Archives: International and transregional history

Compton was a Nobel prize-winning physics professor and WU Chancellor (1945 - 1953).

See folders in Series 2, Box 13 for various publications collected by Compton, dating from circa 1945-1956 related to India, Pakistan, and the region, such as "Report on the Session of the 1st Conference for the Indian National Commission for Co-operation with UNESCO, April 9-10, 1949.

See Series 3, Box 4 for Compton's attendance at the first meeting of the United Nations Atomic Energy Commission.

Other materials about UNESCO and the UN are found throughout the collection.

A St. Louis civic leader active in many civic programs, including the women's suffrage movement and a founding member of the National League of Women Voters. She was also active in supporting the creation of the United Nations in the 1940s, and worked for its promotion through the 1950s and 1960s. See Series 02 for materials related to the UN.

A close friend to Eleanor Roosevelt, this collection also contains correspondence between the two women on various topics, including the United Nations (See Series 04, Series 10 and Series 11).

official documents and sales publications, from 1945 to 1993. Their collection is described more fully online. Contact WashU Library Gov Docs staff for more information.

Includes materials from 'Reporting America at War,' with public perceptions of the different wars, as filtered through the media. Covers wars from the Spanish American War through the First Gulf War.

Pertains to the way American segregation affected global public opinion about the U.S. during the Cold War. See especially footage of members of the Little Rock Nine, and answer by Terrence Roberts in particular

Letters from a young Martha Gelhorn to her Grandmother in the 1930s discussing Ernest Hemingway and her earliest years becoming a war correspondent.
(See Series 5, Box 14, Folder "Martha Gellhorn, Letters / Telegrams" and Series 6, Box 15, folder "M.E. Frischell - Letters from Martha Gellhorn" for correspondence.)

Compton was a Nobel prize-winning physics professor and WU Chancellor (1945 - 1953).
See folder in Series 3, Box 7 for UNESCO materials -- Compton was a member of the National Commission to advise the Department of State on Education, Scientific and Cultural cooperation, 1946-1947. File includes text of "Comments on the Basic Human Rights" by Compton, April 30, 1947, Washington University; and a text by A.J. Lien, of Washington University, called "A Fragment of Thoughts Concerning the Nature and the Fulfillment of Human Rights

See Series 2, Box 1, Box 2, and Box 3 for materials on South Africa Apartheid.

This guide contains an overview of collections at University Archives and the WashU Libraries that include primary sources that are broadly related to the war in Vietnam, Cambodia, and Laos (circa 1960-1975). Topics include anti-war protests, environmental issues, and Cold War politics / history.

See Series 2, Box 2, Folder "T" for Trip to Hanoi: Notes on the Enemy Camp by Susan Sontag

Susan Sontag, "Regarding the Pain of Others" #ASL2004-14, March 24, 2004.
Audio cassette recording of Sontag speaking on campus available at University Archives.

Online publication documenting the observations and photographs of anthropologist John W. Bennett.

links to primary documents, and secondary sources

20+ journals available in full text, covering the 1970s-present