Research Guides: A Guide to Linguistics Resources: Data & Corpora

Research Data Online

CHILDES
Child Language Data Exchange System
English Lexicon Project
Linguistics Data Consortium (LDC)
The Linguistic Data Consortium (LDC) is an open consortium of universities, libraries, corporations and government research laboratories that creates and distributes a wide array of language resources, including both free datasets and datasets for purchase. To find out more and inquire about purchasing/accessing datasets, contact Lino Mioni (lino@wustl.edu), Subject Librarian for Linguistics, or Sarah Swanz (sswanz@wustl.edu), Data Services Librarian.
Max Planck Institute for Linguistics: Data & Corpora
Michigan Corpus of Academic Spoken English
Database of transcriptions
MRC Psycholinguistic Database
"The MRC Psycholinguistic Database is a machine usable dictionary containing 150837 words with up to 26 linguistic and psycholinguistic attributes for each"
Open Language Archives Community (OLAC)
"OLAC, the Open Language Archives Community, is an international partnership of institutions and individuals who are creating a worldwide virtual library of language resources by: (i) developing consensus on best current practice for the digital archiving of language resources, and (ii) developing a network of interoperating repositories and services for housing and accessing such resources. "
Speech Accent Archive
TalkBank
Collection of databases for the study of human and animal communication
WordNet
a large lexical database of English

Language and Location: A Map Annotation Project (LL-Map)
Eastern Michigan University & Stockholm University
more...less...
"LL-MAP is a project designed to integrate language information with data from the physical and social sciences by means of a Geographical Information System (GIS). The most important part of the project will be a language subsystem, which will relate geographical information on the area in which a language is or has been spoken to data on resources relevant to the language. Through a link to the Multi-Tree project, information on all proposed genetic relationships of the languages will also be made available and viewable in a geographic context. Ultimately, the system will include ancillary information on topography, political boundaries, demographics, climate, vegetation, and wildlife, thus providing a basis upon which to build hypotheses about language movement across territory. Some cultural information, e.g., on religion, ethnicity, and economics, will also be included. "
World Atlas of Language Structures
edited by Martin Haspelmath, Matthew S. Dryer, David Gil and Bernard Comrie (Munich: Max Planck Digital Library, 2008)
more...less...
"a large database of structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages gathered from descriptive materials (such as reference grammars."