Top Math Databases
If your topic is well-researched or specialized, we recommend using a discipline-specific database. When you work in an area that is well established, there will be an abundance of relevant research available. A discipline-specific database will allow you to focus in on that research.
- MathSciNet (1940 - ) via American Mathematical Society (AMS) This link opens in a new windowIndex to Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications; plus some cites 1826-1939 added from the World Digital Mathematics Library (WDML).
- arXiv This link opens in a new windowE-prints in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology.
- Current Index to Statistics (1975 - ) This link opens in a new windowOpen access bibliographic index to publications in statistics, probability, and related fields.
NOTE: This database does not have the Get It! service for full-text links. To see if full-text is available in another database, search the eBooks & eJournals list or the Classic Catalog. - Project Euclid : Mathematics & Statistics Online This link opens in a new windowFull-text journals, monographs, and conference proceedings in the fields of theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics. WU has access to most of the content.
- Zentralblatt MATHFree, citation-check only access; we only get 3 results on any search because we are not subscribers but this can be very useful if you have some info. 1868+ coverage.
For topics in applied math, consider tools for those disciplines, such as Engineering, Economics, Business, etc. See the Find Articles sections of those subject Research Guides.
Additional Math Databases
- AMS Open Math NotesRepository of freely downloadable mathematical works in progress hosted by the American Mathematical Society. It contains draft works such as course notes, textbooks, and research expositions; and items previously published in refereed publications of the AMS.
- NUMDAM: The French Digital Mathematics LibraryFull-text access to many French research publications in mathematics: journal articles, proceedings of seminars and conferences, books, theses. Most sources restrict access to the most recent 5 years.
- EuDML: European Digital Mathematics LibraryMuch fulltext content is freely available.
Top Multidisciplinary Databases
If your topic is new or broad in scope, we recommend using a multidisciplinary database to find research publications from across different disciplines. When you work in a new area, there may not be enough research in your field to help guide you. A multidisciplinary database will allow you to find relevant research from other fields.
- Web of Science (1900 - ) This link opens in a new windowIf you receive an error message and cannot access the database, try clearing your browser cache and cookies.
WashU Libraries subscribe to Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1970-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present). - Academic Search Complete (1975-present) This link opens in a new windowCovers topics in most areas of academic study. Full-text provided for over 10,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers. Most, but not all sources, are peer-reviewed.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUse Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities.
Accessing Google Scholar via the library link will enable Get It! and Web of Science Links to access full-text articles from within Google Scholar citations.
Having trouble accessing Google Scholar from off-campus?
Use this research guide to access Google Scholar through the library proxy. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window1800s to present. This multi-interdisciplinary database provides full-text access to over 1,600 journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) may not be available.
LibKey Nomad
LibKey Nomad is a browser plugin that proves one-click access to scholarly articles as you do research on the internet. When you find an article on a publisher's website or on Google, LibKey Nomad automatically checks the library's subscriptions to bypass paywalls and bring you the full-text article.
In addition to publisher's websites, LibKey Nomad also provides direct links to articles in SCOPUS, Web of Science, PubMed, Google Scholar, and Wikipedia.
- Download LibKey NomadAvailable for Chrome, Edge, Firefox, Brave, Vivaldi, and Safari.
- LibKey Nomad User Guide2 page quick start guide to LibKey Nomad.
Database Research Alerts
Set up alerts to save you valuable time and help you stay current in your field! Most library databases allow you to set up email alerts for when new articles are published about a specific topic, or when new issues of specific journals are released.
- Create Research Alerts in SCOPUSInstructions on creating alerts in SCOPUS for search results, when a document is cited, or when an author is cited.
- Create Research Alerts in Web of ScienceMust login or register for an account with Clarivate and and enroll in the self-paced course Web of Science Essentials in course to access the training. Skip ahead to Lesson 12 of 16 for Search, Citation, and Journal alerts.
- Subscribe to Abstract Emails in arXivarXiv does not have alerts, but instead a daily summary of newly-summitted abstracts. You can subscribe to a single archive, such as physics, or math.