Databases by Topic
Legal Databases - Law School Only
- Bloomberg Law This link opens in a new window Available by individual password to current Law School students, faculty and staff.
- Fastcase This link opens in a new window Fastcase is a collection of federal and state cases, statutes, regulations, court rules, and constitutions Access limited to members of the Washington University School of Law faculty, staff and students
- Lexis Plus This link opens in a new window Available by individual password to current Law School students, faculty and staff.
- PLI Plus This link opens in a new window Contains Practising Law Institute’s PLI Press publications including their Treatises, Course Handbooks, Journals, Answer Books, Forms & Checklists and Program Transcripts. Access restricted to WU Law School
- West Academic Study Aids This link opens in a new window The West Academic Study Aids Collection provides access to hundreds of study aids, audiobooks and lectures, and interactive practice questions. Includes Acing Series, Black Letter Outlines, Concepts and Insights, Concise Hornbook Series, Gilberts, Flash Cards, Law Stories, Nutshells, Sum and Substance Audio & more. Access limited to WU Law School
- Westlaw This link opens in a new window Available by individual password to current Law School students, faculty and staff.
Periodicals
- Academic Search Complete (1975-present) This link opens in a new window Covers topics in most areas of academic study. Full-text provided for over 10,000 publications, with over 7,850 peer-reviewed. Abstracts and indexing available for over 13,780 journals in the collection.
- Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection This link opens in a new window Comprehensive full-text coverage of accounting and tax topics appearing in key industry publications and newspapers, including all journals from the American Accounting Association. Learn more about this database.
- China Academic Journals Database (Series F, G, H, J) (1906 - ) This link opens in a new window A periodical database with access to numerous Chinese language periodicals published in or after 1906. A PDF viewer with a Chinese simplified language pack is required to view articles.
- Factiva (6 users) This link opens in a new window Combines more than 35,000 sources for access to premium content from 200 countries in 26 languages. Worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, web and social media, tweets, digital video and audio clips, analyst reports, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data. Limited to 6 simultaneous users; logoff when finished. Learn more about this database
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window Full text. Journal index. More than 900 searchable full-text law journals and many legal resources, including the Code of Federal Regulations, United States Code, and U.S. Statutes at Large. Campus-wide access is due to subscription by the WU Law Library.
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- Index to Legal Periodicals & Books This link opens in a new window Indexing and full text of over 1,025 legal journals, law reviews, yearbooks, institutes, statutes, bar association publications, university publications, and government publications.
- Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective 1908-1981 This link opens in a new window Indexes legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand between 1908 and 1981.
Newspapers & Current Awareness
- Law360 This link opens in a new window Law360 is a current awareness service covering federal Appellate, Bankruptcy, Class Action, Competition, Contract, Corporate Finance, Employment, Energy, Environmental, Financial Services, Government Contracts, Health, Insurance, Intellectual Property, International Trade, Product Liability, Securities, Southeast, Technology, Top News and White Collar litigation. State litigation was also recently added under the following headings: California, Midwest, New York, and Texas. Access Limited to Members of the WU Law School Community
- New York Times (Current) This link opens in a new window Create an account using your wustl.edu email address. See the New York Times Libguide and FAQ. To register for an account, 1. Follow the link to accessnyt.com 2. Type and select "Washington University - Saint Louis” in the box. 3. Create account and complete registration fields.
- Wall Street Journal (current) This link opens in a new window The Libraries have partnered with Olin Business School to provide online access to the Wall Street Journal. To access, go to WSJ.com/WUSTL. Log in with your WUSTL key and create an account using your WUSTL email as your user ID. Users will be asked to re-authenticate once a year and may receive an email from WSJ requesting this.
Foreign & International
- PKU LAW (Chinese Site) This link opens in a new window Chinese primary and secondary legal sources in Chinese & English (cases, laws, regulations, articles). Access restricted to WU Law School.
- PKU Law (China Law Info) (English Site) This link opens in a new window Chinese primary and secondary legal sources in Chinese & English (cases, laws, regulations, articles); Database does not work will with Firefox. Access restricted to WU Law School.
- Foreign Law Guide This link opens in a new window Foreign Law Guide (FLG) offers information on sources of foreign law, including complete bibliographic citations to legislation, the existence of English translations and selected references to secondary sources in one virtual destination. Broad in content and global in scope, the FLG is an indispensable resource for comparative law research and a fundamental tool for developing a foreign and comparative law collection. Approximately 190 jurisdictions are systemically covered and updated by a global team of experts.
- Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law, 1600-1926 This link opens in a new window Consists of treatises and monographs handling such subject areas of International Law, Comparative Law, Foreign Law and some others.
- Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources 1600-1970 This link opens in a new window A digital collection of superseded foreign statutes and commentaries and analysis from a number of European, Latin American, United Kingdom & other countries. Analogous Canon and Roman law materials are also included. The materials are in English, Dutch, French, German, Irish, and Italian. This archive features some of the most important historical sources of world civil law and jurisprudence, as well as basic materials from a number of common-law jurisdictions.
- Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law This link opens in a new window Contains peer-reviewed articles on every aspect of international law. This definitive reference work contains both the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law and the Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law. Provides cutting edge research on both the substance and the procedure of international law and includes information on issues, procedures, instruments, institutions, and decisions within international law, covering subjects from air law and the law of outer space, to the use of force, war, peace, and neutrality. Includes links to primary documents and other commentary through the Oxford Law Citator. Access Limited to Members of the WU Law School Community.
- Oxford Handbooks Online - Law This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Reports on International Law (ORIL) This link opens in a new window ORIL integrates important decisions on public international law from international courts and tribunals, domestic courts and ad hoc tribunals. Our subscription includes the International Investment Claims, International Human Rights Law, International Criminal Law, and the International Law in Domestic Courts modules. Case reports with headnotes, summary of case facts and judicial holdings, analytical commentary from scholarly experts, translations of non-English judgments, and a list of cases and instruments cited are included with the opinions. There are also links to related Oxford online content via the Oxford Law Citator. Access Limited to Members of the WU Law School Community
- vLex This link opens in a new window European Package Core plus France, Italy and Spain Premium Cores, EU Core (Eurolex), and Portugal Premium Core Law School Only
Historical
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window Full text. Journal index. More than 900 searchable full-text law journals and many legal resources, including the Code of Federal Regulations, United States Code, and U.S. Statutes at Large. Campus-wide access is due to subscription by the WU Law Library.
- Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources, Parts I and II This link opens in a new window A fully searchable digital archive of the published records of the American colonies, documents published by state constitutional conventions, state codes, city charters, law dictionaries, digests and more.
- Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926 This link opens in a new window The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926 provides digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Full-text searching on more than 10 million pages provides researchers access to critical legal history in ways not previously possible.
- Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926 This link opens in a new window Based on holdings of the law libraries of Harvard and Yale, and the Library of the Bar of the City of New York, the product offers online access to these important collections.
- Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources 1600-1970 This link opens in a new window A digital collection of superseded foreign statutes and commentaries and analysis from a number of European, Latin American, United Kingdom & other countries. Analogous Canon and Roman law materials are also included. The materials are in English, Dutch, French, German, Irish, and Italian. This archive features some of the most important historical sources of world civil law and jurisprudence, as well as basic materials from a number of common-law jurisdictions.
- Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law, 1600-1926 This link opens in a new window Consists of treatises and monographs handling such subject areas of International Law, Comparative Law, Foreign Law and some others.
- Actes Royaux Francais, 1256 - 1794 (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new window Approximately 16,000 pamphlets covering the financial, political, and social history of France from the late 13th century to the end of the monarchy are available in this collection.
- Adams Papers Digital Edition (Rotunda) This link opens in a new window Correspondence, legal papers, diaries, and state papers centering on American statesman and president John Adams. Contents are fully annotated, cross-referenced, and searchable.
- Archive Finder This link opens in a new window Directory describing numerous collections of primary source material housed throughout English-speaking regions.
- ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window ArchiveGrid includes over 7 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. Over 1,400 archival institutions are represented.
- Artemis This link opens in a new window Integrated research environment that allows users search across Gale primary source collections. Artemis Primary Sources allows users analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools, supported by intuitive subject-indexing.
- Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945) This link opens in a new window Covers such subjects as post-Civil War reconstruction, the passage of the 14th Amendment, the purging of “Rebels” from the legislature, the giving—then denying—of the right to vote to former slaves, and the passing of economic policies that changed the South and the United States forever. Learn more about this database
- Immigrations, Migrations, and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941 - 1996 This link opens in a new window News and analysis from reports gathered every day between the early 1940s and 1996 by a U.S. government organization that became part of the CIA. These include translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals and government documents. Additionally, the archive contains one-of-a-kind analysis of the reports.
- LLMC Digital This link opens in a new window An extensive collection of over 7000 digitized titles covering approximately 400 jurisdictions worldwide. The content is overwhelmingly in the public domain, with other sources made available with permission. Includes federal and state materials from the U.S. and provincial materials from Canada. Europe, Africa, and South America are also widely represented. LLMC is a non-profit cooperative of libraries dedicated to the twin goals of, preserving legal titles and government documents, while making copies inexpensively available digitally through its on-line service LLMC-Digital. LLMC provides libraries with a reliable and budget-friendly source of digital replacement when their older, physically deteriorating books became too burdensome to store given diminished use. While aiding libraries in their preservation and space recovery programs, it also provides an economical way to complete retrospective collections.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focused on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. Collections for this program are sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, and content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Includes 9,500 English, French and German literature titles of the Romantic era.
Statutes, Regulations, & Legislative History
- Congress.gov This link opens in a new window Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service. Congress.gov is usually updated the morning after a session adjourns.
- Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window Legislative Insight provides legislative histories with digital full-text publications. It contains over 27,000 legislative histories for federal laws, including some enacted as far back as 1789. It only includes congressional publications that are related to bills enacted into law that are included in this database. For other full-text congressional documents, see ProQuest Congressional.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information. Includes: CIS Legislative Histories (public laws back to 1969), Congressional publications (1817 - ), testimony from Congressional hearings (1824-), Congressional Record and Federal Register, U.S. Serial Set, 1789-1969, Serial Set Maps, 1789-1969, and more. Learn more about this database
- Regulatory Insight This link opens in a new window Regulatory Insight continues the research process into administrative rule-making. Many statutory laws are implemented via the promulgation of administrative rules and Regulatory Insight provides administrative law histories organized by public law and including Federal Register entries with direct legal basis in the Public Law, controlled vocabulary subject indexing harmonized with Legislative Insight and multiple display and limiting options.
- U. S. Code This link opens in a new window A consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws [public laws] of the United States.
