Medieval and Early Modern Studies

Blackwell, 2009
Drawing on the expertise of 26 distinguished scholars, this important volume covers the major issues in the study of medieval Europe, highlighting the significant impact the time period had on cultural forms and institutions central to European identity. Examines changing approaches to the study of medieval Europe, its periodization, and central themes Includes coverage of important questions such as identity and the self, sexuality and gender, emotionality and ethnicity, as well as more traditional topics such as economic and demographic expansion; kingship; and the rise of the West Explores Europe's understanding of the wider world to place the study of the medieval society in a global context

Excellent introduction to the interdisciplinary subjects of the Medieval period.

New York : Facts On File, c2006

New York: Scribner's in Association with the Renaissance Society of America, 1996.

Zürich : Artemis Verlag, [1977-1999]

Alphabetical and thematic list of entries. Includes maps and illustrations, each entry provides a bibliography for further reading. Covers the Islamic Middle Ages from the sixth through seventeenth centuries and the geographic regions of Northern Africa, Middle East, and South Asia.

Washington, D.C.: Catholic University Press of America, 1996
A new standard guide to the Latin language and literature of the period from C.A.D 200 to 1500. Comprehensive in scope, this guide to the learned lingua franca of western Europe satisfies a longstanding need for a reference tool in English that focusses on medieval latinity in all of its specialized aspects. It provides introductions to, and bibliographic orientations in, all the main areas of Medieval Latin language, literature, and scholarship.