Art Exhibition ReviewsDatabasesFull Text
Art Book Reviews
Print Reference
Art History Ceramic Materials (ART 1131)Illustrated Bartsch Modern Graphic History Library Painting Top 10 Resources for Art StudentsWriting an Artist's Statement
Finding Digital Images 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Washington University Libraries Save Time! Ask Us

Art  Tags: art studio_arts fine_arts  

A guide to research in Art.
Last update: Sep 08th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.wustl.edu/art  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Career/Funding/Grants             Print Page
  
 

Arts Organizations

Art & Design Associations - links to over 560 associations whose members are interested in a variety of visual arts, architecture, design, & allied fields

College Art Association includes among its members those who by vocation or avocation are concerned about and/or committed to the practice of art, teaching,
& research of and about the visual arts & humanities

Museum Computer Network - a nonprofit organization of professionals dedicated to fostering the cultural aims of museums through the use of computer technologies

 

Professional Development

College Art Association, CAA

Manhattan Arts International

Smithsonian Institute--museum studies training & internships

The Getty Foundation--grants

White Box--visual artists and curatorial internships

Alliance of Artists Communities--residencies

Non-profit Art Organizations & Art Centers

Art in Context--at Carnegie Mellon University's Center for Arts Management and Technology

 

 

 
 

Career Resources

CAA Career Development -includes recommended curriculum vitae conventions for art historians, museum professionals and studio art majors

Art/Art Related Careers - compiled by the State University of New York

Occupational Outlook Handbook - education, earnings, related fields

Peterson's Professional Degree Programs in the Visual & Performing Arts

 

Scholarships-National & Regional

National /International Sources

Alliance of Artists Communities- choose Residencies, then view by Artistic Category or by Region. Also look at the Links

Art DEADLINES List

Center for Advanced Study in the Visual Arts
section-Service Organizations and Resources for Artists

College Art Association - Grants & Fellowships

COS, Community of Science Database of funding opportunities in the sciences, humanities, and fine arts. For private funding sources, you may need Alumni and Development office clearance.

The Foundation Center

IRIS Grants Database - search by discipline and view the upcoming deadlines list by subject area

Grants.gov to find funding opportunities through the National Endowment for the Arts and the National Endowment for the Humanities

New York Foundation for the Arts NYFA is the largest provider of grants, services, and information to artists working in all disciplines in the United States

ResArtis - International Association of Residential Arts Centres

Sabbatical Homes helping academic communities around the world find or list houses or apartments for rent, exchange or house-sit when on a sabbatical leave, research trip, exchange program, relocation or vacations

Regional/State-wide Sources

Arts in Transit

Arts & Education Council of Greater St. Louis

Missouri Arts Council

St. Louis Gateway Arts

St. Louis Regional Arts Commission

 

Funding Directories & Guides

 

The art GAID directory : art competitions, grants & residencies of the world, 2003 / [director, Gabriel Clark-Brown].
Cape Town, South Africa : Global Art Information, c2003.
Art Reference           N393 .A66 2003                

Artists & writers colonies : retreats, residencies, and respites for the creative mind / researched, edited, and written by Robyn Middleton ... [et al.].
Portland, Ore. : Blue Heron Pub., c2000.
Art Reference           NX110 .B695 2000              
 
Artist's resource : the Watson-Guptill guide to academic programs, artists' colonies and artist-in-residence programs, conferences, workshops / Karen S. Chambers.
New York : Watson-Guptill Publications, c1999.
Art Reference           N8600 .C49 1999               

Foundation Center's guide to proposal writing / Jane C. Geever.
New York : The Foundation Center, c2007.
Art Reference HG177.5.U6 G44 2007

Foundation Fundamentals / Sarah Collins, editor
New York : Foundation Center, c2008.
Art Reference HV41.9.U5 F686 2008

Getting funded : the complete guide to writing grant proposals / Mary Hall and Susan Howlett.
Portland, Or. : Continuing Education Press, Extended Studies, Portland State University, 2003.
Art Reference HG177.5.U6 H355 2003

Grant$ for arts, culture & the humanities.
[New York] : Foundation Center, c1990-
Art Reference           AZ188.U5 G68 2005/2006
      
Guide to getting arts grants / Ellen Liberatori.
New York : Allworth Press, c2006.
Art Reference           NX705.5.U6 L53 2006           
 
Money for visual artists / researched by Douglas Oxenhorn.
New York : American Council for the Arts ; copublished with
Allworth Press, c1993.
Art Reference           N347 M66 1993      
          
National directory of arts internships.
[Valencia] : California Institute of the Arts, 1985-
Art Reference           NX396.6 .N38 2003/2004 (ed.9) 
 
Smithsonian opportunities for research and study in history, art, science.
Washington, D.C. : Smithsonian Institution Press, 1972-
Art Reference           Q11.S8 S86 2007/2008         

Winning grants : step by step / Mim Carlson, Tori O'Neal-McElrath, and the Alliance for Nonprofit Management.
San Francisco, CA : Jossey-Bass, c2008.
Art Reference HG177 .C374 2008

 

Librarian

Profile ImageKasia Leousis


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Art & Architecture LIbrary
Kemper Museum Building
314-935-4377
Send Email

Subjects:
Art History, Studio Arts, Romance Languages & Literatures

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait