Sources for Writing an Artist's Statement
BOOKS
Art
recollection : artists' interviews and statements in the nineties / edited
by Gabriele Detterer
Published New York : Distributed in the U.S. by D.A.P.,
1999. 2nd ed.
Includes writings by John
Baldessari, Matthew Barney, Dan Graham, Damien Hirst, Jenny Holzer, Bill Viola,
Rachel Whiteread & others
Modern Arts
Criticism: a biographical and critical guide to painters, sculptors,
photographers and architects from the beginning of the modern era to the
present / edited by Joann Prosyniuk
Published Detroit : Gale Research,
1991. 4 volumes.
M.A.C. includes examples of
artist statements from all phases of an artist's career. At the end of each
entry a Further Reading section lists
supplemental writings by the artist.
A
Short Guide to Writing About Art / Sylvan Barnet
Published New York :
Longman, 2003.
Offers several approaches to
organizing one's ideas when writing art criticism
Twentieth-century
artists on art : an index to writings, statements, and interviews by
artists,
architects, and designers / Jack S. Robertson
Published New York : G.K.
Hall ; London : Prentice Hall International, c1996. 2nd ed.
An international index to artist writings which covers 5,000
artists
Visual
Literacy: Writing about Art
Visual Literacy acquaints readers with
the critical issues that shape the discipline of art and teaches them to write
about art from a variety of scholarly and rhetorical perspectives. Includes tips
on how to approach assignments such as, the formal analysis of a work of art,
the contextual analysis of a work of art, and an analysis of an
exhibition.
Words
Fail Me : what everyone who writes should know about writing / Patricia T.
O'Connor
Published New York : Harcourt Brace, c1999.
A very readable guide to the process of writing. Topics include:
defining one's subject & audience, getting organized, making revisions,
finishing.
World
Artists 1950-1980 Editor: Marks, Claude. New York : H.W. Wilson, 1984.
World
Artists 1980-1990 Editor: Marks, Claude. New York : H.W. Wilson,
1991.
These two volumes include biographical
/critical essays on renowned artists along with excerpts from artist
statements.
ARTICLES
"Artists'
Statements". 12 Digital Artist's Statements from the 9th New York Digital
Salon
Leonardo, Volume 34, Number 5, October 2001, pp. 523-526.
Goodwin, A. "Writing an Artist's Statement" Ceramics Monthly,
vol.47 no.5 pp.39-40 May '99
Miller, Joe. "How to Write an Artist's
Statement" Art Papers, vol.21 p.35 Sept/Oct 1997
Schreiber,
Barbara. "The War of the Words" Art Papers, vol.25 no.2 p.10 March/April
2001
* These last three articles are available in their
entirety in Art Full
Text. Search "artist's statement" as title words or search by
individual authors.
DICTIONARIES, ENCYCLOPEDIAS, THESAURI
Getty Art &
Architecture Thesaurus
Provides terminology
and other information about the objects, concepts, artists, and places important
to various disciplines that specialize in these subjects - Begin with a combined
scope note and term search.
Artlex
An online arts
dictionary which gives visual examples in addition to textual
definitions
Artspeak
: a guide to contemporary ideas, movements, and buzzwords, 1945 to the
present / Robert Atkins
Published New York : Abbeville Press, 1997. 2nd
ed.
More than 115 entries explain the who, what,
when, and where of art since 1945. Some entries deal with concepts, such as
formalism, multiculturalism, and the picture plane; some discuss specific
movements, such as Abstract Expressionism and Fluxus; some describe various ways
of making art, such as collage, performance, and video. Together they provide an
invaluable key to the specialized, often baffling vocabulary so often used in
today's art world.
Encyclopedia
of aesthetics / Michael Kelly, editor in
chief
Published New York : Oxford University Press, 1998. 4
volumes.
Surveys the full breadth of critical thought on art, culture,
and society--from classical philosophy to contemporary critical theory -
Featuring 600 original articles, it is a comprehensive survey of major concepts,
thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of all the
arts.
Grove
Dictionary of Art Online
A comprehensive and
authoritative guide with extensive surveys and in-depth articles on the history
of art. This online version of the Grove Dictionary of Art provides external
image links to museums, galleries, & art collections around the world.
Merriam-Webster Online Collegiate Dictionary and
Thesaurus
Oxford English Dictionary
Online
Each entry includes a pronunciation
key, variant spellings, etymology, quotations, & date
chart.
WRITING FORMATS - STYLE
MANUALS
Citing Online
Sources according to MLA, Chicago Style, etc.
MLA
handbook for writers of research papers, theses, and dissertations / Joseph
Gibaldi
Published New York : Modern Language Association of America, 1999.
5th ed.
The
New York Public Library writer's guide to style and usage
Published New
York : HarperCollins, c1994, 1st ed.
Librarian |
Kasia Leousis![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Art & Architecture LIbrary
Kemper Museum Building
314-935-4377
Send Email
Subjects:
Art History, Studio Arts, Romance Languages & Literatures
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait