examination of how academic and scientific posters are able to achieve their potential for knowledge dissemination, networking and knowledge transfer. The many new and challenging findings provide an evidence-based approach to help both novice and experienced presenters compile effective poster presentations, and to see how poster presentations can best be used to share knowledge, facilitate networking, and promote dialogue. Additionally, educators, employers, and conference organizers may use this book to re-evaluate how conferences meet the needs of today's globally connected peer groups, and the benefit they provide at individual and group levels.
Communicate Science Papers, Posters, and Presentations Effectively by ISBN: 9780128015001Publication Date: 2015-08-13Communicate Science Papers, Presentations, and Posters Effectively is a guidebook on science writing and communication that professors, students, and professionals in the STEM fields can use in a practical way. This book advocates a clear and concise writing and presenting style, enabling users to concentrate on content. The text is useful to both native and non-native English speakers. The book includes chapters on the publishing industry (discussing bibliometrics, h-indexes, and citations), plagiarism, and how to report data properly. It also offers practical guidance for writing equations and provides the reader with extensive practice material consisting of both exercises and solutions.
The Non-Designer's Design Book by ISBN: 9780133966152Publication Date: 2014-11-19For nearly 20 years, designers and non-designers alike have been introduced to the fundamental principles of great design by author Robin Williams. Through her straightforward and light-hearted style, Robin has taught hundreds of thousands of people how to make their designs look professional using four surprisingly simple principles. Now in its fourth edition, The Non-Designer's Design Book offers even more practical design advice, including a new chapter on the fundamentals of typography, more quizzes and exercises to train your Designer Eye, updated projects for you to try, and new visual and typographic examples to inspire your creativity. Whether you're a Mac user or a Windows user, a type novice, or an aspiring graphic designer, you will find the instruction and inspiration to approach any design project with confidence. THIS ESSENTIAL GUIDE TO DESIGN WILL TEACH YOU The four principles of design that underlie every design project How to design with color How to design with type How to combine typefaces for maximum effect How to see and think like a professional designer Specific tips on designing newsletters, brochures, flyers, and other projects
Designing Science Presentations by ISBN: 9780123859693Publication Date: 2013-01-09"Designing Science Presentations guides researchers and graduate students of virtually any discipline in the creation of compelling science communication. Most scientists never receive formal training in the creation, delivery, and evaluation of such material, yet it is essential for publishing in high-quality journals, soliciting funding, attracting lab personnel, and advancing a career. This clear, readable volume fills that gap and provides visually intensive guidance at every step--from the construction of original figures to the presentation and delivery of those figures in papers, slideshows, posters, and websites. It provides pragmatic advice on the preparation and delivery of exceptional scientific presentations; demonstrates hundreds of visually striking presentation techniques, giving readers inspiration for creating their own; and is structured so that readers can easily find answers to particular questions."
Dazzle 'Em with Style by ISBN: 9780080461045Publication Date: 2010-07-26Mastering the art of communicating scientific information is more critical than ever for a successful career in science and technology. Scientists today must be able to effectively convey sophisticated information to a broad audience that may include students, colleagues around the world, regulatory bodies, granting agencies, legislators, and the lay public. In this engaging and lively book, the author provides a step-by-step guide to the complete process of making a scientific presentation from preparation to delivery. It offers numerous examples highlighting what to follow and what to avoid. This revised edition covers the effective use of PowerPoint(tm) and other computer-based presentation programs. It also includes a handy checklist, new illustrations, and tips on handling an audience in a foreign country.
Visual Explanations by Call Number: Olin Library Level A Stacks P93.5 .T846 1997ISBN: 0961392126Publication Date: 1997-01-01Tufte's (statistical evidence and information design, Yale U.) third book on displaying information that began with the now classic (1983). Whereas the first considered the display of numbers and the second of nouns, this explores the representation of verbs, mechanisms and motion, process and dynamics, cause and effect, explanation and narrative. In explicating the principles, he cites such examples as visual evidence to decide to launch the space shuttle Challenger, a supercomputer animation of a thunderstorm, stage magic, and disinformation design. Many examples show redesigns comparing before and after. Lavishly illustrated in color throughout, and includes four flaps showing before and after effects. Annotation c. by Book News, Inc., Portland, Or.
Also available at the Art and Law libraies
Journal Articles on Poster Design
Title: Visual Design Tips to Develop an Inviting Poster for Poster Presentations.
Authors: Tomita, Kei1, ktomita@indiana.edu
Source: TechTrends: Linking Research & Practice to Improve Learning; Jul2017, Vol. 61 Issue 4, p313-315, 3p
Abstract: The article offers suggestions for making a poster presentation at an academic conference as it is different from other presentation formats. Topics discussed include integrating the results, discussion, and conclusion sections or introduction and literature review sections in order to reduce the amount of text; name and affiliation bigger than the main text but smaller than the tittle and addition of figures and tables for creating visual variety and making poster more inviting.
===========================================================================================================
Title: Effective visual design and communication practices for research posters: Exemplars based on the theory and practice of multimedia learning and rhetoric.
Authors: Pedwell, Rhianna K.; Hardy, James A.; Rowland, Susan L.
Source: Biochemistry & Molecular Biology Education; May2017, Vol. 45 Issue 3, p249-261, 13p
Abstract: Evidence shows that science graduates often do not have the communication skills they need to meet workplace standards and expectations. One common mode of science communication is the poster. In a review of the literature we show that poster design is historically problematic, and that the guidance provided to students as they create posters for assessment is frequently inconsistent. To address this inconsistency we provide some guiding design principles for posters that are grounded in communication theory and the fundamentals of rhetoric. We also present three nondiscipline-specific example posters with accompanying notes that explain why the posters are examples of poor, average, and excellent poster design. The subject matter for the posters is a fabricated set of experiments on a topic that could not actually be the subject of research. Instructors may use these resources with their students, secure in the knowledge that they do not and will never represent an answer set to an extant assessment item. © 2016 by The International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, 45(3):249-261, 2017. [ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]
========================================================================================================
Title: The Research Poster and How it Consolidates and Communicates Key Concepts of a Research Inquiry.
Authors: McAuley, Mike ; Hodgkinson, Gray
Source: Design Principles & Practices: An International Journal: Annual Review; 2017, Vol. 11 Issue 1, p1-14, 14p, 2 Color Photographs, 3 Diagrams, 2 Charts
=====================================================================================
Title: A practical guide to designing a poster for presentation.
Authors: Briggs, David J. D.J.Briggs@herts.ac.uk
Source: Nursing Standard. 4/29/2009, Vol. 23 Issue 34, p35-39. 5p. 2 Diagrams, 1 Chart.
Abstract: Poster presentations are frequently used to disseminate research findings and clinical initiatives at conferences, and present module material for educational courses. However, many nurses lack confidence when it comes to designing posters. This article considers the skills required to design a poster. Aspects of good poster design are also discussed. [ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]
===========================================================================================================
Title: Poster design—six points to ponder.
Authors: Brown, Bernard S.
Source: Biochemical Education; July 1997, Vol. 25, p136-137, 2p
Abstract: Students should ponder six points when designing and producing posters. They should prepare by thinking about how their findings might be presented as a poster even while they are carrying out the research, looking for possible illustrations and layouts, and taking note of how professional advertisers stick with one main message that is written in a few words and accompanied by eye-catching visuals. They should organize information on the poster so that there is balance between the three elements of text, illustrations, and space. Students' posters should have a clear pathway that follows the normal reading direction for the language used in the poster. To enhance legibility, they should use upper- and lowercase letters and ensure that type size and column width look right. A short but catchy title, bold headings, not too much text, and simple pictures will help explain their work. Students should also ensure that posters are readable at two meters in two minutes to catch potential readers' attention.