A guide to research in Art.
Last Updated: Apr 11, 2014
View of the reading room, by Stan Strembicki.
Rhizome* is a resource for new media art. It is dedicated to the creation, presentation, preservation, and critique of emerging artistic practices that engage technology.
- ArtBase – an online archive of over 2,500 works of digital art
- Artist statements and biographies, reviews and interviews
- Rhizome News and Blog - subscribe to RSS feed
- Commissions, exhibitions, events and discussion
- Curate an online exhibition from the ArtBase, annotate and comment on works
- Create a portfolio or profile and submit work to the ArtBase
*For full access, enter through the library website and create an account using your '@wustl.edu' email.
While some of the resources in this guide are freely available, most
research databases and electronic journals and many online library
services have access restrictions that require that you be a current
Washington University student, faculty member, or staff member. See
this page for help.
- Oxford Art Online
Extensive surveys and in-depth, signed full-text articles on the history of art written by noted scholars. Includes: Grove Dictionary of Art and Benezit Dictionary of Artists.
- Oxford Reference Online
Art & Architecture dictionaries and encyclopedias, including
•Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art
•The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
•A Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art
•A Dictionary of Modern Design
•The Grove Encyclopedia of American Art
- Clara Database of Women Artists
Open access resource from the National Museum of Women in the Arts. Provides authoritative information on over 18,000 women artists.
- African American Visual Artists Database
Open access resource from Tufts University. Provides biographical information, bibliography, exhibition records, and public collection holdings for more than 10,000 African-American artists.
- Arts+Architecture ProFiles (AAP) in Arts: Search
Arts+Architecture ProFiles (AAP) - Biographical dictionary of modern designers, craftspeople, artists and architects
- Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts
Contains over 3,000 articles of decorative arts production in western and non-western cultures over thousands of years. The historic uses of diverse materials are included, art forms and styles defined, and the history of decorative arts are discussed.
- Getty Vocabularies
Getty Vocabularies contain a growing structured terminology for art, architecture, decorative arts and other material culture to be used by catalogers and researchers to enhance access to databases and Web sites.
Encyclopedia of comparative iconography : themes depicted in works of art
Call Number: Art ReferenceN7560 .E53 1998 v. 1-2
Encyclopedia of themes depicted in artworks from the classical period to the 20th century. Entry on "Expulsion" details in part the visual narrative of the expulsion from the Garden of Eden, as depicted in Michelangelo's Sistine Chapel. Excellent resource for researching the use of a theme in a work of art.