WU Chemistry Dept
Chemistry Subject Librarian
Rhiannon Iha
Contact:
Washington University in St. Louis
Olin Library, 124
St. Louis, MO 63130
Phone: 314.935.4818
Email: rkiha@wustl.edu
Olin Library, 124
St. Louis, MO 63130
Phone: 314.935.4818
Email: rkiha@wustl.edu
Subjects: Chemistry
Frequently Used Resources
- SciFinder-n (1907 - ) This link opens in a new windowSciFinder-n is the most comprehensive database for coverage of chemistry & chemical engineering. Sources include 10,000 journals, patents from 61 patent authorities, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, evaluated reference works, technical reports, as well as book reviews and biographical information. Learn more about this database. NOTE: requires user registration. Follow this link to register using your “@wustl.edu” email address - Registration for SciFinder. Learn about using this database off campus
For additional help along with step by step instructions for registering and logging into SciFinder, click here!
- Reaxys This link opens in a new windowFor students in Organic Chemistry. Search by reaction, substance, and/or numeric property data. Integrates all chemical information from the former Beilstein and Gmelin databases. For more information see this Reaxys Overview or Reaxys Quick Reference Guide .
- Web of Science (1900 - ) This link opens in a new windowIf you receive an error message and cannot access the database, try clearing your browser cache and cookies. Science, social science, arts, and humanities citations for scholarly literature. Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. The Libraries subscribe to Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1970-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).
- Google ScholarSearch for your reference on Google Scholar. Look for and click the “Get It! @ WU” link next to each result, not the article title. Use the "Get It! @ WU" link to get the full text via the Libraries’ subscriptions
Find a complete list of chemistry databases provided through the library.
Database and Reference Quick Links
- Cambridge Structural Database (WebCSD) This link opens in a new window To download database, click "more" (below) for instructions. Must enable JavaScript to use. Contains crystal structure information for over 220,000 organic and metal organic compounds.
- Chemical Abstracts (via SciFinder Web) This link opens in a new window Covers journals in chemistry and related fields.Provides access to the Chemical Abstracts and other databases, covering journals in chemistry and related fields. Note: Available on the web, with an individual logon, using your 'wustl.edu' email address. Registration for SciFinder
- CHEMnetBASE This link opens in a new window A collection of chemistry reference works including: Combined Chemical Dictionary (CCD); The Handbook of Chemistry & Physics; Polymers: A Property Database; Properties of Organic Compounds; and CRCPress Periodic Table Online.
- CRCnetBASE This link opens in a new window Over 5,000 full-text books across the sciences, fully searchable and browsable. NOTE that the Libraries subscribe to most but not all the full-text content found on this site. Topics covered include the biomedical sciences, chemical engineering, chemistry, computer science, engineering, environmental science, ergonomics and human factors, food science, forensics and criminal justice, healthcare, information technology, life science, material science, math, medicine, nutrition, pharmaceutical science and regulation, physics, and statistics.
- ChemIDplus This link opens in a new window Structure and nomenclature authority files used for the identification of chemical substances cited in National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases; provides links to many biomedical resources at National Library of Medicine (NLM) and on the Internet for chemicals of interest ranging from helpful drugs to potentially hazardous chemicals.
- Chemistry WebBook (NIST) This link opens in a new window Provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data program.
- Crystallography Open Database This link opens in a new window An open-access collection of crystal structures of organic, inorganic, metal-organic compounds and minerals, excluding biopolymers.
- Inorganic Crystal Structure Database This link opens in a new window FIZ Karlsruhe provides the scientific and the industrial community with the world's largest database for completely identified inorganic crystal structures, ICSD, containing about 193,000 peer-reviewed data entries including their atomic coordinates dating back to 1913. As the world’s leading provider of scientific information on inorganic crystal structures, we take full responsibility for database production, maintenance and quality control, and we ensure that the ICSD database and our software solutions meet the highest possible quality standards. At present, the ICSD contains more than 193,000 entries, including: 2,522 crystal structures of the elements 36,659 records for binary compounds 70,881 records for ternary compounds 69,900 records for quarternary and quintenary compounds About 154,000 entries (80%) have been assigned a structure type. There are currently 9,004 structure prototypes. Note: you will need a username and password to access this database.
- Merck Index For over 120 years The Merck Index has been regarded as the most authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. Now this trusted resource is available online from the Royal Society of Chemistry.
- Protein Data Bank This link opens in a new window Information about experimentally-determined structures of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies.
- PubMed (1946 - ) This link opens in a new window Over 3,500 journals published internationally, covering all areas of medicine. Includes the entire Medline database (1966+) PLUS PreMedline (recent articles that are not yet fully indexed for Medline) and links to publisher full-text web sites and other databases. Learn more about this database
- Scopus This link opens in a new window The world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Contains over 46 million records, 70% with abstracts, and also includes over 4.6 million conference papers. NOTE: Click "Institutions" icon in right corner. Change organization to Washington University in St Louis John M Olin Library, Danforth Campus.
- Spectral Database For Organic Compounds (SDBS) This link opens in a new window An integrated spectral database system for organic compounds, which includes 6 different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds. Since 1997, SDBS has opened to the public with free of charge through TACC (Tsukuba Advanced Computing Center) as RIO-DB (Research Information Data Base). The six spectra are as follows, an electron impact Mass spectrum (EI-MS), a Fourier transform infrared spectrum (FT-IR), a 1H nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectrum, a 13C NMR spectrum, a laser Raman spectrum, and an electron spin resonance (ESR) spectrum.
Click for a complete list of chemistry databases