This authoritative dictionary provides concise and informative entries across the whole field of linguistics. Coverage includes the areas of grammar, phonetics, semantics, languages, dialects, and sociolinguistics.
"rings together state-of-the-art reviews of reading research from leading names in the field, to create a highly authoritative, multidisciplinary overview of contemporary knowledge about reading and related skills."
" provides detailed information about the world's forty major languages for linguists and lay readers. Alphabetically arranged, first by language family and then by individual language, the essays delineate history, distribution, syntax, grammar and pronunciation, writing and spelling systems, standards of usage, and other aspects of the individual languages. The volume begins with a general introduction to language and language families; in addition, each language-family section is introduced by a general discussion." via Ebrary
Comprehensive reference work cataloging all of the world's known living languages. Languages are listed alphabetically by primary name under the country of the main population. Information includes alternate names, dialects, number of speakers, multilingualism, and other demographic and sociolinguistic information, if known.
The study of linguistics makes connections across a wide array of scholarly concerns, from the humanities to many of the social and behavioral sciences to biology, physics, engineering, and even medicine. The study of language is central to a large number of rapidly advancing fields, such as neuroscience, cognitive science, and computer science.
This bibliography presents the literature on the systematic issues involved in research on word formation, etymology, semasiology, onomasiology, and loanword strata in all Indo-Germanic languages, past and present, in as complete a way as possible. It is designed not only as a resource for Indo-Germanic studies proper but is of equal relevance to classical studies, Germanic studies, English studies, Romance studies, Slavonic studies, and Indology. Various indexes guide the reader through the extensive material.
"includes in excess of 5,100 terms, grouped into over 3,000 entries; coverage reflects recommendations by a team of experts in phonetics, phonology, syntax, semantics, sociolinguistcs and psycholinguistic, making it exceptionally comprehenisve; incorporates new ideas stemming from the minimalist program; contains a separate table of abbreviations and table of symbols, along with an updated International Phonetic Alphabet; and updates entries to reflect the way established terms are now perceived in light of changes in the field, providing a unique insight into the historical development of linguisitcs."
This volume provides an up-to-date and comprehensive reference guide to the key concepts, ideas, movements and trends of applied linguistics for language teaching. With over 300 entries of varying length, the volume includes essential coverage of language, language learning and language teaching. Written in an accessible style, the entries draw attention to the practical teaching implications of the ideas under discussion, and contain selected bibliographical information for further guided reading
"The Oxford Handbook of Applied Linguistics is the first reference of its kind, containing forty original chapters on a broad range of topics in applied linguistics by a diverse group of contributors. Its goal is to provide a comprehensive survey of the current state of the field, the manyconnections among its various sub-disciplines, and the likely directions of its future development. The Oxford Handbook of Applied Linguistics addresses a broad audience: applied linguists; educators and other scholars working in language acquisition, language learning, language planning, teaching,and testing; and linguists concerned with applications of their work. Early applied linguistics was predominantly associated with language-teaching. While this relationship continues, the field has long since diversified, becoming increasingly inter-related and multi-disciplinary. The volume addresses the diversity of questions facing applied linguists today: What isthe place of applied linguistics in the architecture of the university? Where does applied linguistics fit into the sociology of knowledge? What are the questions that applied linguistics ought to be addressing? What are the dominant paradigms guiding research in the field? What kinds of problemscan be solved through the mediation of applied linguistics? What aspects of linguistics can be empirically applied to language-based problems, and what spaces resist such application? What will new students of applied linguistics need to know in the coming years? Systematically encompassing the major areas of applied linguistics-and drawing from a wide range of disciplines such as education, language policy, bi- and multi-lingualism, literacy, language and gender, psycholinguistics/cognition, language and computers, discourse analysis, language andconcordinances, ecology of language, pragmatics, translation, psycholinguistics and cognition, and many other fields-the editors and contributors to The Oxford Handbook of Applied Linguistics provide a panoramic and comprehensive look at this complex and vigorous field."
"In the past decade, Cognitive Linguistics has developed into one of the most dynamic and attractive frameworks within theoretical and descriptive linguistics The Oxford Handbook of Cognitive Linguistics is a major new reference that presents a comprehensive overview of the main theoreticalconcepts and descriptive/theoretical models of Cognitive Linguistics, and covers its various subfields, theoretical as well as applied. The first twenty chapters give readers the opportunity to acquire a thorough knowledge of the fundamental analytic concepts and descriptive models of Cognitive Linguistics and their background. The book starts with a set of chapters discussing different conceptual phenomena that are recognized askey concepts in Cognitive Linguistics: prototypicality, metaphor, metonymy, embodiment, perspectivization, mental spaces, etc. A second set of chapters deals with Cognitive Grammar, Construction Grammar, and Word Grammar, which, each in their own way, bring together the basic concepts into aparticular theory of grammar and a specific model for the description of grammatical phenomena. Special attention is given to the interrelation between Cognitive and Construction Grammar. A third set of chapters compares Cognitive Linguistics with other forms of linguistic research (functionallinguistics, autonomous linguistics, and the history of linguistics), thus giving a readers a better grip on the position of Cognitive Linguistics within the landscape of linguistics at large. The remaining chapters apply these basic notions to various more specific linguistic domains, illustrating how Cognitive Linguistics deals with the traditional linguistic subdomains (phonology, morphology, lexicon, syntax, text and discourse), and demonstrating how it handles linguistic variationand change. Finally they consider its importance in the domain of Applied Linguistics, and look at interdisciplinary links with research fields such as philosophy and psychology. With a well-known cast of contributors from around the world, this reference work will be of interest to researchers and advanced students in (cognitive) linguistics, psychology, cognitive science, and anthropology."
"International experts contribute 38 chapters covering major concepts, methods, and applications for computational linguistics. The handbook provides a current reference on the field for use by a wide range of linguists as well as researchers and students in artificial intelligence, infomatics, language engineering, translation, and cognitive science. Structured with a progression from theory to application, the handbook begins with the main areas of linguistics and varied topics in mathematical linguistics. The book then covers the tasks, methods, and resources in and required for automatic language processing. Later chapters cover real-world applications of computational linguistics techniques. The book is cross-referenced and includes a glossary"