Research Guides: St. Louis History Guide: St. Louis Newspapers

St. Louis Newspapers (White predominatly)

Online access (providing wide-span of years)

St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1879 - 1922) Full Text Online
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
http://catalog.wustl.edu:80/record=b3165961~S2
St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1923 - 2003) Full-Text Online
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Also available on microfilm through 1986 at Olin Library http://catalog.wustl.edu:80/record=b2043901~S2
St. Louis Post-Dispatch, 1981 - Current
- This link opens in a new window
Text only for issues 02/16/1981 to present are available via Factiva database.. Under Source, select "St. Louis Post-Dispatch"
more...less...
Limited to six concurrent users; please logout when finished.
Digital Newspapers SHSMO
Click "Search Digital Newspapers" for full text access to 30+ newspapers from St. Louis including:
St. Louis Globe-Democrat (1853-1963)
Neighborhood News (1923-1970)
more...less...
(Note: linked papers from above site cannot be directly navigated to; users must start with link from shsmo.org)

Online, Microfilm and Print Access

Please contact organizations directly for newspapers not from WashU.

Claytonian (1955) Digital
Clayton, St. Louis County
Digitized by St. Louis County Library
Daily Evening Herald and Commercial Advertiser (1835) Digital
early newspaper published in St. Louis.
digitized by UMSL Mercantile Library
St. Louis Weekly Reveille (1945) Digital
Evening Whirl Newspaper Collection (circa 1950 - present ) Print @ WashU Special Collections
- This link opens in a new window
St. Louis crime newspaper from circa 1950 - present
Outlaw (1970 - 1973) Print @ WashU Library Special Collections
- This link opens in a new window
"An independent, radical newspaper." Continued in 1973 by Bridge.
St. Louis Christian Advocate Newspaper (1857-1875) Full Text Online
St. Louis Globe-Democrat (1875 - 1986) Microfilm @ WashU
Access in person via machine viewers, level B of Olin Library
St. Louis Globe-Democrat Clipping Files @ UMSL Mercantile Library
Searchable database of subjects / names. Clippings are not online. Contact UMSL for more information, 314-516-7247
St. Louis Republic (1900 - 1906) Digital
- This link opens in a new window
St. Louis Riverfront Times (1998 - July 2024) Digital
alternative news weekly paper

Additional Newspaper sources

Additional St. Louis newspapers in print available at WashU Libraries
Local Newspapers on Microfilm @ St. Louis County Geneology & History Library
For more information contact: genealogy@slcl.org

St. Louis Newspapers (African American predominatly)

Online access (providing wide-span of years)

For much of the early 20th century the noted African American newspaper, Chicago Defender, also covered near-by St. Louis news, as well as Midwest and national news.

St. Louis Argus (only 1915- 1926) Digital
digitized by local historian and made available via Internet Archive
St. Louis American (1949-1994) online
- This link opens in a new window
Chicago Defender Historical (1905-2010) online
- This link opens in a new window
Search for St. Louis related stories
more...less...
Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.

Online, Microfilm and Print Access

Please contact organizations directly for newspapers not from WashU.

Evening Whirl Newspaper Collection (print) @ WUSTL archives
- This link opens in a new window
St. Louis crime newspaper from circa 1950 - present (available at Special Collections - issues are not online)
Proud (Saint Louis, Mo.) 1970 -1985 Print (bound volumes) @ Missouri History Museum
“The first issue of Proud appeared in January 1970 as a monthly publication oriented toward the St. Louis black urban population. With Betty Lee as Managing Editor, Beverly A. Bishop as Production Manager, and Ernie McMillan as President, Proud's staff published articles and information addressing the needs and interests of the black community. Proud covered topics usually not found in the major daily newspapers, such as black history.”
more...less...
Contact: Missouri History Museum Library & Research Center, 225 S. Skinker (across from Forest Park), St. Louis, Missouri, (314) 746-4500
Also available at Webster University Library (314) 968-6950
St. Louis American 1951 – 1978 Microfilm @ Missouri History Museum
Contact: Missouri History Museum Library & Research Center, 225 S. Skinker (across from Forest Park), St. Louis, Missouri, (314) 746-4500
St. Louis Argus 1915 – 1997 Microfilm @ MO State Historical Society
Reels of microfilm can be requested via ILL for use in Olin Library. See pages 212 - 215 of the linked list to determine the reel number for your request.
more...less...
Contact Interlibrary Loan (ILL) for more information: http://library.wustl.edu/services/ill/
Phone: (314) 935-5442
ill@wumail.wustl.edu
St. Louis Argus 1954 -1982 Microfilm @ WashU Olin Library
1954:Oct.8 -1954:Nov.5 mid issue -1955:Nov.11mid issue, 1955:Nov.11-1955:Dec., 1956:Apr.13-1969:Oct.17,
1970:Mar.-Dec., 1971-1972, 1973:Mar.8-Dec.27,
1974-1982
St. Louis Metro Sentinel. 1971; 1985- 1988 – Microfilm @ Missouri History Museum
Contact: Missouri History Museum Library & Research Center, 225 S. Skinker (across from Forest Park), St. Louis, Missouri, (314) 746-4500
St. Louis Palladium (only 1904) Digital
from Missouri Digital Heritage
St. Louis Palladium 1903 - 1907 Microfilm @ Missouri History Museum
Contact: Missouri History Museum Library & Research Center, 225 S. Skinker (across from Forest Park), St. Louis, Missouri, (314) 746-4500
St. Louis Sentinel 1968 - 1985 on Microfilm @ WUSTL Olin Library

College & University Newspapers (St. Louis Area)

Lindenwood University (St. Charles)
various titles, 1845 - 2010
Maryville University (St. Louis)
various titles, 1920s-1980s
St. Louis University (SLU)
various titles; 1919 - 2010s
University of Illinois - Urbana Champaign
various titles; 1874 - 2010
University of Missouri - St. Louis (USML)
various titles, 1960 - 2010s
Webster University (Webster Groves)
various titles, 1920 - 2008