Resources for Looking Up Chemical and Physcial Properties
The following resources provide information regarding the chemical and physical properties of commonly used compounds and reagents. Depending on the resource, compounds can be searched for by name, CAS number, structure, physical properties, or other identifiers.
- Pub Chem This link opens in a new windowAn easy to use database for finding chemical information from authoritative sources
- Chemistry WebBook (NIST) This link opens in a new windowProvides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data program.
- ChemSpider This link opens in a new windowA free chemical structure database providing fast access to over 32 million structures, properties, and associated information.
- ChemIDplus This link opens in a new windowStructure and nomenclature authority files used for the identification of chemical substances cited in National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases; provides links to many biomedical resources at National Library of Medicine (NLM) and on the Internet for chemicals of interest ranging from helpful drugs to potentially hazardous chemicals.
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and PhysicsA foundational data reference book used by scientists which includes physical property information for both organic and inorganic compounds.
- Merck IndexFor over 120 years The Merck Index has been regarded as the most authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. Now this trusted resource is available online from the Royal Society of Chemistry.
- Dictionary of Organic CompoundsContains information on the physical properties of more than 300,000 organic compounds.
- Properties of Organic CompoundsContains information about some of the most common organic compounds long with information on structure, physical data, and some spectral data.
- Sigma Aldrich CatalogSigma Aldrich is a chemical company that supplies many reagents, and can provide information the physical properties of reagents along with their health, safety, and toxicity data. Additionally spectral information for some compounds can also be accessed.
Resources for Chemical Safety, Toxicity, and Hazard Information
Since many chemicals used in lab are purchased through Sigma Aldrich, their catalog is an excellent resource for obtaining information on chemical and physical properties along with important safety information and complete material safety data sheets (MSDS).
- Sigma Aldrich CatalogSigma Aldrich is a chemical company that supplies many reagents, and can provide information the physical properties of reagents along with their health, safety, and toxicity data. Additionally spectral information for some compounds can also be accessed.
ChemIDPlus Provides information on physical properties, toxicity, and regulatory information. Its upports compound searches by name, formula, structure, registry number, physical properties, and toxicity.
- Chem ID PlusProvides information on physical properties and toxicity information. Supports compound searches by name, formula, structure, registry number, physical properties, and toxicity.
- Pub Chem This link opens in a new windowAn easy to use database for finding chemical information from authoritative sources