Research Guides: Archives: Pruitt-Igoe Housing Project: Pruitt-Igoe

Archive Collections with Pruitt-Igoe Materials

No overall separate archive of Pruitt-Igoe exists.
Listed here are other large collections that include important archival documents broadly associated with Pruitt-Igoe's long history.
To view items listed, contact the Department of Special Collections in Olin Library:

St. Louis Mayors' and Civic Leaders' Records:

Raymond R. Tucker Papers (Mayor of St. Louis, 1953 – 1965)
- This link opens in a new window
Series 01, Box 24, Folder "Urban Redevelopment 2nd Site - Project "C" - 20th Street, Jefferson, Franklin and Cass Avenue - 1952"

(Includes early plans for the Pruitt housing area; bound "Redevelopment Plan for St. Louis Project Area 'C'", Murphy and Mackey, Architects - "St. Louis Urban Redevelopment Project 'C'", City Plan Commission, June 1951; related correspondence.)

Series 03, Box 18, Folder "Housing - Pruitt-Igoe Apartments, Division of Welfare Demonstration Project"
Alfonso J. Cervantes Papers (Mayor of St. Louis, 1965 – 1973)
- This link opens in a new window
Series 01, Box 34, Folder 8 "Housing - Pruitt Igoe, [1965-1969]"

Series 04 (News clippings), Box 05, Folder "Housing - Pruitt-Igoe, January 1, 1969 - March 26, 1973"
Joseph Badaracco Papers (President of St. Louis City Board of Alderman, 1972-75)
- This link opens in a new window
Box 08, Folder "Housing Authority - Pruitt Homes and Igoe Apartments Public Housing Complex, May 1974"
John H. Poelker Papers (Mayor of St. Louis, 1973 -1977)
Box 28, Folder 12 "Housing - Pruitt-Igoe, April 1973"

Box 28, Folder 13 "Pruitt-Igoe Final Environmental Impact Statement, September 1974"

Box 88, Folder 7 "Housing - Pruitt-Igoe - Clippings, April 1973"
James F. Conway Papers (Mayor of St. Louis, 1977 – 1981)
- This link opens in a new window
Series 02, Box 27, Folder "Housing Pruitt-Igoe, April 1977"

Series 06 (News clippings), Box 4, Folder "Housing Authority - Pruitt-Igoe, April 1977"
A.J. Wilson Papers, 1970-1976 (Executive Director of the St. Louis County Municipal League, 1970-1971.
- This link opens in a new window
Box 04 Includes the following folders:
Housing - Pruitt-Igoe, Folder 1, 1971-1972
Housing - Pruitt-Igoe, Folder 2, 1971-1972
Housing - Pruitt-Igoe, Folder 1, 1972
Housing - Pruitt-Igoe, Folder 2, 1972
Housing - Pruitt-Igoe, 1972-1973

Box 05 Includes the following folders:
Housing - Pruitt-Igoe, Folder 1, 1969-1972
Housing - Pruitt-Igoe, Folder 2, 1969-1972
Housing - Pruitt-Igoe, Closing and Relocation - Folder 1, 1973-1974
Housing - Pruitt-Igoe, Closing and Relocation - Folder 2, 1973-1974
Housing - Pruitt-Igoe, Closing and Relocation - Folder 3, 1973-1974
Housing - Pruitt-Igoe, Environmental Impact Statement, 1973-1974
Housing - Pruitt-Igoe, Bob McCowen, 1973-1974
Housing - Pruitt-Igoe, Proposal for Preparation of a Study for the Redesign and Redevelopment of P-I, 1971
Housing - Pruitt-Igoe, Redevelopment of the Pruitt-Igoe Neighborhood, 1971
Housing - Pruitt-Igoe, Secretary Crawford, 1973
more...less...
The collection is particularly strong in the areas of public housing (especially the administration of the Pruitt-Igoe Housing Project).

In April of 1971 he became Executive Secretary to then-Mayor Alfonso J. Cervantes and continued to serve in that capacity under John H. Poelker (1973-1976). Mayor Poelker delegated to Wilson the responsibility of overseeing the Federal funds which were directed to solving large metropolitan areas.)

Urban League of St. Louis Records (a large collection with relevant sections listed below)

Series 02: Records of M. Leo Bohanon, Executive Director
Box 13 includes:
Housing-Pruitt-Igoe Citizens Advisory Committee
Housing-Public Housing and Social Services
Housing-Publications and Reprints, 1951-1962
Housing-Work of Urban League for Minority Housing, 1961
Series 06: Files of Alvin Wesley, Deputy Director (covers 1967 - 1969)
Box 01 Pruitt-Igoe files (entire box)
Series 08: Files of the Community Organization Department
- This link opens in a new window
Box 06, includes: Neighborhood Station - Pruitt Igoe, 1966-1967

Other Collections:

Ralph and Muriel Pumphreys Papers (Social Work)
- This link opens in a new window
Series 09 (Subject Files), Box 04, Folder "Missouri, (St. Louis [Pruitt-Igoe])"

Published Works: Pruitt-Igoe

The Pruitt-Igoe myth [videorecording] by directed by Chad Freidrichs.
Call Number: HD7304.S2 P78 2011
Publication Date: 2011

Urban decay in St. Louis by Institute for Urban and Regional Studies, Washington University
Call Number: ARCHIV REF HD7304.S2 W37 1972
Publication Date: 1972
Pruitt-Igoe Site: Development Plan by Debnath, Somesh R., Mohe, Satish M.;
Call Number: ARCHIV REF LD 5791.8 M.ARCH & UD 1980 D 43
Publication Date: 1980
A Preliminary Report on Housing and Community Experiences of Pruitt-Igoe Residents by Gouldner, Alvin W., Pittman, David J., Rainwater, Lee;
Call Number: ARCHIV REF HD7288.78.U52 S22 1966
Publication Date: 1966
Evaluation of Model City Priority Projects by Kennedy, Arthur J
Call Number: ARCHIV REF HT177.S33 S84 1974
Publication Date: 1974
Behind Ghetto Walls by Lee Rainwater
Call Number: ARCHIV REF E 185 .86 R 29
ISBN: 0202301133
Publication Date: 1970
The Pruitt-Igoe Public Housing Complex, 1954-1976 by Schmandt, Henry J., Wendel, George D.
Call Number: ARCHIV REF HD7288.78.U52 S23 1976
Publication Date: 1976
Perspectives on Pathology, Socialization, Religion, and World View of Pruitt-Igoe Residents by Jerome Stromberg ; project staff, Alvin W. Gouldner, David J. Pittman, Lee Rainwater.
Call Number: ARCHIV REF E 185.86 .S 78 1966
Publication Date: 1966
Tenant Management Corporations in Saint Louis Public Housing: The Status after Two Years by Wendel, George D.
Call Number: ARCHIV REF HD7288.78.U52 S24 1975
Publication Date: 1975
Rent strike in St. Louis : the making of conflict in modern society by Charles Kimball Cummings
Call Number: Ful Text Online
Publication Date: 1975