While some of the resources in this guide are freely available, most research databases and electronic journals and many online library services have access restrictions that require that you be a current Washington University student, faculty member, or staff member. See this page for help.
Thousands of journals and other publications covering most subjects.
Full-page images of US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater, as well as film fan magazines and music press titles. Primary sources from the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.
Journals, books, images and primary sources.
Journals on language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric, writing studies, folklore, film, theater, and other dramatic arts. Includes the MLA Thesaurus and the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
A large index of English-language plays published individually or in collections from antiquity to the present. Access is limited to 1 user at a time. Please log out when you are finished.
Survey of current publications related to film scholarship and detailed filmographies. Includes AFI Catalog, FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and Film Index International.
Content includes documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc. covering a range of subject areas.
Over 1,100 (mostly unpublished) scripts. Also includes detailed and fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts, and facsimile images for more than 500 of these screenplays. Gift of Mary Wickes in honor of her parents Isabella & Frank Wickenhauser.
Contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights since the 19th Century, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Some 50% of these plays have never been published before. Database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
Contains many plays and their corresponding ephemera, both published and previously unpublished. Gift of Mary Wickes in honor of her parents Isabella & Frank Wickenhauser.
Contains 1,517 plays by 330 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. More than 30% of the plays in the collection have never been published before. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. Gift of Mary Wickes in honor of her parents Isabella & Frank Wickenhauser.
OntheBoards.tv offers high-quality videos of full-length performances by some of today's most provocative artists working in dance, theater, music and other forms that defy categorization.
Architectural documents from the Globe Theatre reconstruction, as well as prompt books, photographs, and other material from performances at the Globe from 1997 to 2016.
Thirty plays recorded live on the Globe stage.
Canadian and American theater resources, including books, encyclopedias, images, flyers, playbills, postcards, and scrapbooks. Includes O’Dell’s Annals of the New York Stage, the Oxford Companion series, and Greenwood’s American Theatre Companies series.
This edition of Twentieth Century North American Drama contains 2,059 plays by 434 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
